We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A well located, no fuss, average quality 3* hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Ranked #203 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“A well located, no fuss, average quality 3* hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

I booked the hotel on a flight-hotel deal which was good value for money and therefore think that rooms that are given in this sort of deal are not necessarily the best ones. I also chose the 3* hotel as accommodation was not a priority.

The Eden Hotel is located in the centre of Amsterdam and along one of the canals.
Its central location makes it at walking distance from most landmarks, and walking in Amsterdam is very pleasant as you follow the canals.

For example it takes 20mn to walk to the Central Station if you enjoy walking, otherwise it is a 10€ taxi ride.
It is only 4/5mn walk from the famous Flower Market and another further 5mn walk to the Dam which is the city’s central square.
There are a reasonable choice of cafes and restaurants in the streets nearby the hotel, but I suggest you walk to the Dam where you will find all sorts of restaurants, shops and entertainment in the nearby streets.

The reception staffs are overall friendly and helpful apart from the occasional unsmiling person, but this happens everywhere in this category of hotel.

There is a concierge desk where you can buy tickets for tours and museums. I recommend doing this as it saves you from queuing (unless you buy your tickets online).
We found though that there was not necessarily a perfect coordination between the information given at the reception desk and that given by the concierge, and we spent 5mn going from a counter to another one to sort out excursions payments!

For security reasons (which we were very happy about) we had to use our cards to use the lift but we found it a bit slow and only used the staircase as we were at a low level.
We also had to use our card to open the door accessing the staircase, and once more we felt very happy with this security arrangement.

The rooms were not huge but absolutely fine, we even had an additional bed added. It was a bit crammed but we still could circulate easily.
There was absolutely no view, except of the wall of the other part of the building, and there was no view of the sky either! This was acceptable as we booked a flight-hotel package and knew that we would be allocated this sort of room.
It was not an issue as we used our rooms for sleeping only; we didn’t spend any amount of time indoors during the day.

The bathroom shower flexible was old and twisted, which was very surprising as the bathroom was new and extremely clean.
We only realised the following morning that the flexible was twisted and was the cause of the low pressure of the water and I mentioned it straight away to the reception.

The flexible was immediately changed for a new one, but I was a bit surprised that none of the cleaning staffs realised the poor state of the flexible and didn't have it changed earlier on!

Overall the Eden Hotel does a good job for a weekend or a very short stay unless you are looking for excellent quality and want to treat yourself. I was there teenage girls and the room was not a priority.
As I wrote earlier it is a typical 3* hotel located in a big European city and there are a lot of bits and pieces that don’t work perfectly as it happens in any other 3* star hotel anywhere else, and make me say that the Eden Hotel is average.

Room Tip: You will not have a room with view in this hotel if you travel on a prepaid flight-hotel deal as we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelFranceOnline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,662 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    459
    1,047
    682
    286
    188
See reviews for
251
1,237
167
279
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

We had a very nice stay the staff especially Natascha the bar person were very friendly the room was small but comfortable and clean we tended to eat out where ever we happened to be at meal times, we were very satisfied, the only down side was the first night the curtain came partly off the rail and it took 2 days to fix it, it was too high for us to fix ourselves and then another day someone put a do not disturb sign on our door and so our room was not made up even though I had told them it was not us who had put it there. I would say there again and the central position is excellent

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BridgetEvon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

We stayed at this hotel in early may 2012 and despite a mixup where they cancelled our booking due to our late arrival we had an enjoyable stay. The room was small but comfortable, well heated. the hotel is conviently located, staff were friendly and helpfull and the breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
171 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

Location is great: in walking distance of most attractions in the old city. The room was clean and the breakfast buffet was correct. But...it's a very noisy hotel: street noise but also lots of noise from the 'elevator cooling', from the staff... Make sure you don't get a room with a number ending on 40-50: that side of the hotel is located across a very noisy disco-bar, just a few meters from your window! The disco ball shatters light into your room! The bathroom was not very comfortable (shower only gave too hot or too cold water) and there were lots of flies in the room. I think you can find better 3 star hotels!

Room Tip: Make sure your room number doesn't end on '40-50': then you're sleeping just a few m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IvoFromBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Amsterdam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

This hotel was recommended by a friend and we found it a terriffic value.
We loved the location, the food, the concerige and the entire staff.
We arrived extremely early in the morning and they accommodated us immediately.
We would always stay at the Eden and recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Bobbie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Eden Hotel Amsterdam with some reservations.
On the positive side the front desk staff and the concierge were particularly helpful.
The room however had some drawbacks. The bathroom configuration was not good at all. The bathroom tub/shower was so narrow that it was impossible to avoid spraying water all over the bathroom floor. It was also very slippery which risked the danger of falling. The sink afforded very little space to put toiletries - more shelves would be useful.
The bedroom portion of the room was OK but it was a challenge to walk betwwen the foot of the bed and the wall mounted TV. The floor lamp was missing a bulb which was not replaced until we ask for it to be done.
The hotel's location is excellent and we would consider staying there again on a future visit.
Overall about a 6 out of 10 rating.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
#182 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#106 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#151 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Carlton Amsterdam
NH Carlton Amsterdam
#238 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,266 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam

Property: Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Address: Amstel 144, 1017 AE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #203 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eden Hotel Amsterdam – Hampshire Eden is in a unique location. Right on the Amstel and with an abundance of hot spots within easy reach: Rembrandtplein, the Stopera, Waterlooplein, De Kleine Komedie and Theater Carre. Various museums are close by including Rembrandthuis Museum and Foam photography museum. The area is also teaming with options for dining out as well as fantastic shopping streets, such as Kalverstraat and Leidsestraat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Lastminute, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Eden Hotel
Eden Hotel Amsterdam
Best Western Eden Hotel
Best Western Amsterdam
Best Western Eden Amsterdam
Best Western Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing