We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value and location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Ranked #205 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent value and location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2011

This is a great value 4* hotel in a superb, central location in Amsterdam. No more than 20 - 30 mins max walk from any of main attractions and Central Station (trams will be quicker of course). This time I stayed in single room which is down a couple of corridors but no big deal unless you're really pedantic and looking for something to moan about. Bedroom is fine and enough room. Decent size telly and shower cubicle (I'm 6'4"). Two main exit points - one overlooking lovely canal - great views, the other virtually on vibrant Rembrandt Square. If you arrive well before check-in you can always leave bags in secure luggage room and same on check-out day if you don't want to lug them about. Concierge service always very courteous and obliging. Can't comment on bars or restaurant as I've never tried them.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank no1urbanwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,667 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    459
    1,050
    683
    286
    189
See reviews for
251
1,239
167
280
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
sussex
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2011

well i have to say that i read some reviews before i booked this hotel and thought that i would be put off but i am glad that i did book and can say that the hotel was in the heart of the city right on the canel the 2 rooms we booked where very clean tea and coffee in the rooms the staff where very helpfull the breakfast was great the local bars and resturants where very helpfull also clean food was first class we went on the dinner cruise which is 4 courses and all beers wines soft drinks where in the price a great way to tour the canels at nite in all a very good three days at the eden hotel and would not have a problem in staying here again later this year

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dafmanSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2011

Recently stayed for a few nights, nice hotel with pleasant staff and a helpful concierge. We stayed in a standard room with a queen bed, the room was small but nicely decorated, very simple. I think with regards to noice levels, it would depend what room you are in, but our room overlooked a bar, so at the weekend it could be a bit noisy, but not overly so. It is situated just around from Rembrant square, where there are many cafes and restaurants at which to eat, as well as access to several trams into the Dam Square and beyond. Overall a nice, basic hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank martinchisholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2011

Very impressed with this 3 star hotel. Nicely backlit (with tulips) beds with the best mattresses and linen I've had in a while. It was a daily struggle to go sightseeing!
Staff very professional but also casual and friendly. I would definitely stay here again if only for the comfy beds!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank idyllfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2011

My boyfriend and I were very disappointed with this hotel, especially as we had booked after looking at reviews on this website. When checking in we were offered an 'upgrade' to an appartment which we took-I suggest that you do not do this! I think that the rooms in the main hotel are newer. The appartment (although very spacious and looking out over a canal) was falling apart- the kitchen tap fell off, the toilet door handle was falling off, one of the lamps in the room had had its cord cut in half, there were rips in the lounge, the light over the kitchen table didn't work, there was no soap in the bathroom when we arrived, and I found hair and old contact lenses in the shower and in the bathroom basin!! We told staff about this, and in fairness we were given soap straight away and the next day the bathroom was properly cleaned. We were also offered a room change. Although the kitchen tap was fixed, the light over the table was never fixed.

On a more positive note the hotel is in an excellent location, very close to the train/tram line and very close to a few nice restaurants/pubs. There is also free internet.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SJF89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Dubai
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2011

Great location just 10 minutes away from anything.
Only stayed 1 night with my partner. Took the basic room which was well appointed but small.
Staff ok... some very cheering and helpful some could do with a smile on their face...
Concierge desk great!! Very knowledgeable, helpful and friendly. In 5 minutes he come up with good tips and explanations... a good mix of attractions and things to see / visit and less touristy stuff complemented with personal recommendations!
Recommendable and to go back to... but will book a bigger room next time!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JinDXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2011

How do I even begin to describe how terrible my experience at this hotel was?! Stayed three nights at the Eden Hotel with several other colleagues when we travelled to Amsterdam for a big industry event. I was among the lucky few that managed to get a double room but for those with a single room, there was barely enough space to stretch your arms out, let alone have a suitcase in there. The single rooms are TINY!
My room was at the end of a dark, dingy corridor and I was greeted with a sickening stench emanating from the open drain in the bathroom. Since there was no air freshener, I had to use my deodorant spray to mask the smell! The shower was really dirty and water did not drain well, so I was left showering with soapy water reaching up to my ankles. Further, the shower gel dispensers were not fitted properly and kept falling off. The carpet in the room also seemed very dirty despite its dark brown colour. A colleague even found pieces of broken glass on the floor in his room, which goes to show that cleanliness is not a priority here.
A few other incidents that I have to mention:
- Customer service is terrible. I had couriered a large number of corporate materials from the UK for use at the trade fair and phoned the hotel ahead to ask them to hold it for me. Reception insisted they had never received the parcel. This was despite the parcel being clearly marked with my name and me having a delivery confirmation from the couriers! This meant that I was unable to take any corporate brochures to the trade fair and was in no position to have another delivery sent from the UK at such a late stage, which was a big issue for us. I asked several people at the hotel and the concierge was not in the least bit interested in helping me out - even walking off at one point, never to be seen again, while I was using his desk phone to speak to the couriers. Finally on the second day after more persuasion, a different concierge said that the parcel had been sitting in the luggage room for several days!
- A colleague phoned Reception to book a taxi and the call was promptly forwarded to the concierge's mobile phone. On check out, believe it or not, he was charged for that phone call!
Also, forget about taking the lift because it barely works and a very basic breakfast is 19 Euros! The positives: WiFi terminals in the lounge and the hotel is centrally located close to Rembrandt Square and several tram lines. We would have definitely changed hotels if we had the choice but due to the big trade fair taking place in Amsterdam, hotel rooms for large delegations were scarce. The state of this place is such a shame because the hotel can really do well with its competitive rates and prime location. Major improvements required!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DRinlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#105 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
#181 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#151 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,442 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Carlton Amsterdam
NH Carlton Amsterdam
#238 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,276 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam

Property: Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Address: Amstel 144, 1017 AE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #205 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eden Hotel Amsterdam – Hampshire Eden is in a unique location. Right on the Amstel and with an abundance of hot spots within easy reach: Rembrandtplein, the Stopera, Waterlooplein, De Kleine Komedie and Theater Carre. Various museums are close by including Rembrandthuis Museum and Foam photography museum. The area is also teaming with options for dining out as well as fantastic shopping streets, such as Kalverstraat and Leidsestraat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Ebookers, HotelsNL and HRS so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Eden Hotel
Eden Hotel Amsterdam
Best Western Eden Hotel
Best Western Amsterdam
Best Western Eden Amsterdam
Best Western Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing