We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Ranked #52 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
nh
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2010

This was in a perfect spot for a walking tour. Short taxi from the train station, and 5 min to Dam Square. Coffee shops nearby, but no worries or problems. Quiet nights, the elevator is in a separate room. Close to De Jaren Restaurant, with 2 decks on a nice canal, great food. Booked for free with points so price was not a factor.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pperkinsnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,043 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,425
    1,216
    305
    65
    32
See reviews for
465
1,282
153
499
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2010

My wife and I just returned from a trip to Amsteram (business for me; leisure for her) where we spent four nights at the Radisson Blu Hotel on Rusland Street. The most outstanding feature about this hotel is its excellent location, nestled between canals and only a couple of blocks from the tram. It is also a short walk to the DAM square area and to many shopping and dining areas nearby. We found it to be superbly convenient.

Since I was on business, I had booked what the hotel calls an "executive" room. It was very nice in every respect, except one, it faced Rusland Street. We had expected the street to be fairly quiet, but it turned out to be quite noisy with trucks, cars and motor bikes coming by at all hours of the day and night. If I were to stay at the Radisson Blu again, I would request a room that does not face the street.

The hotel serves an excellent breakfast (which was included in the price of our room) and serves dinner in the restaurant in the evening. While we did not have dinner there, the menu looked good and there were many people dining each night we were there.

The staff were all very pleasant and helpful. I would recommend this hotel to any traveler to Amsterdam (subject to the caveat mentioned above).








S

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jcleve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2010

We were a bit reluctant to book this hotel after reading some of the reviews on tripadvisor about the tiredness of some of the rooms. In reality there was nothing to worry about! The hotel is a short 5 minute walk from Dam square so is very handy to several tourist and shopping spots around Amsterdam. Check-in was a pleasant experience and very quick. We were allocated a room on the 6th floor facing the hotel entrance. The room was very quiet and spacious - it had a safe, minibar, coffee/tea making facilities, iron, ironing board, marble bathroom with shower over the bath and a heated floor, separate desk area, free in-room wireless internet, good wardrobe space and probably the best pillows and most comfortable bed I've experienced at any hotel. Being on the top floor of the hotel, there were automatic black-out blinds on the skylights. The buffet breakfast was excellent - a great selection of cereals, yoghurts, pastries, breads, cheeses, cold meats, juices (including freshly squeezed orange juice station!), hot breakfast selection (bacon, eggs, sausages, mushrooms, toast, etc). There is a juice bar, coffee shop (the Amsterdam version), beautician, and small Art shop across the road; and a souvenir shop and a hairdresser next door. Our experience at this hotel would make it an easy choice for our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2010

The Radisson Blu in Amsterdam was the perfect place for our stay there. Just around the corner from coffee shops, great restaurants and within walking distance of great shopping. Canal tours left from a couple of blocks away. They have the most comfortable beds of any hotel I have ever stayed in. Airport transportation gets you there in 20 minutes.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charming2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London GB
Level Contributor
140 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2010

Was on a business trip. I had to work in south east Amsterdam, some 10 metro stops away. The Radisson is very near a good metro station, making it brilliantly convenient. It's in the middle of Amsterdam, so excellent for evening walks and sightseeing. Staff are typical of Holland, friendly but a little curt. But that's a local thing. Room was a little tired in decor, but comfortable and cosy. Breakfast was good, though over-salted (a trend I've noticed in business hotels. No doubt it sells beer). I guess location is the best thing.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaffeur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gourock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2010

We stayed in this hotel last weekend for two nights. It has a very central location however remains quiet due to the fact that it is on a small side street. Our room was big enough for us, nicely decorated and very clean. It came with all mod cons, tv, safe minibar hairdrier, iron , ironing board, kettle etc. Bathroom had heated floor, great shower and some complimentary toiletries. Staff were very helpful and not intrusive. Bar prices were very reasonable too.Our stay included buffet breakfast in the morning which was a wonderful spread of everything you could possibly think of. Only complaint was that the bacon was a bit overdone. If I was to return to Amsterdam , I would certainly stay here again

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doaknic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2010

The Hotel is situated in a good location close to many attractions like Dam square, Anne Frank House, Flower Market, Red Light District . The Hotel is clean and staff very friendly and helpfull. Our room was spacious and the beds were very comfortable. Breakfast very good. Surley will go there again

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ika013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#48 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#20 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#5 of 361 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Address: Rusland 17, 1012 CK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#37 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#44 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Hotel Complex incorporating 17th & 18th-century merchant houses with newer buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Hotelopia, Rezidor, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Radisson Amsterdam
Amsterdam Radisson
Radisson Sas Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing