We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Nearby Hotels
US$601
US$502
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Sebastian's(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$479
US$456
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$604
US$485
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$387
US$362
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel The Exchange(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$329
US$288
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$1,042
US$622
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$352
US$316
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Lloyd Hotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$353
US$292
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$415
US$387
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$1,198
US$537
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (989)
Filter reviews
989 results
Traveller rating
377
440
127
24
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
377
440
127
24
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsconcert hallvan gogh museumeco hotelorganic breakfasttram stopairport busmajor museumsgood sizethe ground floorminute walktrams and busesspacious roomexcellent locationtea and coffee making facilitiesbasic hotelnumber trambooked this hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
624 - 629 of 989 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2008

This really is a good hotel. It looks quite expensive, but first Amsterdam hotels are expensive generally and second it's worth every cent. Just as the other reviewers, I was amazed at how friendly the staff were, it feels like a real family hotel. And we got free coffee on arrival, too.
The room is spacious, quiet in spite of the trams outside and clean. It's nice that the minibar is just a fridge for stuff you buy yourself (and of course you're told where to buy stuff the minute you just think of it) and not a load of overpriced drinks you don't want.
It's not smack in the centre, but that's probably a good thing. The Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum are just ten minutes' walk away, and Leidseplein (for the nightlife and restaurants) only twenty, and of course you can take the tram. The neighbourhood is nice and quiet, with more than a few cafes and a convenience store: look for the AH logo near the entrance to the underground parking on van Baerlestraat near the Van Gogh Museum. For shoppers, PC Hooftstraat is just ten minutes' walk away.
Transportation tips: if this is your first time in Amsterdam, your best bet from Schiphol is the airport shuttle minibus: look for the green Connexxion shuttle and ask the driver where to buy tickets. If you feel comfortable with Amsterdam's public transport, it is faster (and much cheaper) to take the train to Amsterdam-Zuid (there are loads) and then tram 5 to Concertgebouw, rather than going all the way to the Central Station.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Edricson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2008

we stayed at this hotel,unknowingly when we booked it over the holiday of queens day ,30th april,so it was all rather different in Amsterdam to what we were expecting. The hotel was quite a walk from the centre but there are trams from a nearby stop(not on Queens day so we walked and walked). The reception staff are incredibly friendly and helpful, actually all the Dutch people were during our stay.its easy to catch a bus from the airport which stops almost outside the hotel and only takes about 25mins. The breakfasts were adequate.but nothing special.There is a fridge in the rooms that you can use for your own purchases eg milk. There is only a shower in the bathrooms and we had twin beds despite booking a double. Everywhere was kept clean although I agree with some others that it needs some refurbishment in decor and carpets in public places.Overall a pleasant stay and good value.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank carriemcleod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2008

I just returned from five nights in Amsterdam, four of which I spent at the Museum Square Hotel. The location is great. It's right on a tram line (#16) and practically next door to a number of museums, including the Rijksmuseum and the VanGogh, both of which were great. The front desk staff was very friendly and helped me figure out how to buy and use passes for the tram & bus. The neighborhood has a number of sidewalk cafes and good restaurants to select from and is away from the chaos of Dam Square. The main drawback to this property is that it needs to be remodeled. It just feels tired.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2008

This little hotel is an absolute gem! My husband and I spent 7 nights here the first week in April and were delighted by every aspect of our stay. The room was charming and along with the bathroom spotlessly clean. The very comfy beds are made with pristine white duvets and shams without the usual suspiciously unlaundered bedspreads of most hotels. What a plus! Fridge and electric tea kettle with coffee and tea and china cups and saucers in the room made evenings extremely pleasant. The location is perfect if your main interests are the Van Gogh Museum and the Rijksmuseum, just a 5 minute walk, but all the trams stop nearby, so nothing is really far away. And, the famed Concertgebouw is right on the corner! Breakfast was included with our room and we really enjoyed the convenience and variety in the lovely breakfast room each morning. The staff in this hotel go above and beyond the call of duty! Roel and Lisan are amazing. We took many day trips by train, and they always had train schedules and tram numbers ready for us. Book here with confidence! We'll be back again soon for sure.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank countrygirl06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2008

Museum Square is a low key and simple hotel with an AMAZING staff! Prior to my family's arrival, Roel and his patient and friendly team provided us with a lot of help and information regarding our rooms and the city. With their help, we were able to get our Anne Frank tickets printed, as well as our trip to Keukenhof Gardens arranged and booked. My 10-year-old brother loved the playground next door, as well Vondel Park and the museum park square. The hotel (with its lift and accessible shower room) was very accommodating for my mom, who has a knee disability. The trams nearby stop at the most convenient locations, such as the Central Station and Dam Square. The neighborhood isn't as picturesque as other hotel locations (it's a good ten minute walk to the canals), but there are markets, eateries and cafes nearby. As for our room, it was modern, clean, and comfortable, though the street/tram/traffic noise could be quite loud at times. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank missa_em
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews