We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stayed one night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Ranked #185 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 19 February 2012

nice clean hotel, nice and friendly staff, not far from everything thats was going on, shopping and nite life. i would highly recommend hotel eden to any one traveling to amsterdam and would stay there again.The staff were there for any little thing, and it was done straight away.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,921)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,563 - 1,569 of 2,923 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2012

Perfect for 1 night stay...excellent location, clean room and reception area, friendly and helpful staff. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Amsterdam, and I would stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

The location is very good, and the prices on the whole are not bad - look out for special deals though, since I've stayed before and got better rates.
Note that there are two Eden Hotels in the same building, and run by the same company. The one I stayed in "Eden Hotel Amsterdam" is a 3-Star place on the Amstel side. The other one is a 4-star place called the "Eden Rembrandt Square Hotel" and is on the Rembrantplein side.
In the 3-star place, there is free wifi in the lobby, but not in the rooms. In the 4-star place, I am told that they have free wifi in the rooms too. I stayed on the first floor of the 3-star and could pick up a weak wifi from the lobby - consider asking for a first floor room if free wifi appeals.
Room itself was quite small, but in decent condition - breakfast was not included in my rate.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

I would like to rate this hotel great. The location is fabulous. Rooms are small but have all you might need. TV only shows BBC and Europe news in English. The cleaning in this hotel is horrible. They removed the garbage plastic bag from the receptacle and left it on the table on top of my things. May be we are spoiled in the US. But I am originally from Russia. This is the worst cleaning I experienced in many years of travel in multiple countries. If the fix it, I would give them 5 stars.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tatiana63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdenHampshire, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2012

Dear Madam or Sir,
Thank you very much for the time you have taken to shre your experience. May I ask you to contact me personally so I can take appropriate action. You can email me on claire.vancampen@edenhotelgroup.com. Kind regards, Claire van Campen General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

excellent location, good breakfast, king bed and service ok.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

i checked in on the 25 of jan 2012 in the 3 star part of the hotel and was horrified by the standard of there so called 3 star lol the bed was dusty like it had been sleeped in it had hairs and pubes in the bed no joke with dust every where and its not just me being fussy there was thick dust every where in the bed head board every where. i had to clean my self i told the manager about this problem and he offered me another room which was bigger but twice as dirty what a joke i had to go down in the morrining when people was booking in and and tell them again infront of the other guests and raise my voice and say there was pubes in the bed and it was discusting then i got moved up to the 4 star which was very nice but seems like they onily clean the 4 star side of the hotel and just put the people in the 3 star side like hens and stags dont dont dont book the 3 star side belive me get the 4 star side if you can afford it but on the up side great locaction in the middle of everything

Room Tip: dont book the 3 star side of the hotel its horrible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adam p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

The Eden Hotel is in a perfect location for exploring Amsterdam. The river Amstel is right on the door step with the Opera House a stones throw away. Rembrant square is at the back of the hotel with a selection of cafes, bars, resturants and coffee shops. The flower market is a 2 min walk away and the Leidseplein about 10 min walk. Red light is 10 min walk and central station about 15/20mins. If you dont feel like walking though, there is a tram stop (number 9) on Rembrant square which will take you to and from the centre.

The Hotel is quiet. Nothing special but a good place to rest your head after a busy day in Amsterdam. Staff are ok. We spoke to some friendly ones and some not so approchable ones.

Rooms are slightly on the small side and quite dark with loads of dark wooden furniture. But does the job for a 3 night stay. The bed is very comfy. Sheets & Towells changed every other day but room is cleaned daily (bins changed, etc) There are marks on the carpet/walls and the bath/shower could do with a good scrub but rooms are clean enough.

Big downside is the room is heated by a small radiator by the window and it isnt the warmest so rooms were quite chilly.

All rooms are charged for City Tax when you leave - quite cheap though so no worries.

I would recommed this hotel if you can find a nice deal for it. Isnt the greatest but does the job and the location couldnt be better!

Room Tip: Take a jumper to sleep in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisi_rosebud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#149 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,625 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#121 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#118 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,244 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
#186 of 374 in Amsterdam
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam

Address: Amstel 144, 1017 AE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #185 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £90 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eden Hotel Amsterdam – Hampshire Eden is in a unique location. Right on the Amstel and with an abundance of hot spots within easy reach: Rembrandtplein, the Stopera, Waterlooplein, De Kleine Komedie and Theater Carre. Various museums are close by including Rembrandthuis Museum and Foam photography museum. The area is also teaming with options for dining out as well as fantastic shopping streets, such as Kalverstraat and Leidsestraat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Splitty, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Eden Hotel
Eden Hotel Amsterdam
Best Western Eden Hotel
Best Western Amsterdam
Best Western Eden Amsterdam
Best Western Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing