We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantabulous”
Review of Banks Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Banks Mansion
Ranked #9 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2010

Went on trip advisor to find hotel as so many in Amsterdam where do you start?!!! With Husband for a special anniversary and wanted something different.
Couldn't fault it. Yes you do pay a bit more than other hotels but all drinks (hard and soft) are most definately included. This includes branded names, and not cheaper imitations so is well worth it as drinks in Amsterdam bars are not cheap to say the least. Breakfast was very relaxed and a lovely way to start the day. Shower in room lovely. Visit trip advisor lots but have never left a review. Banks Mansion deserves it! We will definately return with friends next time. Wouldn't advise it if you have young children though. More for adults. Staff most helpful and very welcoming. It is easy to see why it has such a good reputation. Our room wasn't massive but this was part of the charm and individuality of the place. View of canel quaint, and situated just on edge of centre. Could walk to loads of main places ie dam square, anne frank house etc within 10-15 mins but still felt like you were miles outside of the hustle and bustle. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tripaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,746)
There are newer reviews for Banks Mansion
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,146 - 2,152 of 2,748 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2010

This hotel is in a great central location, close to the centre of Amsterdam. The free bar and snacks in the the lobby are a great plus. Breakfast is very relaxed and they have excellent coffee! We really enjoyed out stay here and will visit again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank borris4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2010

My husband and I stayed in an Executive canal view room for Valentine's weekend.
From the moment we arrived the service was wonderful.
Lovely room. Good breakfast.
I was dubious about the claim of free bar but it is indeed free: both in room and downstairs in the lobby too.
Overall excellent stay, would use again

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marion R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2010

Just got back from a 3 day stay in Amsterdam in the Banks Mansion with my wife from a business trip, the hotel is 4* some of the fittings in the room had seen slightly better days, but that is the worst thing i can say! The staff are a real breath of fresh air, i extend my thanks to Nancy, KiKi, Philip and all the others. I have never experienced service like it before ( and i have stayed in a lot of hotels of all ratings ), nothing was to much trouble and this hotel truly put much larger and much more expensive establishments to shame. The free bar in your room and in the Living area where always fully stocked, and if you needed anything just ask and it appeared. I was truly surprised by this hotel, it is of boutique size but punches well above its weight. I will not be staying anywhere else in Amsterdam, do your self a BIG BIG favour and try it you will love it.
OH i forgot the breakfast served by Sam, delightful !!!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BlindBaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2010

I have been visiting Amsterdam for several years and was not away of Banks Mansion hotel. We stayed here last year and would not wish to stay anywhere else. Polite and helpful staff, excellent service and after a hard days work a delight to go home to. Congratulations Banks Mansion! See you soon

Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
3  Thank Juhala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2010

My 21 year old Daughter and I spent a couple of nights there. The rooms were a good size the bathroom large for European standards. Everything was included from the mini bar to the drinks in the lobby/ bar area. The location was very central. We also went to the Purse and Bag Museum which was close by and worth the trip. The hotel I think is better for Couples and families with Adult Children.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Virginia858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2010

This hotel has everything a traveller wants and more. Great location - right in the city centre. Amazing rooms with a view of the Herengracht Canal. The service was amazing too. However it is the little things that made it extra special. The always lit fireplace, the pillow menu, the rain shower, the DVD collection, the open bar with cheese and wine in the afternoons and coffee and chocolates all day. The late breakfasts which are cooked on order. I will definitely stay here again and again and again.

Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Laurika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,610 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,099 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 371 in Amsterdam
749 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#7 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,432 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#17 of 371 in Amsterdam
3,953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Address: Herengracht 519-525, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £182 - £435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing