We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT FIT FOR THE DOGG!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Delta Hotel Amsterdam City Centre
Ranked #335 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“NOT FIT FOR THE DOGG!”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Probably the worst hotel I've stayed at in the Netherlands. The location was the reason I booked this hotel, & I thought it was a 3 star, more like 3 out of 10. My room & bathroom was really small & clearly hadn't been cleaned very well. Just wish I'd read other reviews before booking. Wouldn't even book the Dogg here!!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ajax95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    130
    200
    126
    255
See reviews for
79
206
52
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

We recently visited amsterdam for 4 days and wanted a cheap, close to the hub place to stay with a good breakfast. We stayed here previously and were satisfied so we booked again.
I understand the negative comments on here from families, but you got to realize, u get what you pay for.
The hotel is smack on the main tourist road, has easy access to central station, has its own bathroom, clean sheets and heating. The breackfast was poorer than last time but all in all it was a great stay. The staff are also real helpful with whatever you need.

Helpful?
1 Thank simone_sdc
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

The best thing about this hotel is the location (and their cat if you are a cat lover). Where is it? Its literally about a 3 min walk down the Dam from Amsterdam Centraal train station. Being on the Dam also makes it very central to getting around Amsterdam with tram stops in all directions within 5 mins walk.

The staff: I found the 2 of the 3 staff members amazing, helpful and pleasant. Sadly the 3rd staff member I dealt with was always rude and upset that I was interrupting her constant chatting with a friend with my room issues. I think she wouldnt have bothered to be half as helpful/do her job had I have not been so persistent...

The room: it was a single, clean and nice enough. It didnt have a window or any form of air circulation, I did ask for a fan and eventually got one that worked and that literally made all the difference in my stay! I returned the fan at the end of my stay but really the room could have done with a fan permanently in the room! I had a nice telly that a varity of all channels, english, dutch, german, french... The bathroom was quaint and did the job. I believe that 2 of my sockets didnt work but the others did, so it wasnt the end of the world. The bed was really quite comfy, which is always a bonus!

The wifi: what wifi is probably a better question! I tried well over 5 times to log on and had no luck finding the actual connection let alone logging on! I was told it only worked in the 'common area' but couldnt even get it there... Luckily there are enough places you can get it free in Amsterdam that it didnt make that much of a difference but I suppose if I had had a quiet evening in and wanted to catch up with others it would have been a different story...

Breakfast: yeah, its a very basic continental brekky, 2 cerals, bread with spreads, 2 types of cold meats, cheese, yougurt.... I think if I had stayed there more than 4 nights I would have started looking else where but its enough to get you going in the morning.

The hotel does have basic rules, such as no food in your rooms, which isnt a problem as they have a large enough common area for you to eat in with tables provided and quite frankly without the ventilation in my room, I wouldnt have wanted anything with a smell in it either! Also they request that you leave your key with reception when you come and go, which is quite common within Europe and I think a great idea, one less thing to lose/worry about when youre out and about sight seeing! They also offer a luggage room for you to store your luggage on your last day if you have a late flight(please note this is not a facility to new guests who are awaiting check-in). They also have a smallish elevator to save you lugging your luggage up the stairs, which is always a win!

The cat, I am a crazy cat lady, so for me the ultimate highlight was the cat!!! Its very friendly and will quite happily be loved on all day long should you find you have run out of sights to see. I ended up leaving it a comb and treats!

Overall I had a good stay, despite the 1 rude member of staff it was fine. Youre not paying for 5 star facilites, so you cant expect them and then be disappointed when you dont get them.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emme C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Recently stayed at the Delta. No hot water throughout the stay. Repeatedly complained. Was told various stories ranging from, 'we'll turn it on' to 'the boiler's broken'. Also complained post-stay but after four attempts to get an explanation have given up. It's clear the management don't care about customer service and seem to be on a cost-saving exercise. Not what you'd expect from a so-called 3* hotel. My advice is go elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MartinC405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Halifax, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

The worst place my family and I have ever stayed at. it is filthy beyond description. Horrible shower, stained carpet and horrible breakfast. Do not stay there at any cost.........................................................................

Room Tip: Disgausting, horrible and filthy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank navcomm299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
1 review
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Loved our stay at the Delta we have stayed there many times before and cannot fault the hotel in any way. We will definately be staying there again and again. We cannot wait to re-book and stay there again.




  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#115 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,202 reviews
Centrum
Avenue Hotel
Avenue Hotel
#174 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,519 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Centre
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Centre
#294 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
#163 of 368 in Amsterdam
929 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#69 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,035 reviews
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Hotel Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Hotel Amsterdam City Centre

Property: Delta Hotel Amsterdam City Centre
Address: Damrak 42/43, 1012 LK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #335 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Delta Hotel Amsterdam City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Delta Hotel Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Delta Hotel
Delta Hotel Amsterdam
Delta Amsterdam
Delta Hotels Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing