We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable hotel, good location, friendly staff”
Review of Banks Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Banks Mansion
Ranked #10 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Perthshire Scotland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A comfortable hotel, good location, friendly staff”
Reviewed 1 October 2010

We stayed for 7 nights in September 2010. Hotel is in a good location, away from the noise of Dam Square and road works around the Square, yet only a few minutes walk to the Flower Market and Rembrandtplein, also its within easy walking distance of many museums, including Bags and Purses. Lots of restaurants around Rembrandtplein. The room was quite average size for Europe, although we had paid for a deluxe Canal View room we got a corner room which was slightly bigger, but we lost the canal view. The hotel was clean, very comfortable bed. The cost of the room includes breakfasts which were really good and freshly cooked eggs. Very friendly and helpful staff. Mini bar in room was soft drinks and water. If you drink whisky, gin or brandy, there's a tray of these spirits also in the room, but no wine or beer which most mini bars would have. However, in the lounge area there's a wide choice of wines and spirits to choose from, and all included in the room price. Also nuts and sweets, and a cheese board is also availabe in the lounge around 5 p.m. We had a great holiday in Amsterdam and I'd certainly recommend this hotel. My friend is a wheelchair user. There were some steps at the door of the hotel - I don't know if there is a ramp for wheelchairs. My friend can walk short distances and we were able to access the hotel without any problems. The staff always helped me lift the wheelchair up and down the steps. They also stored the wheelchair for us.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,023
    457
    92
    35
    25
See reviews for
295
1,520
137
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (676)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2010

Stayed for only one night, unfortunately, because we liked this hotel and their philosophy that everything is included in the price (breakfast, appetizers and drinks in the lobby) Makes you feel at home and relaxed. Because of this philosophy, the hotel is not among the cheapest, but we didn't choose this hotel for it's bargain prizes anyway.
When we arrived we took a taxi from the railwaystation, but walked there the next day (20 mins, normal speed) and you have everything you need around the corner.
We have only one negative thing to say: We arrived early at 14pm, and we were told that our room would be ready at 3pm (which is the actual checkin time). Instead of heading out, we desided to feel at home in the lobbybar. Our room wasn't ready until 0320pm. This may seem like a minor detail, and it would have been without the "free" bar...When you pay a certain amount for a hotel room, you expect it to be ready at check in time.
The staff was nice and attentive.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Innehaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2010

I stayed here for one night in August. Our room, described as an upgrade at the front desk, was really tiny, even by European standards. The only thing that could have made it an upgrade was a Juliet balcony. Despite the fact that it was a non-smoking room, there were cigarette burns on the toilet seat. I've never seen that anywhere! The hallway carpets and elevator carpets looked like they had not seen a vacuum in a very long time. A large wall clock in the room was stopped at the wrong time. The tiny LCD TV had snowy reception. Room service pizza for two came with two plates, but one set of cutlery. In the breakfast room in the morning there were flies all over the food. The free liquor in the lobby ("the living") attracts a big, noisy crowd and there is free liquor in open decanters in the room. The bed was fine and comfortable and the shower was good. But on balance I would never recommend this hotel. There are much better options in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TorontoLal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
1 review
Reviewed 13 September 2010

Quick one night stay on layover en route to other European destination for business trip. Quality of hotel room was excellent, staff was friendly and helpful. Location was great Floral Market, Van Gogh Museum, etc. Was worried it might be noisy at night, but that was not the case. Only regret is that I didn't have more time to relax and stay at this gem of a place.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martypdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 7 September 2010

I stayed here with my girlfriend for our anniversary. We stayed in Amsterdam before when we were younger but in the more busy area near the Central Station. The location of Hotel Banks Mansion is more quiet and is more romantic, along a beautiful canal and we could walk to the Museums (fortunately we had sunny weather).
The service of this hotel is really very excellent, the people were very very nice and helpful. We also appreciated the drinks and the Dutch cheese (tres bon) in the lounge area.
Nice decoration and interior; chosen with care.
We hope to come back soon! Valérie & Felix

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gourmand79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2010

Read about this hotel on TripAdvisor as a recommended hotel-well deserved! This hotel is wonderful. The young staff is friendly and energetic. There is an open bar with snacks throughout the day in the living room (main lobby) and this creates a friendly meeting place. Banks Mansion staff really makes you feel at home. There is also and open mini-bar in the room. The rooms are not huge, but the ambiance and location make up for the size. They are an eco-friendly hotel as well. A tasty breakfast is included as well with made to order pancakes and omelettes along with very nice buffet. The location is perfect, 5 minutes to the the flower mart and L'Europa Hotel and the tram. We along with our friends stayed in some 5 star places in the 5 cities we visited on our trip, but we all agreed that this was our favorite because of the relaxed, easy-going environment of the hotel and the helpful staff. There are two computers in the living room, a fire place, coffee machine and all of the wine, beer and soda you can drink. This made for wonderful meeting area before heading out. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ceisen1037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
86 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2010

We were so relieved to stumble across Banks Maison Hotel after the experience we had at a B&B called the Blue Moon in amsterdam. What i was thinking when i booked that B&B i still dont know to this day. It is and was well rated on tripadvisor but was just not for us. Thankfully the B&B owner was understanding and allowed us to depart earlier than planned.

BM hotel had a few rooms available and showed us a few rooms to pick from. We decided to request the room facing the rear of the hotel to avoid the potential noise from the main road elevation. This meant sacraficing a view and large windows but well worth the quiet nights sleep. Note that the room we viewed on the top floor felt extremely hot and were very small though did have a view of the canals, for an extra 50 Euros, we would suggest avoiding those rooms.

recpetion service was excellent. the girl held the room for us whilst we worked out the B&B issue and returned an hour later to our clean and comfortable room with free minibar. the room rate for a very very large room was 200Euro for the walk in price. perhaps more than a prebooked net price. the price included unlimited free soft and alcoholic drinks at the bar in the reception. refilling bottles during the day allowed us to save a little money on buying water and juice throughout the day. :) in the evening we had an appetiser prior to dinner again savig some money buying wine at the restaurant. :) Very very nice touch.

Rooms were clean and tidy. The bathroom was above average but not brilliant.

Breakfast was good and freshly made pancakes to order were available. A nice way to start the day.

Location is just far enough away yet close enough from the immediate centre of town in the area of the very exlcusive canals. Lots of nice restaurants to choose from.

A good hotel with some very nice inclusions. We would return again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 8---AW---LW---8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,529 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#15 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,061 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 367 in Amsterdam
950 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#13 of 367 in Amsterdam
613 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#19 of 367 in Amsterdam
3,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Property: Banks Mansion
Address: Herengracht 519-525, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing