We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“clean, warm and welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #141 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“clean, warm and welcoming”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Not the easiest of hotels to find, even the locals couldn't help. Once found first impressions from the outside were I must say -disappointing. However, once inside the welcome was warm and friendly. Our room wasn't ready, but we were able to use a secure store with safes provided for our valuables we didn't need to carry around. We spent one night to extend our mini cruise from Hull. The room was warm, clean and big enough for our needs. Not sure why a full size fridge was necessary though. Breakfast was served 7 - 10.30. There was plenty of choice - toast, bacon, eggs, croissants, cold meats, cheese etc with tea, coffee and a choice of fruit juices. Check out was 11, so we again used the safe storage for valuables until departing for our ferry.

This hotel is charmingly welcoming with all our needs provided including tourist advice and the facility to buy tickets to attractions. All the staff were helpful, warm and friendly. This goes for all the locals too. However, due to the labrynthitis of corridors and narrowness of the stairs the hotel may not be suitable for everyone. It is ideally situated for tourism and is of a good standard. I would recommend it as a base for sightseeing

Room Tip: Our room was at the back and was not the best view but we slept well with no street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAGE68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    502
    172
    48
    37
See reviews for
219
324
72
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

We wanted to be in the middle of the action. We were here for 2 days and wanted to make the most of it. Hotel is situated perfectly. Quiet location even though it seems like it might be noisy. Felt very safe. The hotel is well used but is efficient. Breakfast is nice welcome. Clean rooms. Service is thorough with information on what to do, where to go and how to do it. Good mix of clientele. Older and younger. All very respectful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greatviewfromhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

I spent a few nights here whilst house hunting in Amsterdam. It was clean, tidy and quiet. Good amenities, free WiFi. Breakfast was a busy time, but the standard of food was good.

It's central location (it's literally a 5 minute walk to Dam Square) makes it great for first timers to Amsterdam who want to see as much as possible.

If there was one thing that was strange, it was the old style 'hand your keys in before you leave' etiquette

Room Tip: Rooms on the back are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonhaywooduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Great little hotel....very friendly staff , rooms are very clean and tidy. Breakfast was a continental buffet which is a great start to the day.The location was a 10 minute walk from Dam square and all the attractions of a wonderful liberal city

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westgate-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

This hotel is ideally situated to discover the delights of Amsterdam. The rooms are large and clean, breakfast is top class buffet, staff are very very helpful. Would highly recommend this hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
165 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

I agree with many of the reviewers of this hotel; the location is perfect. No need for spending money on trams, buses or taxis. The hotel seems to have been refurbished not too long ago, and the bathroom was big, nice and clean. Our triple room was actually a very spacious four-bed room, including refridgerator, flat screen TV and safe. The breakfast buffet was good enough. To be really good it should have had more warm courses and maybe some more vegetables. The staff was helpful, efficient and friendly.The room price is quite high, but given the location and the standard I would say we got what we paid for.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roland M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a central based hotel that is cheap and cheerful then the Nova Hotel ticks those boxes. We had a fab long weekend in Amsterdam and think a lot of that had to do with the great location of the Hotel. Breakfast is a basic continental, rooms were a decent size and clean.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SIobhan1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rho Hotel
Rho Hotel
#133 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,270 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rokin Hotel
Rokin Hotel
#176 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#104 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
#140 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Centrum
Die Port van Cleve
Die Port van Cleve
#106 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,801 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#117 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nova Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nova Hotel Amsterdam

Property: Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 276, 1012 RS Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#83 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Nova Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotel.de, Lastminute, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nova Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Nova Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing