We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel with great localization”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Ranked #206 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel with great localization”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Very nice Hotel.
The staff was always there to help.
Breakfast was good.
Great location (10 minutes walking from central station and 2 minutes from Rembrant square).
The room was small an the bathroom gives poor privacity but in the other hand we stayed with a room with canal view.
The WI-FI is free and had a good signal in the room (we stayed on the first floor)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sml25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas6192013, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much in taking the time in writing your experiences in Trip advisor.
Good to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,753 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    472
    1,084
    707
    296
    194
See reviews for
261
1,274
174
289
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Just back from a 3 night stay here and was very impressed. Very good location, so easy to get in and out of the Central area. The staff were very friendly. We travelled by Ferry overnight to Rotterdam and then coach to the hotel. We were a little tired upon arrival and spoke to Fatima. We arrived at 1030 am and although check in wasn't until 3pm, Fatima was most helpful. She upgraded us for free to the 4 star part of the hotel and we were not dissapointed and we checked in straight away. The room was great, handy ice machines on the floor, breakfasts superb. Thursday and Friday nights had great sleeps although Saturday night, the noise from outside was ongoing until about 5am so didn't sleep much. I would certainly recommend this hotel and the friendly staff, everyone very pleasant but a great big thanks to Fatima for her going out of her way to book us in early and get us a free upgrade. Service with a smile and how service should be. Good service deserves good praise. After checking out we used the luggage hold so we could spend more time in Amsterdam without suitcases and again staff helped and were so friendly.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dazz2401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas6192013, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us. We are happy to read that you had a great stay with us! We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back as our guest in the future.

With Regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I stayed here with my partner about a year ago now (only just starting to review places ive travelled to). The hotel is just on the outskirts of the busy noisey areas of Amsterdam, literally across a river but It is still close to everything, the markets, redlight district, shops and train station (about 15 min walk from the main station). In our opinion probably the best location to stay.

I happened to get a deal with included breakfast buffet, which was excellent to say the least. Great food. The staff were also very nice and helpful with any questions. The room we stayed in was big and clean.

In summary this hotel is in a great location, has a good breakfast and is clean. It was great value for money when we travelled, having a strong dollar against the euro. I will definatly be trying to stay here again when i return to Amsterdam!

Thank you Eden Hotel

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank p m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas6192013, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time writing a review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Chose this hotel as part of Jet2 package as we have stayed in this area twice before, Just round the corner is Rembrandt Square with lots of bars and restaurants all with seating outside. Nearby is Flower Market and just a short walk to Dam Square. Hotel staff were efficient and friendly. Our room on 5th floor was of good size with no outlook but was clean and airy. Beds were comfy and towels changed on second day. Buffet breakfast had plenty of choice and unlimited tea/coffee etc. Hotel bar was not open during our stay. Some painting and maintenance being carried out at the time of our stay. Needed to take travel kettle as research on website showed no tea/coffee making facilities in standard rooms, but there are vending machines in the foyer if needed.

Room Tip: Probably need executive or superior room for canal view and tea/coffee making facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas6192013, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time in writing your experiences. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

location is very good, the hospitality and welcoming of concierge was excellent, they are so professional and helpful. however the room that we stayed (410) was too small to live in. You can not find any space to put your luggage and no enough space to change your clothes.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampshire Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank ceyhanguner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time writing a rewiew. I will pass the complimetns to our congierge. I am sorry to read that we did not meat your room expectations.With kind regards, The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

I have stayed in Amsterdam before and have had the odd Rick I choice of hotel. Well this was not one as you walk in we all felt comfortable straight away. We had an executive double overlooking the canal on the 5th floor which was a magnificent view. The room was clean and airey and had a safe as well. The bed very comfortable and the bathroom although not big clean and shower was hot and powerful. We went bed and breakfast and this was also better than expected buffet, but plenty there and we all were pleased. We never ate in the hotel apart from that, but even the restaurant choice looked good, but we wanted to eat out for evening dinner. The staff were very friendly and if you asked for anything were pleased to help. It was also just so central that you come out of the hotel and you are central to everything. I would definitely recommend and will stay again when in Amsterdam.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas6192013, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your great review.
We look forward to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I agree with other reviews that the business like, stylish entrance and reception do not represent the rest of the hotel. Our room was small as was the bathroom and the window looked out onto a brick wall. That said it was clean and had a safe for valuables. The breakfast was good especially the pain aux raisin. Staff were helpful and efficient.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loopylu360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas6192013, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor.
We will inform our staff about your compliment.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#152 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,511 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#125 of 368 in Amsterdam
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
#189 of 368 in Amsterdam
355 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Carlton Amsterdam
NH Carlton Amsterdam
#238 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam

Property: Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Address: Amstel 144, 1017 AE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #206 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eden Hotel Amsterdam – Hampshire Eden is in a unique location. Right on the Amstel and with an abundance of hot spots within easy reach: Rembrandtplein, the Stopera, Waterlooplein, De Kleine Komedie and Theater Carre. Various museums are close by including Rembrandthuis Museum and Foam photography museum. The area is also teaming with options for dining out as well as fantastic shopping streets, such as Kalverstraat and Leidsestraat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Eden Hotel
Eden Hotel Amsterdam
Best Western Eden Hotel
Best Western Amsterdam
Best Western Eden Amsterdam
Best Western Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing