We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Ranked #82 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, good location”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

A nice hotel in a good location. Close to the city but still not in the worse tourist areas. The tram leaves almost just outside the hotel, which can take you more of less everywhere in Amsterdam. Might go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecka W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    409
    123
    20
    20
See reviews for
191
385
54
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, UK
Level Contributor
120 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed at the Conscious Hotel for three nights in June at a time when the old centre of Amsterdam was heaving with tourists. It is located in a more pleasant area for this time of year, minutes walk from the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum and Stedelijk Museum, almost opposite the Concertgebauw. Also it is a short walk to Vondelpark through beautiful streets of very desirable houses. We had a choice of trams to take us to the station for our train. Our room was on the fourth floor and very spacious, with everything in it that we needed for a short stay, with a very comfortable bed. It was quite hot but luckily we had air conditioning. We found all the staff very helpful and, unlike some of the Tripadvisor reports, enjoyed the breakfast very much, consisting of among other things lovely fresh bread, rolls and croissants, as well as cereals, home made granola, fruit-flavoured and natural yoghurt, fresh fruit, freshly squeezed orange juice, excellent coffee, bacon, omelette, boiled eggs, salad, cold meats and delicious cheeses. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KitSuffolk_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
189 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

If I could give this hotel a 3.5, I would. The hotel is in a nice location in Amsterdam, just a few blocks off Museumplein. Tram stop right next to the hotel and the airport express bus is nearby. There is a grocery store a few blocks away. So nice conveniences, although if you want to be in the heart of Amsterdam, I recommend going somewhere more central.

The staff here is very friendly! The breakfast is nice. It's all organic, fresh squeezed OJ, etc. Definitely a step above most European hotels.

The rooms are also a great size for Europe.

Where the hotel loses a few stars is the following:

- one particular front desk person always seems a little annoyed to help us. Asked for restaurant recommendations and was told "turn right. There's a bunch." Well, thanks.

- the internet is atrocious!!! Horrible!!! I can't Facetime or Skype. I can't even use my VOIP calling app. I am on the first floor and I've also tried it on the ground floor and nada. An important business call will end up costing a small fortune because I couldn't use any internet apps. I'm not the only one with problems as I have heard others complaining.

- our room overlooks the back garden. Since there is no AC we have left our window/door open to let in air. Well, this is where guests smoke (cigarettes and other) and it wafts right into the room. But I need cool air more :) The back garden also backs up to a lot of other apartments....lots of random lights shining into room.

Maybe I'm being harsh with the 3*, but I believe that good quality wifi is just a standard amenity in hotels. I don't normally have this problem in my European hotels.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naomi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancs
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I stopped here with my wife in February, A friend had never been to Amsterdam so we arranged a short weekend. We stayed here again and we weren't disapointed. we had a lovely twin room with a large balcony, the staff are so friendly even the cleaner, and on our last day the receptionist greeted me with "oh I see your back with us" they really cant do enough for you, and yes the next time we visit Amsterdam this is where we will be staying. and dont forget the airport bus 197 stops almost outside the front door.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank topsylancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The hotel is easily reachable by the tram line1 (easy also from/to the airport), clean, the staff was friendly. From the city centre to the hotel, it takes, more or less, 15 min with the tram. 5 min with the taxi.
The breakfast was fine but a little bit expensive (14 Euro pp).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndreaGR540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The hotel was perfectly located for our stay in Amsterdam--half a block from the Concertgebouw concert hall, a ten minute walk to the Rijksmusem, Van Gogh Museum and Stedilijk (modern art) Museum, and great tram connections to anyplace else you could imagine in town. Friendly staff, with some good restaurant ideas. The room was a good size though not overly furnished. It could have used a bit of an update--the floor was quite worn--but the bed was really comfortable. We didn't have breakfast at the hotel because the choices for the buffet didn't suit us, but there were choices nearby, including the cafe at the Concertgebouw, a short distance away, and a big supermarket on Museum Square.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the_snazz2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This hotel is downtown, walking distance from almost all sight seeings. Very clean and the staff very polite. Breakfast is not included but the place is surrounding by many bakerys etc, so there is no problem. Next time I will visit Amsterdam, it will be my choice!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sissi3_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
#88 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#52 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Espresso
Hotel Espresso
#107 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
#113 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
#123 of 366 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Muse Amsterdam - Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conscious Hotel Museum Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conscious Hotel Museum Square

Property: Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Address: De Lairessestraat 5-7, 1071 NR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#72 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#92 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#100 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Conscious Hotel Museum Square 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conscious Hotel Museum Square is a new type of place to stay designed with today’s independent and discerning travellers in mind. The hotel has a beautiful, cutting edge, contemporary interior but also a sustainable operation designed to be kind to the planet. The choice of how ‘green’ guests want to be is completely up to them and there’s a playful side to the hotel that shows up in little eccentric details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Conscious Hotel Museum Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Museum Square Amsterdam
Amsterdam Museum Square Hotel
Museum Square Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing