We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, great staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Ranked #203 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Morehead City, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location, great staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

We have stayed at The Eden before, and would stay there again. We opted to get an upgrade at check in and were able to get a wonderful river and canal view room. The staff is always helpful and the location can't be beat. All this and a great value for Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampshire Hotels

Helpful?
Thank CalicoGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much in taking the time in sharing your experiences with us. Thank you for the compliments.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,705 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    466
    1,067
    693
    289
    190
See reviews for
256
1,256
170
283
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abertillery, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed in a standard room but by any standard was SUB-STANDARD. Had to move from our first room, dirty, cobwebs and very unclean. Reported to reception, we were moved to another room above. This was not much better, damp and mould by the window, wall dirty and generally unclean. To top things of we were told breakfast was not included in our room rate, but was clearly stated on our receipt. After some discussion and phone calls the receptionist finally agreed that breakfast indeed was included. All of these problems and the sub standard rooms ( we were with friends, theirs were the same.) we're not a good start to our trip, and put a damper on our holiday. This has to be by far the worse hotel we have stayed in, and will certainly not stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patrick C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experience with us. I am sorry to read we did not meet your expectations. We constantly work on improving our service and standards.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 371 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights, arriving at 9:45am after an early flight from Bristol, England. We were able to have our room upon arrival and have a quick shower and short sleep before setting out to look around Amsterdam.
The room was small but adequate , with an compact ensuite which served its purpose well, with good pressure shower and overall clean and tidy setup. The only that could be a negative could be the lack of tea / coffee making facilities.
The staff were always helpful and willing to accommodate the requests we made.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much in taking the time in writing your experiences in Tripadvisor. Good to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
The comments have been forwarded to the team.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We were booked into the apartments but as they were not ready we were upgraded to executive rooms in the hotel. These had lovely views of the canal. Staff were courteous, polite and helpful.
The hotel is 1 minute from Rembrandt Square and an ideal location for sightseeing.

Room Tip: Ask for views overlooking the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for writing a review on Trip advisor. We look forward to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lockerbie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

I stayed at the Eden Hotel, Amsterdam for 3 nights while I was attending a business meeting.
I found the hotel basic but welcoming. My room was very nice although it could have benefited from a new carpet.
The bathroom was clean and tidy and the shower was excellent.
The hotel is well placed for Rembrandt Square and the busiest parts of Amsterdam although it is just down a quiet lane on the canal side.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macnab99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas6192013, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments about your stay.
We will use this to improve our level of service for our next guests and we hope to welcome you again for your next stay.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
101 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Where do I start? During our 4 night stay in the Eden hotel Mrs IrishDownUnder and I stayed in a total of 3 rooms. Yes, you read that correctly, 3 rooms in 4 days. Let me explain. On our arrival we checked in and found the staff helpful and efficient. We made our way to our midrange room facing the canal and found it quite adequate, not the best ever, but adequate. We decided to hit the town and see what it had to offer.

Upon returning to our room a few hours later we noticed water all over the hand basin and floor. We then realised that the water had come from the room above, obviously the shower or bath above had leaked through the floor. Mrs IrishDownUnder contacted reception who sent a member of staff up to investigate. Without going into too much detail we were moved to a different class room for the night which didn't face the canal but was larger. We were very happy with how the hotel had dealt with the issue.

The next day the hotel moved us to another room (2 rooms away from our original one) so we got our canal view back. The hotel actually moved our luggage while we were out which we were expecting.

On every occasion we approached the hotel staff with questions or requests we found them to be extremely helpful and pleasant. I really can't praise the staff enough, they were excellent.

In hindsight I wouldn't book a canal facing room as they can be quite noisy during the night (no fault of the hotel though). If you're looking for a good, friendly, helpful, centrally located mid range hotel you won't go wrong with this place. You will find better but you'll pay extra or be further out from the city centre.

Neither I nor Mrs IrishDownUnder are snobs but we like quality. With the Eden hotel, you get what you pay for and we were happy.

On the downside, the breakfast isn't great. The room key cards failed numerous times and had to be replaced but the central location of the hotel and the helpful staff made up for those minor annoyances. I'd recommend it and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: I gave sleep quality 3 out of 5 but only due to the room we chose. I wouldn't recommend a canal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrishDownUnder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas6192013, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much in taking the time in sharing your experiences with us. thank you for the compliments.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

The hotel room was not flash, but Amsterdam is jumping, and we joined them, the atmosphere is electric. Our room was next to an exit door and there was constant banging of this door, the staff are not that welcoming, not sure if smiles were extra. Would not stay there again, however maybe a different room as the hotel is in an excellent position; Rembrandt square and transport. We didn't partake in the coffee shops and all cafes and restaurants were very accommodating- excellent food and service, a great place to explore but from another hotel.

Room Tip: There are other hotels
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maree W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas6192013, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us. We are happy to read that you had a great stay in our city! The comments about our staff have been forwarded to the team.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back as our guest in the future.

With regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#110 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
#181 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#149 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Carlton Amsterdam
NH Carlton Amsterdam
#238 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,312 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam

Property: Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Address: Amstel 144, 1017 AE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #203 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eden Hotel Amsterdam – Hampshire Eden is in a unique location. Right on the Amstel and with an abundance of hot spots within easy reach: Rembrandtplein, the Stopera, Waterlooplein, De Kleine Komedie and Theater Carre. Various museums are close by including Rembrandthuis Museum and Foam photography museum. The area is also teaming with options for dining out as well as fantastic shopping streets, such as Kalverstraat and Leidsestraat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Lastminute, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Eden Hotel
Eden Hotel Amsterdam
Best Western Eden Hotel
Best Western Amsterdam
Best Western Eden Amsterdam
Best Western Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing