We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy but too small rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven Amsterdam
Ranked #201 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Pilsen, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
62 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Cosy but too small rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

Hotel Beethoven is very well located in south part of Amsterdam in Beethovenstreet. It is only 10-15 minutes by taxi from the airport Amsterdam Schiphol. It is good starting location to go to the city centre - direct connection by tram (i mean only 5 stops) which has the station very near to hotel. Near to the hotel there are many different stores (supermarket Albert Heijn - open till 10 p.m., fashion, drugstore) and restaurants (next to the hotel good chinese restaurant, Starbucks, various pubs).

From the entrance door the hotel looked very traditionaly. The reception is small and very cosy. And this is the main disadvantage - although the hotel is very cosy, everything is too small. The receptionist was very kind and very eficient. Although we were a group of a few people, check-in was very fast and efficient. In the hall it is available free wifi.

My room was in the first floor. You can use stairs or 1 elevator. Access to the room is by the card. The room was realy tiny. I can't imagine that in this 2-bed room can be accomodated 2 persons. There is hardly space for 1 person. The room looked very old-fashion but on the other side it was cosy (see picture). It was average equiped - sat-tv (also possible buy paid tv channels), telephone, alarm clock, safe. Wifi is not free (free only in reception) but you can buy access to internet for some 3,50 EUR/24 hours/2 devices. I bought myself wifi-access for both 2 nights what I spent in the hotel. But first day there were serious problems with wifi coverage and I nearly couldn 't use it. The surprise was that the next day it was without any problem.

If I wrote that the room is too small, the bathroom is really very very small. Wc, shower corner - everywhere to less space. But what is positive - all lights there are modern led technology so it means the hotel takes care about enviroment.

Other disadvantage I see in the fact that the hotel doesn't have any restaurant opened in the evening. If you want go for some dinner you must go search for any restaurant nearby. Breakfasts are served in small hall in the ground floor. I must tell breakfasts are average or slightly above average. Good choice and perfect quality of products. Overall I was very satisfied with the breakfasts.

I see the hotel Beethoven very suitable for business stay. If you travel alone you can use it also as a great starting point to go to the Amsterdam centre. For travelling in pair there are too small rooms in the hotel. From my point of view the hotel is not very cheap - but everything in NL is not very cheap. So overall it was not bad stay there.

Room Tip: My room had windows to the street. And there was no noise from the traffic or trams. It was very com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    181
    116
    33
    18
See reviews for
55
179
30
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

For a week conference at RAI congress center, I booked this hotel for 5 nights and no regret at all because the staff is really helpful and available. Rooms are extremely clean, wireless internet connection in your room is extremely good. Breakfast is very good and this hotel is really nicely located at 10 min walking distance of city center and 15 min walking distance of RAI congress center. Even this hotel is located close to a street where there is a huge choice of restaurants (italian,turkish,indonesian,chinese, japanese,...............)

Room Tip: ask for a bigger room for 10 euros more per night
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MOUSS190273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

The best hotel I've ever visited! Great breakfast, very nice staff, clean rooms, great location-very quiet but close to the centre of the city, with a lot of shops and restaurants around. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Altoslik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munster, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

We stayed at Hampshire Hotel Beethoven Amsterdam for 1 night before our group tour. We arrived at the hotel around 12 noon and of course the room wasn't ready. So we dropped our suitcases and went out for lunch right across the street at a nice little pastry shop. When came back, a room was ready for us. Checked in, got cleaned up, and ready to hit the town. The tram station is right outside of the hotel. Hopped on tram number 5, within minutes, you are in the Museumplein (Museum Square).

It is very easy to get from the airport too. Just take the southern rail line and get off at the first stop, Amsterdam Zuid (South station). Walk across a plaza, up to the street and take tram #5, three stops and you are there.

Room is small but for the price we paid ($148), can't beat it especially during the tulip season.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IndianaWes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one night in may 2013. For the amount we paid I felt it wasn't value for money. The hotel is dated and the appearance of the hallways remind me of a hostel or somewhere we use to stay on a school trip.
Bedroom was tiny! And you couldn't sit on the toilet without your legs hitting the sink.

The breakfast left a lot to be desired. The selection wasn't
great and I would say the worst I've had in a hotel.


I would only be able to compare it to an over priced travelodge with wifi.

It was probably a 15 minute walk from the centre.

I would say either, stay at a different hotel in the centre or stay at an airport hotel instead and get the train in. It's relatively cheap and only takes 15 minutes or so.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chr1sj89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Amsterdam
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

Staff very pleasant, room OK, but you can hear every step next, above and below your room, so don't expect to sleep from 07.00 when others start checking out in the morning. After checking my invoice there was a mistake of 60 euro (reservation costs) which needed refunding back to my credit card.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Antonius S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Perfect Hotel. Just what we needed. We wanted somewhere to rest our head at night and have a shower. We did spend one night in the room we planned on having a quiet drink watching telly but fell asleep quite quickly in the comfy beds. Not too far away from the centre about 15 min tram ride away but a nice walk up into the centre if you like walking.
I would stay here again and highly reccomend this hotel. Staff all very friendly.
Lovely Bakery next door too!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sophieswallows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
BEST WESTERN Delphi Hotel
#167 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
#90 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Amsterdam Tropen Hotel
#135 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#245 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
#101 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven Amsterdam

Property: Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven Amsterdam
Address: Beethovenstraat 43, 1077 HN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #201 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you’re enjoying a city break or are on a business trip; you find a warm and friendly welcome at the Hampshire Hotel Beethoven in Amsterdam Zuid (South). The hotel is conveniently situated in the prestigious ‘Beethovenstraat’, a street best known for its luxury shops and variety of trendy bars and restaurants for fine wining and dining. The neighbourhood ‘Amsterdam Oud Zuid’ is a beautiful area and great to experience every day Amsterdam life at its best. Enjoy tasty classic dishes at Brooks Brasserie. The brasserie is available for a cup of coffee, drinks, light meal, breakfast, lunch or dinner. Looking for the hustle and bustle of the Amsterdam city centre? With trams stopping right on the hotel’s doorstep, you get there fast and easy. Or stop on the way at interesting spots such as the newly renovated Rijksmuseum, the beautiful Vondelpark, the Albert Cuijp market and the vibrant Leidseplein with its bars, terraces, shops, cinemas and the new DeLaMar Theatre. Close to Hampshire Hotel Beethoven is the Amsterdam Zuid (South) station, from which metro 50 takes you directly to Amsterdam Arena. Here you find the ArenA football stadium, the Ziggo Dome concert hall, the Heineken Music Hall and much more to keep you entertained. Travelling for business? Due the location of our hotel in the South of Amsterdam it is also very popular with business travellers. The Amsterdam RAI convention centre and the Amsterdam WTC (World Trade Centre) are within walking distance and also the Amsterdam VU (university) is easily accessible. Hampshire Hotel Beethoven offers an outstanding service and comfortable rooms. With a private bathroom with bath tub or shower, flat screen TV, coffee and tea making facilities, a laptop safe and Wi-Fi internet free of charge, you will find all the comfort you need to unwind and recharge for the next day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampshire Hotel Beethoven
Hampshire Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing