We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We caught the cleaners locked in our room!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Di-Ann

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Di-Ann
Ranked #319 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“We caught the cleaners locked in our room!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

on the second day of our stay, shortly before leaving for the rest of the day, we advised the cleaners that we did not need our room servicing that day. We left the hotel (which the cleaners saw us do) only to return very shortly afterwards to collect something we had forgotten. To our horror, the door was locked from the inside and we could not get in.

one of us left to go and see reception and i stayed by the door. Shortly after my friend had gone to reception the latch turned and the 'cleaners' appeared, somewhat surprised to see me shall we say. after a brief series of lies (they were in the bathroom and couldn't hear us trying to access the door) they made off to their quarters.

Needless to say, we raised it with the hotel manager. to be fair to him, he handled the situation very well. He wanted all the facts and told us to leave it with him. Later in the day we met with one of the cleaners and the manager himself. We were flabbergasted to hear one lie after another from the cleaner and a flat refusal that he had even been in our room. After the meet the hotel manager told us he would be firing the cleaners. However, the next day we saw one of them still working in the hotel.

i can commend the way the manager handled the situation and kept the conversation participants relatively calm when it could have easily been inflamed. however, by this point our stay was ruined and we felt unsafe in the hotel. we were offered nothing by way of compensation. we have stayed in this hotel before for its excellent location, however we WILL NOT stay there again.

i am not naive enough to know these things dont go on in hotels worldwide, but catching someone red-handed who then denies everything beggars belief. we cannot recommend this place after our experience.

Room Tip: choose one off the main road, it gets very noisy early in the morning, and stays so until late at ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Longines_Ben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    158
    212
    123
    121
See reviews for
51
268
54
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

On entering our room we saw that it was already occupied... Went back to the desk and were upgraded to a nicer room!
Great location which sort of justifies the price, but be prepared for extra taxes and fees if booking through here!
Be prepared for the dodgy staircase!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank hazfitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We only wanted a place to crash in the evenings as were out all day. It suited our needs. One of the cheaper places around with a private bathroom a stones throw from Dam Sq.

My only issue was I was lead to believe every room was smoking unless a non smoking room is requested but as it turned out; all the rooms were non smoking & they have a hefty fine for disobeying.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Get ready for a surprise... good location... no bar in hotel.... beakfast weak... beds rock. No room sevice. Language is difficult.

Stairs are an adventure.

Showers do have hot water.
Location is good.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Mario G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

A great location. Went away feeling a lot fitter after the stairs haha, but was all good. Friendly staff. Ok basic breakfast. I would recommend you ask for a room with a balcony, as mine hadn't and was sadly lacking.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sheri494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

After reading all the mixed reviews my husband and i were nervous about what we might find. We were pleasantly surprised. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Yes the stairs are steep and it was extemely challenging to climb them with luggage but it is amsterdam and most buildings are like this. The room was small but cozy the bed was very comfortable and the room was clean and they cleaned everyday. It is perfectly close to everything. My husband and i walked everywhere with ease. We had a room with a window facing the canal so that was beautiful to see every morning and night. We would stay again.

Helpful?
Thank Dawn2177
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

Just returned from a great trip (no pun intended) to Amsterdam. Having read pretty bad reviews about this hotel, my expectations were low so I knew what to expect. As my partner said, it was like staying in your mate's spare room but it suited our needs perfectly! Yes, stairs were steep but not a problem, room was small but cosy and clean and I slept like a baby. Location is brilliant and receptionist was very helpful on our arrival. The breakfast was fine for me as I only tend to eat cereal and toast in the morning anyway. Enjoyed a lovely Thai meal at Ko-chang (10 mins away) and close but not too close to everything. Loved it!

Room Tip: Not sure if all rooms have a balcony but ours did, which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#117 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,862 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#292 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#306 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel The Golden Bear
Hotel The Golden Bear
#282 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel de Westertoren
Hotel de Westertoren
#239 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#291 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Di-Ann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Di-Ann

Property: Hotel Di-Ann
Address: Raadhuisstraat 27, 1016 DC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #319 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Di-Ann 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Di-Ann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Di Ann

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing