We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice quiet hotel in heart of AMS”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Ranked #51 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice quiet hotel in heart of AMS”
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Neither the most luxurious nor the most generic hotel I've stayed in, I chose the Radisson Blu for my extended layover between flights in AMS because it was reportedly walking distance from Amsterdam Centraal. It certainly is walking distance, and it was a very pleasant 20 minute walk on a beautiful spring / summer day, but could be a bit too far if the weather is not cooperating. Staff are nice, hotel seems a bit empty, rooms clean and large for Europe. My room overlooks lobby on 3rd floor, and transmits occasional guffaws from down below but overall is quiet. Restaurant was a bit expensive but quite good.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bugdocsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,470
    1,239
    316
    69
    35
See reviews for
485
1,316
156
517
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012 via mobile

Had to stay in Amsterdam twice this month. Stayed in this hotel first, I wish I hadn't. Dreadful in every sense. Think 1970s travel lodge. There are so many nice hotels please don't repeat my mistake of being seduced by the positive reviews of this hotel. I stayed at L'Europe for second trip. Incomparably better and similar cost.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tunkeyandthemonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NOWRA
Level Contributor
91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012 via mobile

From the moment we made our booking until our arrival we receivd excellent treatment & this continued until our departure where nothing was too much trouble. Every time we walked through the foyer we were greeted by name and asked how we were or how had our day been. The location is excellent & well placed close to the canals, walking distance of the Red Light District (if that's your thing..... but far enough away so as not to be a problem) and Central train station as well as restaurants aplenty. Parking in Amderstam is extremely daunting & difficult if driving in, so 50 euro cost to park at hotel (rather than on the street) is well worth it....but make sure you book in advance & ensure it is noted in "little black book".

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barrsalona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

The room was lovely, really clean and the bed was very comfortable. The location is great. away from the hustle and bustler, but within walking distance from everywhere. Left our cases with the concierge on check out day before our flight home. Amsterdam is a great city.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vix758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We stayed here for two nights in a 'superior' room, and found everything entirely to our satisfaction, from arriving a little early and being able to leave our luggage right up to booking a taxi to take us to the station at the end of our visit. The hotel is fine, very comfortable, slightly odd architecturally (most room look out onto an internal forecourt which can be echoey) but the real advantage it has are its staff, who were all excellent and friendly and helpful whatever our question or need. Breakfast excellent, place clean as a whistle, Ideal location, central but on a very quiet street and near the university, Zuiderkerk and a cut through top the Spui and Vondel areas. We loved it.

Room Tip: See if you can get a booking that includes breakfast as its costly to buy as a standalone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olafstapledon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Seneca
Level Contributor
77 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We stayed here 2 nights post river cruise and it was an excellent location.....walkable to lots of great restaurants , lots of street cafes , shopping , sightseeing , the red light district , dam square , the canals , etc.....free internet , great helpful front desk , clean room, comfortable bed ...we would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank griffsgram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Free WiFi and nice breakfast. An alternative transport from and to the airport is the Schiphol Hotel Shuttle for €16/person.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iKyrre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#57 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#20 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Address: Rusland 17, 1012 CK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#44 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Hotel Complex incorporating 17th & 18th-century merchant houses with newer buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Rezidor, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Radisson Amsterdam
Amsterdam Radisson
Radisson Sas Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing