We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not so great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven Amsterdam
Ranked #198 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not so great”
Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights for our honeymoon. We werent looking for luxurious places but something affordable and comfortable. Unfortunately this wasnt the place for us.
On the positive side, the staff were so lovely and helpful and the hotel is in a great location. With a tram stop right out the front and about a 20min tram ride / 20euro taxi to central station. Thats where the positives end.
We upgraded our room as the first one was smelly and tiny. This hotel desperately needs a face lift. I am a light sleeper and got hardly any sleep due to the ceiling sounding like it was going to collapse, either that or bigfoot was staying above us. The walls were thin too. I could hear everything from the rooms either side of us and above us. The bathroom was dirty and old and when you shower water just goes all through the bathroom. There wasnt a bathroom fan so it fogged up very quickly.
The breakfast was horrible, we went elsewhere after the first day. There was a fantastic cafe right opposite the hotel.
We were overall dissatisfied with this hotel, it didn't compare to the hotel's website at all.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    186
    120
    34
    18
See reviews for
56
183
31
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

If only they would give this hotel a face lift, it might be an enjoyable experience.

Firstly, I was here on a business trip this time. We wanted something near the RAI conference centre and location wise, this hotel was great. however, it doesn't live up to its pictures on the website.

On the plus side. The beds are really comfortable and the shower, clean and modern. That's where it ends. The whole place needs a make over. It is tired and scruffy. It is the most basic hotel I have ever stayed in. The restaurant/breakfast area looks like a cafe and the breakfast is cereal, cold meat and cheese. Hot food consists of scrambled egg and mini sausages. The same everyday. You pop your toast into a toaster and hope it doesn't get burnt.

The rooms are all very dark. I stayed on the second floor at the back. There is no sound proofing and underlay under the carpet. So every time someone moved above, you could hear them. Fine if you had to be up and out early like me, not so good if you are on holiday.

Although helpful, the reception staff where a bit scruffy too. All wearing different attire and looking a bit fed up.

Plus side. Beds comfy, bathroom clean (well in my room), great location, near enough to everything, but far enough away to miss the noise of Central Amsterdam.

It's located in a very fashionable location, easy for town and easy for conference facilities.

That's where it ends.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I was in Amsterdam for business and unfortunately had to settle for this hotel as all others where fully booked. Arrived at the hotel, check in, got to the 3rd floor and was met with the most awful smell. Got to my room to hear a 'drip, drip, drip' sound and discovered that my radiator was leaking. Changed to another room to find a radiator with rust/dirt marks, and a very grubby feeling room. Tried to purchase in-room wi-fi, but couldn't complete the transaction. TV channel selection was very poor, so gave up and turned in for the night. Had a good sleep, and shower was good. Absolutely no atmosphere in the restaurant which has been shoe-horned into the 'Reception' area creating a very 'rushed' experience at breakfast. Was glad to leave....

Room Tip: Sheesh - avoid the 3rd floor which has a weird smell?
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HenryTheHoover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Aachen, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

very friendly hotel staff, especially Aziz who helped whenever needed. reasonable prices also during exhibition period. very near to RAI exhibition centre (5 min wich cab, 15-20 min walk). nice Argentinian restaurant next to the hotel and far more in direct neighboorhoud. i would recommend this hotel for business trips.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avolkhardt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Stopped here for work a few nights and I really love the location. Stayed in Amsterdam a few times previously and this is the best area yet. Beethovenstraat is a stylish and classy neighbourhood with some good shops, bars and spots to eat, and this hotel is smack in the centre of it. worth mentioning here that here's a place at the end of the block called Fidelio Cafe that would make a brilliant local in any city with it's atmosphere, good beers and even better food, but sadly the same can't be said for the Beethoven.

If it was a colour it would be beige. Everything looks like it could do with a facelift.

That said, when you break it down into the raw materials of a hotel for a business trip there's nothing much to grumble about. My room was a good size with a decent bed, a great shower, good sized telly and plenty of natural light with views up and down the main road. The road's quite noisy but it didn't bother me overly. Breakfast was fairly poor but there was fresh bread and fresh juice and I've had worse.

It felt like they'd listened to reviewers advice and improved some of the essentials and this certainly made all the difference for my stay, but there's just no escaping the overwhelming blandness waiting around every corner. It's got zero character. You won't want to come back, but the charm of the area and the fact that it doesn't quite manage to upset you might just mean you forget you didn't really rate it and book another stay next year. Clever Beethoven.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank james_barlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

we stayed at the hotel for four nights. the room had enough space for two. The small problem was the bathroom door, which was sliding and didn't actually isolate /seal / from the rest of the space. The staff was friendly and helpful. We found it comfortable enough for our stay. Nearby were a lot of shops , cafe and restaurants which was very convenient. Transportation was very good, since the tram station was a few meters next to the hotel. I would rate it 3+.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phaedra2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed in the Beethoven Hotel for 1 week whilst exhibiting at a major Trade Show (September 2013). When we opened the lift door on the 3rd floor, after we had Registered, we were met by a really vile smell that lingered on for three days before finally dissipating.
Our Double Room overlooked the back (no garden) so it was quieter than the front, but it was dismal and urgently required redecoration, like the rest of the Hotel!
There was no ventilation in the lavatory/bathroom so the towels did not dry, and it was only on the third day that we started throwing them on the floor to get them changed. Even the net curtain in the room was filthy, with what looked like a large blood stain on it!
There was very little storage space for clothes, and what there was required a ladder to reach!
There was no free Internet (in this day and age?) AND they wanted to charge us for it, even though we were staying for seven days!
Breakfast was abysmal, and unchanging every day. There was a poor selection of cereals, no Meusli, totally tasteless fruit salad, the scrambled egg was like rubber, their sausages were small and 'dubious', and the coffee was totally undrinkable.
Reception was dour, and whilst not actually rude, did nothing to make one feel welcome in the venue.
All in all, a tatty, dismal, unwelcoming venue, and best avoided!

Room Tip: Ask for one at another hotel, but if you must stay there, get one at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Best Western Delphi Hotel
#169 of 366 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Central Park
#177 of 366 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
#90 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
Amsterdam Tropen Hotel
#133 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven Amsterdam

Property: Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven Amsterdam
Address: Beethovenstraat 43, 1077 HN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #198 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you’re enjoying a city break or are on a business trip; you find a warm and friendly welcome at the Hampshire Hotel Beethoven in Amsterdam Zuid (South). The hotel is conveniently situated in the prestigious ‘Beethovenstraat’, a street best known for its luxury shops and variety of trendy bars and restaurants for fine wining and dining. The neighbourhood ‘Amsterdam Oud Zuid’ is a beautiful area and great to experience every day Amsterdam life at its best. Enjoy tasty classic dishes at Brooks Brasserie. The brasserie is available for a cup of coffee, drinks, light meal, breakfast, lunch or dinner. Looking for the hustle and bustle of the Amsterdam city centre? With trams stopping right on the hotel’s doorstep, you get there fast and easy. Or stop on the way at interesting spots such as the newly renovated Rijksmuseum, the beautiful Vondelpark, the Albert Cuijp market and the vibrant Leidseplein with its bars, terraces, shops, cinemas and the new DeLaMar Theatre. Close to Hampshire Hotel Beethoven is the Amsterdam Zuid (South) station, from which metro 50 takes you directly to Amsterdam Arena. Here you find the ArenA football stadium, the Ziggo Dome concert hall, the Heineken Music Hall and much more to keep you entertained. Travelling for business? Due the location of our hotel in the South of Amsterdam it is also very popular with business travellers. The Amsterdam RAI convention centre and the Amsterdam WTC (World Trade Centre) are within walking distance and also the Amsterdam VU (university) is easily accessible. Hampshire Hotel Beethoven offers an outstanding service and comfortable rooms. With a private bathroom with bath tub or shower, flat screen TV, coffee and tea making facilities, a laptop safe and Wi-Fi internet free of charge, you will find all the comfort you need to unwind and recharge for the next day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampshire Hotel Beethoven
Hampshire Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing