We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good position, but mixed feelings” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Ranked #203 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good position, but mixed feelings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Stayed here over weekend of 22/23 June along with my wife, daughter, her partner and baby. We decided to book 2 executive rooms which are more expensive but bigger and mostly face the canal. When we got to our room (330) I was disappointed as it was long and narrow and did not meet my expectations for size. When we saw the room for my daughter (327) we were surprised to find a much bigger and airier room. I went to reception and explained my concern about the differing room sizes and she immediately offered me a similar room (324) to my daughters. The rooms are nicely furnished however the paintwork around the windows and skirting are showing signs of wear and should be repainted. The bathrooms are small and not big enough for two people to be in at the same time. The bed was comfortable but I agree about a previous comment regarding the functional carpet which is very hard on bare feet. Although it was nice to have a room facing the canal the windows are not double glazed so there is noticeable noise from the cars and mopeds passing in front of the hotel, along with a few rowdy partygoers returning in the middle of the night.
Overall the staff were very friendly and helpful, especially the concierge who coped with every question and request for advice with charm and good humor. The hotel is well placed for Rembrandt Square where we went for breakfast each morning. Overall a good hotel which I would have rated higher but for the comments I have mentioned.

Room Tip: If you book an executive room check it's not a long narrow one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jahpritch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert P, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Dear guest,

We thank you for providing us with your feedback, which enables us to improve our service or product, something we always strive to do. We will review your remarks with all parties concerned and follow up where possible. Other than that, we hope you will look back on your stay with us as a pleasant one. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in the near future!

Kindest regards,

Robert Pelt
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,662 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    459
    1,047
    682
    286
    188
See reviews for
251
1,237
167
279
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

We were recommended this Hotel and were not disappointed. It is idealy placed for the Central Train Station and then a short hop by tram 9 to the Hotel adjacent to the Canal.

Like many hotels in Amsterdam the rooms are not large, but perfectly adequate and very clean. It is very near many bars and good eating places as well as the many museums.

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up and away from any street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheCommanderLeyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert P, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Dear guest,

We appreciate the fact that you took the time to leave your comments on tripadvisor.com. We are happy to learn you had such a pleasant stay in our hotel. We thank you for your kind words and hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future. We wish you all the best until then!

Kindest regards,

Robert Pelt
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Axel, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
473 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

The staff is friendly, the hotel is in the middle of the tourist area, breakfast is good, metro and tram are two minutes away, plenty of choice for dinner in the area but I do not like the cramped bathroom and shower and the room was very dated. Oke for downtown Amsterdam but I would stay outside the city center and take public transportation to downtown

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DdeKerf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert P, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam, responded to this review, 22 June 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for writing your feedback on tripadvisor.com. We are happy to learn that you had a pleasant time in our hotel. We hope you will consider staying with us again in the future. You may want to look into our superior rooms or apartments then: they are more spacious and offer you more luxury.

Kind regards,

Robert Pelt
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

Great location near to amenities however room reall small more like a single with a queen size bed for two, above a night club so very noisy and to be honest to basic for us. Ordered tea and coffee but this was not replenished and the room was not cleaned to a decent standard.

Room Tip: Try and over look the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert P, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam, responded to this review, 15 June 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback, which enables us to improve our service or product, something we always wish to do. We are sorry that certain details of your stay were not up to standard. We will review your comments with all parties involved and hope you will consider staying with us again in the future. We would like to advise you to look into the different room types we have to offer, to make sure your room will meet all your expectations.

Kind regards,

Robert Pelt
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

Great first time visit to hotel and city. Really pleased with all aspects of our stay. Just one thing - our room on the 4th floor at the front had "1/2 windows", meaning they went from the floor up about 3 feet so the view and the light were minimal. Also they didn't seem to like us asking for ice for the room (I guess they would have preferred we have our drinks at their bar). Location and assistance were great, the price was right and I would stay there again (just not on that floor!)
Nancy N., Ottawa Canada

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert P, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Dear guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to write your feedback on tripadvisor.com, it enables us to improve our product or service, something we always wish to do. Therefore, we will definitely follow up on the remarks you have made. Other than that we are happy to learn you had a pleasant stay in our hotel. We hope to be able to welcome you back real soon.

Kindest regards,

Robert Pelt
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

Hotel is in a good location and within walking distance to most attractions, we walked from Centraal Station took around 20 minutes and around 15 minutes to Dam Square. Hotel was clean, bed was comfortable and quite nice for a three star. However the room only had a tiny window so it felt a bit dark and dingy. However the room was quiet and we slept well. Bar/cafe area was also nice didn't have anything to eat though. Lots of restaurants, bars, shops, etc nearby. Check-in and check-out was a bit slow, but overall a good stay and we would probably stay here again but would request a room with a bigger window!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emmabpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert P, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Dear guest,

We thank you for writing your review for Tripadvisor. We are happy to learn you had such a pleasant stay in our hotel. We recommend you indeed discuss your personal preferences with us on your next trip to Amsterdam, we have a range of rooms to offer you. We will be looking forward to that next visit!

Kindest regards,

Robert Pelt
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
#182 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#104 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#150 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,436 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Carlton Amsterdam
NH Carlton Amsterdam
#238 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,266 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam

Property: Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Address: Amstel 144, 1017 AE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #203 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eden Hotel Amsterdam – Hampshire Eden is in a unique location. Right on the Amstel and with an abundance of hot spots within easy reach: Rembrandtplein, the Stopera, Waterlooplein, De Kleine Komedie and Theater Carre. Various museums are close by including Rembrandthuis Museum and Foam photography museum. The area is also teaming with options for dining out as well as fantastic shopping streets, such as Kalverstraat and Leidsestraat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Lastminute, Odigeo, Hotelopia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Eden Hotel
Eden Hotel Amsterdam
Best Western Eden Hotel
Best Western Amsterdam
Best Western Eden Amsterdam
Best Western Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing