We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Ranked #81 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Stayed here for two nights, then returned and stayed one more. Rooms were spacious and comfortable. Courtyard was a nice escape and breakfast was plentiful. Staff were great about recommendations and allowing us to store our luggage at no cost while we made a side trip to Paris. Location is unbeatable- Rijksmuseum is right out the front door and Vondelpark a few blocks.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sciencegirlcdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    358
    418
    124
    20
    20
See reviews for
196
391
55
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

I liked this hotel. I was here for 2 nights with colleagues. Comfortable bed. I like the Eco furnishings including the forest wallpaper! I had a room at the back with balcony and it was quiet and not hot despite the heat outside. Colleagues had rooms at the front so there was traffic noise. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet is good quality and reasonable price. I loved the foyer with it's living wall of plants! I would stay here again on business or for leisure.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Crystal231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Enjoyed the nice reception I got when checking in. It was super hot that day and they offered rooms on the "cooler" side of this non-air conditioned hotel. This worked out ok - the room was not cool by any definition, but certainly cooler than outside.

The first room offered was on the ground floor however, and it was quickly apparent that the noise from the lobby was going to be a problem. After moving upstairs, all was well - even on the street side of the hotel. (I wore earplugs at night - just in case)

This is a basic, clean hotel with few amenities beyond the normal ones. There was a good size safe in my room which made me feel better. The bathroom was clean, modern, and functional. The lobby area is large and clean and there's a patio outside.

All in all - not bad for the money in this convenient area. Oh, forgot to mention that the 195 bus to/from the airport stops very near by, allowing an easier trip than going to the central station and taking the train. It takes about 35-40 mins to or from Schiphol. (leave more during rush hour)

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank casey0999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Great hotel with spacious rooms for three persons. Minimalistic in furniture, but loyal to the Environmental concept of Concious hotels. Very friendly staff with a positiv touch on everything. Parked at the P+R at the Olympic stadium. Remember to pay for the tram both ways to get the discount. For me two nights became €100. Close to everything, including the supermarket underneat the van Gogh museum. (No cards, only cash). Strange smell on the bathroom. Was Nice to have a fan at the room. Short walk to the sightseeing boats. We used the last departure to get into the heart of the city. Will return and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ulvifaareklaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conscious_Hotels, Manager at Conscious Hotel Museum Square, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Hi,

Thanks for the review! Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Please stay with us again soon and let us know if there is anything we can do for you :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights this week, and had a pretty average experience

What's good : location - 10 mins to Rijksmuseum & Vangogh museum. 2 min walk to the tram and bus stop which take you pretty much anywhere within the city

What's not great : No AC (yeah I know I should have read the details before booking !!) , no electric kettle in the room , no refrigerator in the room ( we struggled massively to keep our baby's milk and other food) and over 100 euros a night tariff ! That's a lot of money for no facilities . We were first given a room at the back side of the hotel, and The room turned into a furnace by 9 am . We had to really plead wih the receptionist to get it changed to the front of the building which is slightly better. Normally when you travel with a young kid, receptionists are considerate and make such adjustments on their own. Not in this place !! Also , since they claim to be a "green environment friendly" hotel, they only have one key per room ( I don't know how this is environment friendly !!) and hence you need to leave the key at the reception on your way out each time . We were horrified to see our room door ajar when we returned one evening . I immediately called the reception to check what ws the matter, and all she could muster up was a "sorry" !

Overall, would not recommend this hotel , especially for those who have young children travelling with them. Strongly felt that the hotel uses it's "green" tag to not provide enough facilities . Beware !

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sudhir S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Clean, quiet, friendly hotel in a residential neighborhood just south of the Concertgebouw and Museum Square. Convenient to public transport. In a most comfortable walking neighborhood. Lots of small shops and nice restaurants are just a block away. Adequately sized elevator and rooms. Helpful staff.

Room Tip: Upper floors are quieter. Rooms facing away from the street are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoctorOboe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I am currently staying here an the temperature is 30degrees. No fans, no air con, no fridge to keep water cold, cheaply decorated and furnished. If Eco means not spending a penny on creature comforts for your guests then this place has it cracked.
Makes Premier Inns seem 5* and no less environmentally friendly, at least it is close to the museums so we can walk - don't stay here, it is a complete dump and not worth half of what I paid.

Room Tip: Only have an air con room if they have one but stay somewhere else instead. AVOID.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ASW090164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
#83 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,230 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#52 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,302 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
#110 of 367 in Amsterdam
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Piet Hein
Hotel Piet Hein
#163 of 367 in Amsterdam
962 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Muse Amsterdam - Boutique Hotel
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#82 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conscious Hotel Museum Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conscious Hotel Museum Square

Property: Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Address: De Lairessestraat 5-7, 1071 NR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#72 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#92 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#100 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Conscious Hotel Museum Square 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conscious Hotel Museum Square is a new type of place to stay designed with today’s independent and discerning travellers in mind. The hotel has a beautiful, cutting edge, contemporary interior but also a sustainable operation designed to be kind to the planet. The choice of how ‘green’ guests want to be is completely up to them and there’s a playful side to the hotel that shows up in little eccentric details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Conscious Hotel Museum Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Museum Square Amsterdam
Amsterdam Museum Square Hotel
Museum Square Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing