We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't stay here if you value your sense of smell”
Review of Hotel Damrak

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Damrak
Ranked #291 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 22 September 2009

We stayed in a room for 8 (room 21) and the smell of urine from the bathroom was unbearable. Good location which came in handy considering we couldn't bear to be in the room for longer than 10 minutes without wanting to heave! Pricey too considering its a dump.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steph_jean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2009

Subject: Amsterdam
Location: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, The Netherlands, Europe
Title: Never, ever, again!
ID#: 38056587

I actually read reviews for this hotel on TripAdvisor before I stayed at this hotel with my teen son that a travel agent booked for us. The agent assured me that reviews online should always be taken with a grain of salt. At that point, I should have relied on my gut and TripAdvisor.

This place is a tourist trap, and they prey on those who don't know any better. The front desk was a table in the back of an Argentine restaurant, and you have to lug your luggage through tables and chairs.

The room had no sheets on the bed, no outlets in the room or bath, mold, broken furniture, and worn carpeting. I asked for a new room after telling the front desk I was in Amsterdam with my teen son and not for sex or drugs. It seemed it was assumed those were the only things one would need a room here for. Power in the room wouldn't work if I took my room key, so my son couldn't watch TV or read if I went to get a cup of coffee.

I asked for a new room, and the second one was only slightly better because it didn't have any carpet at all. I felt so guilty bringing my son here, we left after two nights and I spoke with the manager about getting my money back for the next two nights. I filled in a ton of forms for the owner who was not on site, and the manager said his hands were tied. After I realized I was probably going to get charged for all four nights, I did let them know I would write an honest review here, but if I got the refund, I wouldn't be so brutally honest. I walked down the road to the classier Swiss Hotel and got a rate that was LESS than at the dumpy hotel. I was also greeted by uniformed guest service reps in an air-conditioned lobby. It was an awful way to start our vacation, and it's a terrible example of Dutch hospitality.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dano535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2009

Avoid this hotel! Almost everything was broken in the room, stuff (who knows what on the wall), and a twin room with only one pillow!

  • Stayed: March 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ohiohungarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2009

The service we had at this hotel was shockingly bed, the man on the reception desk was incredibly rude when we were trying to sort out a booking problem and insisted on continually pointing in my face. The triple room was small and was in a very poor state of repair.

This hotel is in a very good location but this in no way makes up for the terrible customer service (it was so bad my friends and I prefered to pay for breakfast nest door rather than have the breakfast included in the room rate) or poor room. There was no airconditioning which meant we were left with the choice of being boiling hot or leaving the window open and allowing the midgies in to bite us during the night.

I have emailed the owner to complain about the service I received and haev had no response after 3 weeks. To make matters even worse (as if it was possible) I posted feedback on the website I booked this hotel trhough (easytobook.com) but my comments have not beed posted and the marks awarded start at 5 so when you think you are awarding the lowest possible score you are actually awarding 5 out of ten, misleading to say the least.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amoks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2009

Location is central, but everything about this hotel was awful. The room was dirty, bedding was dingy and smelled uwashed, comforters had cigarette burn marks and you're provided w/ stained towels that had once been white. We were afraid we'd leave carrying bedbugs and a rush. Forget room service, internet, alarm clock or even phone, and the A/C made plenty of noise but failed to cool our room. Also, be careful w/ your valuables, as we left carrying less items then we came with.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NBJ_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2009

Location is excellent - a few mins from the central station. And the restaurant is good, had steak, very tasty. This hotel suits mosty a group of friends - I went for a friends birthday with a gang of girls. We had a number of rooms, with 3 beds in ours, however we did have an extra guest on the last night. When we complained about the mouse, we were told by the fella on reception that Amsterdam is an old city and we should expect it. We did only pay £92 for return flight to Liverpool and 2 nights bed and brekkie.

  • Stayed: February 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DawnieDo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2009

stayed for a few days only and were initially shown a relatively clean room which we stayed in for the night. We were then moved to another room which was revolting. A big fake wooden head board thing housed thousands of bugs that wait for you to go to bed before feasting on your blood. Heavily blood stained mattress and sheet, and dirty fresh blood stains on towels. Complained but the manager had mysteriously vanished and was not due back for some days. All staff very reluctant to visit our room. We caught in excess of 50 bedbugs in a plastic bag as the reception staff adamantly denied that there were bedbugs in the room.
It was not until we began to show other guests our little biting roomates and they began to leave that we were offered any money back, by this time it was 4 am and we had been sitting downstairs, with no where to go all night All we got was a refund for that night spent arguing and catching bedbugs for evidence, and with no where to go.... No offer of a good will gesture or even an apology, ...Shame on you Damn Damrak

  • Stayed: May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzie-sioux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#118 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,226 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Multatuli
Hotel Multatuli
#241 of 372 in Amsterdam
521 reviews
Centrum
Best Western Dam Square Inn
Best Western Dam Square Inn
#139 of 372 in Amsterdam
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#62 of 372 in Amsterdam
677 reviews
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Damrak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Damrak

Address: Damrak 49, 1012 LL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #291 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £58 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Damrak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Damrak Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing