We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sorely needs maintenance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Ranked #191 of 369 Hotels in Amsterdam
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“sorely needs maintenance”
Reviewed 7 November 2010

-no working "down" button on any lift; glass door on bathroom does not provide privacy and doesn't latch; "double" rooms too small for 2 people with luggage; if taking bath one must stand up to get soap out of squeeze container; there is NO bar soap or ANY hand soap; rowdy neighborhood with no police presence; great view of canal, tho.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Babs077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,827 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    494
    1,115
    722
    301
    195
See reviews for
271
1,305
180
297
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Riyadh
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2010

The hotel's location is great. Some shortcomings such as the slow lift that goes up to the fifth floor, where my room was, but for some reason you can't call it from there and you have to go one floor down. I stayed for 6 nights and I enjoyed the hotel for its modern yet simple design. The facelift the hotel has undergone didn't unfortunately include new hallways & a lift. It's always full of people checking in and checking out so the hotel's popularity is undoubted. Clean, refurbished rooms & tidy toilets but book in advance for a great deal. Don't bother watching TV though, unless if you like watching news reruns every 5 minutes, or can understand Deutch. Yosuf at the conceirge is great and knows his business well.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OzzyKSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 October 2010

We had just stayed in 4 star hotels before coming to this hotel. There was a clear difference between the 4 star hotels and this 3 star hotel. The walls had some scuffs and the shower floor was damaged but it still seemed fairly clean. The room was very small. On the plus side, they did have free internet, comfy beds and a decent location. Rembrandt square is very close by and has cute cafes and a few nightclubs. It is also right on the canal which was very pretty to walk along.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canadian_Girl1114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2010

I stayed here for two nights in October for a weekend with 3 girlfriends. The hotel was really good for our needs. Breakfast was included in the price & I'm sure if we got up earlier we'd have benefited from the smoked salmon that had been on offer. The staff in the restaurant were young & busy. The concierge was superbly professional & helpful with taxi to airport at a good price 40euros. It was a good location for us to get to bars & restaurants.
Best thing about the room was the bed, wow it was amazing best hotel bed ever!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antibes, France
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2010

Some rooms are very close to a night club in the same street, and the noise during the night was really terrible. Next time I will choose another hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jardon187217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2010

Having read the reviews of this hotel and others in Amsterdam, no where seemed to come off well (or at least, certainly not those within our budget!) I don't know whether we were just lucky, but our experience of this hotel was nothing like the complaints we had read.

We were in Amsterdam for the Marathon and stayed a couple days after to do the 'tourist thing' too. Location was perfect - very pretty on the canal and so close to tram and metro links - plus you could walk places very easily.

Lobby area and bar very modern and staff friendly on check-in / out and any time we asked questions of them. Excellent English - par for the course in Holland. I had requested a quiet room and we were given a room on the 5th floor (top), which was certainly quiet. Lovely room - clean, spacious (again, were we just lucky as people seem to complain the rooms are too small??) and lovely modern bathroom (great hairdryer too!). Because we were 5th floor, we looked out over the wall people have complained about. Comfortable bed and TV gave us some English news channels & dutch radio - as we weren't planning on spending much time in our room, TV was not a priority for us!

Breakfast was not included in our booking and we were however shocked at the 19.50euro price of this!! We decided to eat elsewhere. On marathon morning however, the restaurant staff were very kind to us - we had brought our own porridge and they made this up for us - no charge - which I thought was very good of them (I got charged for this in London - hence the suprise!)

I've stayed off Dam Sq before and that put me right off Amsterdam. This location out at Waterlooplein was far superior - less dirty / seedy area, and Rembrantplein just behind hotel for cafes, food, bars etc. At the price we paid (£370 for 2people / 3nights + flights) this hotel is not to be scoffed at and we would definately recommend (especially for future marathon runners).

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dizzyelmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2010

I tried to book at the Eden Hotel near the Rijksmuseum, but apparently when you click to the booking site it books you to whatever group property that has space. So I found myself at this inferior property. I agreed to have the breakfast added to my room charge with the promise that if it wasn't what I wanted I could cancel subsequent days. Finding that there was little to no fruit, and not much that I wanted to eat, I tried to cancel after the first day only to be told that it was non-refundable. I explained that the woman who sold it to me had told me it was cancelable and that I agreed to the breakfast with that stipulation - but the desk clerk was unwilling to budge and said that the 15 euro charge per day is non-refundable. This hotel is in a poor location with poor service DO NOT STAY HERE.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KBrownColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#124 of 369 in Amsterdam
970 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#151 of 369 in Amsterdam
1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
#187 of 369 in Amsterdam
361 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Royal Amsterdam Hotel-Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam

Property: Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Address: Amstel 144, 1017 AE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #191 of 369 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eden Hotel Amsterdam – Hampshire Eden is in a unique location. Right on the Amstel and with an abundance of hot spots within easy reach: Rembrandtplein, the Stopera, Waterlooplein, De Kleine Komedie and Theater Carre. Various museums are close by including Rembrandthuis Museum and Foam photography museum. The area is also teaming with options for dining out as well as fantastic shopping streets, such as Kalverstraat and Leidsestraat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Eden Hotel
Eden Hotel Amsterdam
Best Western Eden Hotel
Best Western Amsterdam
Best Western Eden Amsterdam
Best Western Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing