We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Ranked #51 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but expensive”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

This hotel is on a quiet side street next to the red light district of Amsterdam. Our room was very comfortable and clean although a little on the small side. However, the breakfast buffet was around 25 euros per person which we felt was extortionate so cannot comment on whether it was worth it or not.
The staff in the hotel were friendly and helpful and the location was great to get to all the touristy places.
All in all a pleasant stay but silly prices.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ana2pink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DhrGadet, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your constructive feedback. Your comments are valued, and will be used to consider improvements in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,514
    1,274
    323
    71
    35
See reviews for
503
1,350
157
536
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Varsovie
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We chose this hotel during our stay in Amsterdam, and we have not been disappointed. The hotel is first of all comfortable, very clean, agency, and especially well located .. Only bb not enough restaurant choices, but we must say to their discharge, there has so many restaurants nearby that this is not a handicap

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wawa51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DhrGadet, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to rate our property. We are delighted about your positive feedback and are looking forward to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2014

The hotel is located in a walk distance from all important touristic places. Lot of shops, cafes and restaurants around. Very friendly staff, vast choice in breakfast buffet, clean and cozy rooms, everything you need for a wonderful stay there!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Natalia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DhrGadet, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Positive aspects:

1) The location is superb - about a 4 minute walk from the Nieuwmarkt subway station and a 15-20 minute walk to most tourist attractions. It's in a safe area. There was also a deli nearby, to the east down a street and over the canal that would put NY to shame and was very well-priced for lunch.


2) The hotel was clean, very clean in fact.

3) The fitness center was exceptional for europe with free weights, bikes and machines. The only thing I would add is a pullup bar.

4) The breakfast at the restaurant is unbelievable. The buffet is top 3, lifetime. Meats, cheeses, baked goods, smoothies, juices - you name it, they have it. Everything was fresh squeezed, too. Try the picked herring, if you can.

5) We paid for an extra bed and ended up getting a junior suite and breakfast, which was a great deal. The room had 3 huge windows, high ceilings - at least 14 feet) and a luggage area. The bathroom had nice shower amenities and soft robes and towels.

6) Everyone was very friendly.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DhrGadet, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you for for taking the time to write about your experience and calling us the “Almost perfect hotel in Amsterdam”! We are looking forward to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel the last time we were in Amsterdam. We were very pleased with our choice. The hotel itself is beautiful on the inside, from the spacious lobby to the restaurant. The rooms were large for European standards and even had a heated bath room floor. The bar area was very relaxing as was the dinning room. The breakfast buffet was one of the best we had while on vacation. The only down side about this hotel is that the view from our room left a lot to be desired. Upon opening our drapes we overlooked an alley and the building next to us. In fact we were so close to the building next to us that we could see a lady eating her breakfast each day, she ate quite well. Other than that we would stay there again and advise others to do so as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTOWN2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DhrGadet, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
We are very pleased about your positive comments concerning our product as well as our service. We hope you will consider us again when you are in the area. As we would like to make it right with a nice view on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South London
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

Had three nights here with my wife recently. Very pleasant staff and high standard of cleanliness and decoration. Our room was a good size and we thought we got good value for money with the package we bought via BA. Food was good and staff very nice. The location is ideal in that it is surrounded by quiet streets but we'll within walking distance of all the sights of Amsterdam. Central station is only a 15 walk through the center of 'the dam'.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DhrGadet, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to rate our property. We are delighted about your positive feedback and are looking forward to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London-, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I done this trip as i birthday present for my boyfriend and asked the hotel do add birthday banners, petals and a bottle of presseco. Although this added to the price it was a reasonable price and to see his face was all worth it. The location was perfect and staff were very welcoming and polite. I could not have asked for a better weekend away, definetly reccommend it!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Shabazz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DhrGadet, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that your birthday suprise for your boyfriends workout well. We are looking forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#20 of 367 in Amsterdam
997 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#63 of 367 in Amsterdam
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Address: Rusland 17, 1012 CK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#44 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Hotel Complex incorporating 17th & 18th-century merchant houses with newer buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Rezidor, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Radisson Amsterdam
Amsterdam Radisson
Radisson Sas Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing