We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steep stairs after steep stairs!”
Review of Hotel Di-Ann

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Di-Ann
Ranked #317 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Steep stairs after steep stairs!”
Reviewed 10 March 2008

We booked a 3 night stay at the Hotel Di Ann for a couple of reasons. It was reasonably priced, close to all the action in the city and had a room that could fit 3 people in.

When we arrived, after a 15 minute walk from the station, we had to stagger up the steepest stairs in the world (definitely not disabled or elderly friendly). After our trek, we got to our room. Unfortunately our 3rd travelling companion had had to cancel. This was a blessing in disguise. The room was tiny and had 3 of us been staying, it wouldve been craziness. The 3 small beds were fitted into what surely shouldve been a room for no more than 2 people. And the sheets had holes in. The bathroom was tiny and as there was no shower basin, the floor got soaked every time someone had a shower. There was no tea or coffee making facilities, but there was a small safe, fridge and tv. The window opened to a bustling street view but seemed to keep the noise out when closed.

The reception staff were perfectly nice and there were little coupon cards to take. Breakfast was disappointing. The choice of bread and cheese slices that had gone hard from being out in the open, along with the occasional boiled egg, left little to the imagination. And maneouvering around the small dining room whilst it was jam-packed proved tricky too.

It wasnt a horrendous stay, and as we're quite young and used to travelling, we were okay with it. But I wouldnt recommend this place for anyone other than young travellers who want somewhere cheap and comfortable.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The stairs, the breakfast, the size of the room.
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Flojo78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    161
    218
    126
    125
See reviews for
54
273
57
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2008

From the picture it looked perfect. The location is brilliant some of the staff were very friendly and the cat is lovely. We were so looking forward to seeing Amsterdam but the minute we walked into our room our hearts sank. It was tired, dark, dingy and dirty. If I had not seen a sign saying no guests I would have said it was a very low class knocking shop. We slept in our clothes ontop of the bed as the sheets were marked and showered in our socks so as not to come into contact with the floor. We stayed out as late as we could to spend as little time in the room as possible. Breakfast was as tired as the room but we had to eat it to give us the energy to stay out!! In some respects it did spoil our trip as it was the first time we had been away for 4 years but Amsterdam is lovely I would deffinately go again but never to that hotel.

  • Liked — The cat.
  • Disliked — Everything but the cat.
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OccasionalTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Saskatchewan, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2008

When I arrived, I opened the door to the hotel to see stairs! Lots of stairs! Not so bad when you reach the reception desk. Nadia, working at the front desk was wonderful. She was helpful with directions, and suggestions. They also had a guy available to help me take my bags up more stairs to my room.

My room was clean, and had a nice balcony to enjoy the beautiful street/canal view. The bathroom was ok, when I showered, the whole bathroom floor was soaked, as there was nothing stopping the water from running everywhere. But they give you 2 towels, so one was used to dry the floor. The water was always hot, and had great pressure!

The location of the hotel was good. 2 blocks to dam square, which has lots of shopping, and you can find a grocery store right there too. The hotel has a small fridge in the room if you wanted to buy a few things.

Breakfast was good, white and brown toast, jam, peanut butter, nutella, honey, instant coffee, tea, orange juice, and cheese. I think there was a choice of cereal and milk too. Enough to choose from, to get you going in the morning.

  • Liked — locaton
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank letsgogetlost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2007

The best feature of the Di-Ann has to be its central location. We thought it might be noisy but we didn't have any problems at all. I wonder whether rooms at the front would hear the passing traffic but most of the accommodation is well above street level. There is a huge steep staircase from the street to reception and at least one further staircase to get to the rooms. They are small and a little tired but ours was very clean. We choose the hotel as we were travelling with a single person and the single room supplements were very reasonable. Breakfast is self service. There's not much of a selection but we weren't paying big bucks so we didn't mind. The hotel is a stone's throw from Dam Square and at the end of an evening it was nice to know that our room was only a few steps away. A centrally located hotel that's ok for a stay of 2 or 3 nights but I wouldn't want any longer there. For a first trip to Amsterdam I would suggest paying just a little more and getting a room in one of the town house hotels that line the canals.

  • Liked — Central location
  • Disliked — Small rooms and lots of steps
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim&AlanCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janesville, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2007

We stayed here our first night in The Netherlands. Our luggage was lost en route so the stairs were not as intimidating. Room was tiny, and maybe not super-clean, but we had a nice balcony. The staff were very helpful in assisting us contact the airlines about the luggage.

  • Liked — Great location
  • Disliked — small room
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank km9165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
1 review
Reviewed 30 November 2007

We stayed at the Hotel Di-Ann for 2 nights in September 07 the hotel was not to bad for a 2 star, yes the staircase was terrible best to take a backpack if you are going there. The room was very small however not having the table and chairs from the room might make it a bit easier to move around and have more space to put your things. It was great having the small fridge allowed you to have drinks ect. We didnt eat the breakfast it didn't really appeal to us but there are quite a few places in the area to get a good breakfast at a reasonable price. The location of the hotel was great close to everything. If I went back to Amsterdam I would probably stay elsewhere unfortunatly this time there was not alot available.

  • Liked — The Location
  • Disliked — The cluttered room
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Shez381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East London
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2007

Booked flights to Amsterdam for New year 2006-2007 and we were struggling to find budget accomodation for our dates since going over new year, so a friend recommended this hotel and warned us that it wasnt the best!
When we arrived I was very disappointed with the rooms. Very shabby and small and one of the plug points was hanging off the wall!
The hotel is about 10 minutes walk from Dam Sq and a few mins walk from the Anne-Frank Museum. We didnt see that many other people staying in the hotel. Although the location was good, I wouldnt recommend this hotel and would advise to look elsewhere, maybe last minute.com or expedia. Breakfast was not good at all and we didnt bother to go after the first night!

beware - very steep stairs!

  • Liked — location was ok
  • Disliked — The shabby rooms
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyC1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#107 of 368 in Amsterdam
3,968 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#308 of 368 in Amsterdam
653 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#301 of 368 in Amsterdam
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#322 of 368 in Amsterdam
186 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
#255 of 368 in Amsterdam
285 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel de Westertoren
Hotel de Westertoren
#243 of 368 in Amsterdam
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Di-Ann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Di-Ann

Property: Hotel Di-Ann
Address: Raadhuisstraat 27, 1016 DC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #317 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Di-Ann 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Di-Ann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Di Ann

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing