We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a nice stay at the Museum Square”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Ranked #83 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Trondheim, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Had a nice stay at the Museum Square”
Reviewed 25 February 2008

The hotel is located close to the Concertgebouw and the beautiful Museum Square. If the weather is good, the walk up to Leidse Plein, across the museum square, past the rijksmuseum, is a great way to start the day.
There is an Albert Heijn supermarket close by, at the edge of Museum Square.

It is a small but decent hotel, I spent quite some time there, as I became ill during my vacation (isn't it typical...). The staff were helpful and kind (and offered to help me get a doctor if I needed one), the beds were good and everything worked as it should.

We had large windows to the street, which means noise but also a view of Amsterdam buildings, which I enjoyed.

One slightly weird detail though: There was a large button for turning the light on and off, on the wall, right above one of the pillow places, on the bed-frame. If you sit up in bed, lean your back against the wall and want to watch TV, for instance, there is no way of NOT accidentally turning the light on and off every time you move your back the tiniest bit.

Getting there and back from the airport is really easy, the bus 370, and the much more frequent 197, stop at the bus stop almost right in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank malebron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    358
    418
    124
    20
    20
See reviews for
196
391
55
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2008

This is a lovely small hotel with a very friendly and helpful staff. The rooms are light and airy, the beds are very comfortable and the bathrooms are spotless and modern. It's in the museum district, a short tram ride to the city centre and a five minute walk to the major museums. Ask for a room in the back, which is exceptionally quiet. It is very reasonable and I highly recommend it.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank CherlyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2008

Four of us stayed in the Museum Square hotel for 2 nights in February and had a great experience. The rooms are very comfortable, warm and spacious and very clean. The bathrooms are a good size and the beds really comfy. The location is near the museums which is a great area as it's not full of rowdy tourists or stag parties. The Van Gogh museum is about a 5 minute walk away as is the tram stop. You can walk to the Liedesplein in 15 minutes so very well placed. The breakfast was good with lots of choice. The reception was very helpful too - really could not fault the experience and will definately be returning!

  • Liked — Clean spacious rooms, location, staff
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FoxHay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2008

The rooms and bathrooms were clean, the location was excellent. Every restaurant recommendation given by the receptionist was spot on. great place.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JellyIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2007

I didn't know what to expect based on some of the reviews of the hotel, but let me tell you...this place is great. The staff (and I don't know their names) where kind and friendly and they helped me practice my limited Dutch. The hotel is situated in the Museumplein area of Oud Zuid. Two tram lines are within 5 minutes of the hotel. My room was on the street side and there was no noise problem. Don't get hung up on breakfast as it is traditionally Dutch (cold cuts, bread etc.). I will definitely stay there again when I return to Amsterdam.

  • Liked — The staff.
  • Disliked — The prices for the internet (5 Euros for 30 mins)
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PrimeTime22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2007

When we arrived to the hotel we realized the location is great. It was close to everything (Van Joch museum, some beautiful parks, stores).The hotel is very close to K- Tours – in case u are into arranged tours in the city and out of it (very recommended; We took the 4.5 hours trip to Valdam, Dam and more and also the 9 hours tour to the flowers market, maduradam, delfet and more). There is also public transportation outside of the hotel (just be aware of thieves in the bus stop. They can steal your belonging without you even notice- this is of course a tip that is not concern to this amazing hotel).
The hotel room was very comfortable and clean. Shower and bathroom are in good shape. Breakfast was quite good; we suggest the hotel manager to add some vegetables to it so it will be perfect. If you are into kosher food you can order that in advance.
And above all the reception service was incredible - Very helpful and kind. The hotel manager was extremely nice and helpful too.
We would defiantly recommend everyone going to Amsterdam stay in this hotel and we would defiantly go back again.

  • Liked — front desk service
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank ido8all
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2007

Booked this hotel on a website I didn't know, so I was nervous when I arrived, but it was lovely. Stayed two nights, and wish I could have stayed longer. The room was quiet, and quite nice, with garden access through a sliding door in the room [I had a ground floor room, which I usually don't like]. Hotel staff was completely helpful and there were two streetcar routes available within a short two block walk. A very quiet neighborhood, felt very safe, but within easy walking distance of museums, restaurants, cafes and the red light district. Please note that the hotel does not allow the use of drugs in its rooms or on hotel grounds.

  • Liked — The staff was completely helpful, answered any question, some before I asked.
  • Disliked — The attached bar/lounge was not open for business.
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank misterfisher2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
#84 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,232 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#51 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,302 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
#103 of 367 in Amsterdam
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Piet Hein
Hotel Piet Hein
#163 of 367 in Amsterdam
962 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Muse Amsterdam - Boutique Hotel
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#82 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conscious Hotel Museum Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conscious Hotel Museum Square

Property: Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Address: De Lairessestraat 5-7, 1071 NR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#72 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#92 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#100 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Conscious Hotel Museum Square 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conscious Hotel Museum Square is a new type of place to stay designed with today’s independent and discerning travellers in mind. The hotel has a beautiful, cutting edge, contemporary interior but also a sustainable operation designed to be kind to the planet. The choice of how ‘green’ guests want to be is completely up to them and there’s a playful side to the hotel that shows up in little eccentric details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Conscious Hotel Museum Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Museum Square Amsterdam
Amsterdam Museum Square Hotel
Museum Square Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing