We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base to explore”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Ranked #207 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great base to explore”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Stayed here for one night but could have stayed longer! The bed was one of the most comfortable Ive ever slept in in a hotel. The room was nice and spacious, and despite being clean, looked slightly run down, a few marks on walls etc but nothing major.The room was very comfortable and the bathroom was great- bath and shower. Hotel is located in a lovely street on one of the many rivers. Our room did not have a view, but this was no problem as we were only there to sleep! Room was very quiet, no noise at all. Concierge was very helpful and efficient. Hotel is about 10/15 minutes walk from the central station with is great. You can get a train from the airport to central station, and with the short walk to the hotel - its very easy to access the hotel. Over all, a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear guest,

We are happy to read that you had a great stay with us! We are delighted to read your comments; particularly your thoughts on the service you received throughout the entire stay. Our team is always at your service to assist you with any future requests.
Besides, we value your comments regarding the comfort and cleanliness of the room, which is very important to us.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,750 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    472
    1,084
    706
    295
    193
See reviews for
261
1,273
174
288
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Premier room was good - basic and clean. Minuses were the furniture was arranged strangely with a cumbersome desk in the middle of the room that was attached to the floor so it couldn't be moved. Another minus was there was no refrigerator. On the positive side was the fantastic canal views. This feature was enough for us to be happy to stay again.

Room Tip: Desk in a strange, obtrusive position that couldn't be moved. Could do with a refrigerator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampshire Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank oViMao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us. We are happy to read that you had a nice stay with us! We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back as our guest in the future.

With regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Firstly it has to be said that the location was ideal!!! So close to the tram stops and the different attractions including Rembrandt square and the Ice Bar. However When we arrived our room wasn't ready and we had to wait nearly a hour to check in...we didn't realise that there was an additional city tax charge on the booking too and we were on a tight budget so this threw us a little. The room itself was clean and basic but so so small!!!! You couldn't freely walk around the bed!! The staff were polite but the star had to be the guy on the concierge desk...he was so polite, friendly and really accommodating. I don't know if I would stay here again as you have no comfort in the room so maybe for a one or two night stay it would be ok but defo no more!!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traleeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us.
The comments have been forwarded to the team and it would be a great pleasure to welcome you back as our guest!

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This was the hotel chosen by our tour, stayed for 3nights, average size and clean rooms, ok staff, good restaurant, very nice location in amsterdam, good price if booked online, not with the tour operator

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for writing a review on Tripadvisor. We look forward to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I had a really pleasant two night stay at the Eden Hotel.

I was here for a business trip and so the location of the hotel was not that important for me. But for those who care its right beside Rembrandt Square and about 15 minutes walk to Dam Square.

The unassuming canal-side entrance to the hotel belies a vast welcoming lobby and a labyrinth of rooms. I was delighted when I was able to check in early - the single room was small but very tastefully designed and laid out. The bedside lamp didn't work - a small issue and one that I am sure could have been easily resolved.

I found the concierge at the front desk to be extremely helpful in organising taxis etc and he always had a cheerful hello and smile when I entered the hotel. Amsterdam is such a wonderful city and having such a pleasant and relaxing hotel to return to at the end of the day is a real luxury. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us. We are happy to read that you had a great stay with us! We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back as our guest in the future.

With regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with the wife after booking online. Granted the location is not too bad. 5-10 min walk up to the centre of Amsterdam but the room was terrible. To begin it was probably the smallest hotel room I've been in. The walls were dirty as were the windows and a couple of the sockets were not working in the room. We were told when booking they had car parking, as we drove from the Uk, but when we got there it turns out they only have 4 car park spaces in a hotel with over 200 rooms so no chance of a space. They did provide me with an alternative which was to park around the corner which costs €50 a day. I found the staff to be a little dour and miserable as well. All in all I'd say that if your looking for a place to rest your head then by all means give it a go but if like me you value service and standards then I would not recommend this place.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments about the condition of the room.
We still work to improve our level of quality for the future.
The comments have been forwarded to the team.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Location is the best as far by only 2 mins walking from the Rembrandt square, 10 mins walking from Dam square and 15-20 mins walking from Amsterdam central station. Rooms are so convenient with cosy and clean renovated bathroom and shower but the con is the small double bed. We did not have the chance to be accommodated in a room with a canal view however our room was satisfactory, we asked for a baby/child cot when booking through the internet and indeed our request was covered. The concierge was quite friendly and helpful. The front desk staff were also decent and speedy. The hotel has a comfortable and a simple up to date style and interiors which was also nice. I highly recommend this hotel for couples and groups as it gives a high Value for Money and is so much reasonable and fitting to a leisure trip in Amsterdam.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AlySotouhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us.
The comments have been forwarded to the team and it would be a great pleasure to welcome you back as our guest!

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#150 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,509 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#126 of 368 in Amsterdam
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
#185 of 368 in Amsterdam
355 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Carlton Amsterdam
NH Carlton Amsterdam
#239 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam

Property: Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Address: Amstel 144, 1017 AE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #207 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eden Hotel Amsterdam – Hampshire Eden is in a unique location. Right on the Amstel and with an abundance of hot spots within easy reach: Rembrandtplein, the Stopera, Waterlooplein, De Kleine Komedie and Theater Carre. Various museums are close by including Rembrandthuis Museum and Foam photography museum. The area is also teaming with options for dining out as well as fantastic shopping streets, such as Kalverstraat and Leidsestraat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Eden Hotel
Eden Hotel Amsterdam
Best Western Eden Hotel
Best Western Amsterdam
Best Western Eden Amsterdam
Best Western Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing