We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Ranked #57 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 30 September 2010

My wife and I just returned from a trip to Amsteram (business for me; leisure for her) where we spent four nights at the Radisson Blu Hotel on Rusland Street. The most outstanding feature about this hotel is its excellent location, nestled between canals and only a couple of blocks from the tram. It is also a short walk to the DAM square area and to many shopping and dining areas nearby. We found it to be superbly convenient.

Since I was on business, I had booked what the hotel calls an "executive" room. It was very nice in every respect, except one, it faced Rusland Street. We had expected the street to be fairly quiet, but it turned out to be quite noisy with trucks, cars and motor bikes coming by at all hours of the day and night. If I were to stay at the Radisson Blu again, I would request a room that does not face the street.

The hotel serves an excellent breakfast (which was included in the price of our room) and serves dinner in the restaurant in the evening. While we did not have dinner there, the menu looked good and there were many people dining each night we were there.

The staff were all very pleasant and helpful. I would recommend this hotel to any traveler to Amsterdam (subject to the caveat mentioned above).








S

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcleve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,478)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,169 - 2,175 of 3,478 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2010

We were a bit reluctant to book this hotel after reading some of the reviews on tripadvisor about the tiredness of some of the rooms. In reality there was nothing to worry about! The hotel is a short 5 minute walk from Dam square so is very handy to several tourist and shopping spots around Amsterdam. Check-in was a pleasant experience and very quick. We were allocated a room on the 6th floor facing the hotel entrance. The room was very quiet and spacious - it had a safe, minibar, coffee/tea making facilities, iron, ironing board, marble bathroom with shower over the bath and a heated floor, separate desk area, free in-room wireless internet, good wardrobe space and probably the best pillows and most comfortable bed I've experienced at any hotel. Being on the top floor of the hotel, there were automatic black-out blinds on the skylights. The buffet breakfast was excellent - a great selection of cereals, yoghurts, pastries, breads, cheeses, cold meats, juices (including freshly squeezed orange juice station!), hot breakfast selection (bacon, eggs, sausages, mushrooms, toast, etc). There is a juice bar, coffee shop (the Amsterdam version), beautician, and small Art shop across the road; and a souvenir shop and a hairdresser next door. Our experience at this hotel would make it an easy choice for our next visit.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2010

The Radisson Blu in Amsterdam was the perfect place for our stay there. Just around the corner from coffee shops, great restaurants and within walking distance of great shopping. Canal tours left from a couple of blocks away. They have the most comfortable beds of any hotel I have ever stayed in. Airport transportation gets you there in 20 minutes.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charming2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2010

Was on a business trip. I had to work in south east Amsterdam, some 10 metro stops away. The Radisson is very near a good metro station, making it brilliantly convenient. It's in the middle of Amsterdam, so excellent for evening walks and sightseeing. Staff are typical of Holland, friendly but a little curt. But that's a local thing. Room was a little tired in decor, but comfortable and cosy. Breakfast was good, though over-salted (a trend I've noticed in business hotels. No doubt it sells beer). I guess location is the best thing.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaffeur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2010

We stayed in this hotel last weekend for two nights. It has a very central location however remains quiet due to the fact that it is on a small side street. Our room was big enough for us, nicely decorated and very clean. It came with all mod cons, tv, safe minibar hairdrier, iron , ironing board, kettle etc. Bathroom had heated floor, great shower and some complimentary toiletries. Staff were very helpful and not intrusive. Bar prices were very reasonable too.Our stay included buffet breakfast in the morning which was a wonderful spread of everything you could possibly think of. Only complaint was that the bacon was a bit overdone. If I was to return to Amsterdam , I would certainly stay here again

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doaknic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2010

The Hotel is situated in a good location close to many attractions like Dam square, Anne Frank House, Flower Market, Red Light District . The Hotel is clean and staff very friendly and helpfull. Our room was spacious and the beds were very comfortable. Breakfast very good. Surley will go there again

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ika013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

I was travelling with three generations and the location was perfect. We could walk everywhere in ten minutes. We used the canal boatwhich was close by, for the Rijks Musem and the Van Gogh museum.The hotel staff was excellent. Lissane and Walkiiy at the front desk, always smiled and were always helpful. They upgraded one room to a "cool room", of which there are only five. Mine was carved out of an old Dutch house . The room is very contemporary , all white, but also had a loft in the atic which was a perfect place to watch a movie or play a game with a child. It was a wonderful surprise. Ralph Reiners , one of the managers was especially thoughtful and helpful when I was having trouble with my lap top's internet connection. He actually came to my room to try to solve the problem. The internet is free and there is also an internet station in the lobby with computers and also wireless and wired connections. Thus you have a backup, in case your laptop is not working perfectly.

The amenities in the room were especially nice. They included the usual, but also handcream in a little jar by Ann Semonin of Paris, in addition to the usual body lotion. The lighting controls in the bedroom were very convenient ,as well as ,the special spot for your own items in the fridge. The other room we had, while not brand new was well maintained and very attractive in nautical colors. Both rooms had an iron as well as a pants press. The street was mainly quiet except for one Saturday night reveler. The hotel is adjacent to Amsterdam University which has an excellent archeological museum.

I had dinner in the hotel. The meal was freshly cooked, as the chef cooks in the dining room. I had lobster and it was only 25 euro. It was excellent. There were several other specials all resonably priced.

The price of the rooms varies considerably on the internet. Some dates ,even in the same week, appear much cheaper than others ,so plan accordingly.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank celebrationtiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#64 of 376 in Amsterdam
795 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#20 of 376 in Amsterdam
4,111 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#12 of 376 in Amsterdam
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam

Address: Rusland 17, 1012 CK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#39 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#44 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £154 - £388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Hotel Complex incorporating 17th & 18th-century merchant houses with newer buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Radisson Amsterdam
Amsterdam Radisson
Radisson Sas Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing