We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Ranked #82 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great staff and location”
Reviewed 8 January 2008

The rooms and bathrooms were clean, the location was excellent. Every restaurant recommendation given by the receptionist was spot on. great place.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JellyIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    409
    123
    20
    20
See reviews for
191
386
54
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2007

I didn't know what to expect based on some of the reviews of the hotel, but let me tell you...this place is great. The staff (and I don't know their names) where kind and friendly and they helped me practice my limited Dutch. The hotel is situated in the Museumplein area of Oud Zuid. Two tram lines are within 5 minutes of the hotel. My room was on the street side and there was no noise problem. Don't get hung up on breakfast as it is traditionally Dutch (cold cuts, bread etc.). I will definitely stay there again when I return to Amsterdam.

  • Liked — The staff.
  • Disliked — The prices for the internet (5 Euros for 30 mins)
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PrimeTime22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
220 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2007

When we arrived to the hotel we realized the location is great. It was close to everything (Van Joch museum, some beautiful parks, stores).The hotel is very close to K- Tours – in case u are into arranged tours in the city and out of it (very recommended; We took the 4.5 hours trip to Valdam, Dam and more and also the 9 hours tour to the flowers market, maduradam, delfet and more). There is also public transportation outside of the hotel (just be aware of thieves in the bus stop. They can steal your belonging without you even notice- this is of course a tip that is not concern to this amazing hotel).
The hotel room was very comfortable and clean. Shower and bathroom are in good shape. Breakfast was quite good; we suggest the hotel manager to add some vegetables to it so it will be perfect. If you are into kosher food you can order that in advance.
And above all the reception service was incredible - Very helpful and kind. The hotel manager was extremely nice and helpful too.
We would defiantly recommend everyone going to Amsterdam stay in this hotel and we would defiantly go back again.

  • Liked — front desk service
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank ido8all
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
110 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2007

Booked this hotel on a website I didn't know, so I was nervous when I arrived, but it was lovely. Stayed two nights, and wish I could have stayed longer. The room was quiet, and quite nice, with garden access through a sliding door in the room [I had a ground floor room, which I usually don't like]. Hotel staff was completely helpful and there were two streetcar routes available within a short two block walk. A very quiet neighborhood, felt very safe, but within easy walking distance of museums, restaurants, cafes and the red light district. Please note that the hotel does not allow the use of drugs in its rooms or on hotel grounds.

  • Liked — The staff was completely helpful, answered any question, some before I asked.
  • Disliked — The attached bar/lounge was not open for business.
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank misterfisher2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2007

I loved this hotel. The room was spacious, clean, had all the facilities you need, and the staff were wonderfully helpful and pleasant. I travelled with a good friend who definitely agreed with me.

The building is situated slightly out of the main centre of Amsterdam, near the museum district, and a short walk to the theatres. If you like walking, which we did, you are more than able to walk into the Town, or if not, then the tram and bus run from just outside the hotel.

The breakfast is not as wide a spread as you would maybe get in larger hotels, but the food they have out is lovely, and there's plenty of it. In the foyer they provide lots of little tourist cards with various offers and money off at different sights around the city, it's worth checking them out.

I had a very enjoyable stay in the Museum Square Hotel, and would definitely go back.

  • Liked — The staff at the hotel - they were wonderful.
  • Disliked — The slightly limited range of breakfast food
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank lady_luck_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2007

A nice hotel, strategically located in Amsterdam even if not directly in the centre.

The room we got was very big, and the reception was able to give us precise directions on how to get to the places we wanted to visit as efficientlyl as possible by public transports.

Breakfast was comparable with a hotel of this category: a nice buffet with a good choice of juices, tea, several types of bread, etc...

  • Liked — Large rooms
  • Disliked — No minibar in the room, dispensers in the lobby
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fiammybe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2007

The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Rooms were spacious and clean. Location was perfect, across the street was a tram stop, walking distance to many attractions including the Van Gough Museum. I would highly recommend and would even stay there again.

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness
  • Disliked — Breakfasts could have been better - more selection
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Brown79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
#90 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#53 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Espresso
Hotel Espresso
#110 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
#118 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
#123 of 366 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Muse Amsterdam - Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conscious Hotel Museum Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conscious Hotel Museum Square

Property: Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Address: De Lairessestraat 5-7, 1071 NR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#72 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#92 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#100 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Conscious Hotel Museum Square 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conscious Hotel Museum Square is a new type of place to stay designed with today’s independent and discerning travellers in mind. The hotel has a beautiful, cutting edge, contemporary interior but also a sustainable operation designed to be kind to the planet. The choice of how ‘green’ guests want to be is completely up to them and there’s a playful side to the hotel that shows up in little eccentric details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Conscious Hotel Museum Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Museum Square Amsterdam
Amsterdam Museum Square Hotel
Museum Square Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing