We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really liked our stay there”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ranked #147 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Really liked our stay there”
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Brilliant 3* hotel. Stayed at the ibis beforehand in Strasbourg which was nowhere near as good and much more expensive.

Although the room was small, it was clean and comfortable. Train was slightly annoying.

Loved it! Did the job perfectly for 2 nights.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pevans183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear pevans183,

Thank you for choosing Ibis Amsterdam Centre.

Im happy to hear you loved your stay with us!

Hopefully we can welcome you again in the future.

Best regards,

Dennis Rullens
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,840 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,038
    2,394
    1,038
    223
    147
See reviews for
765
1,944
354
565
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (560)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

I used this hotel with a few mates when we went over to Amsterdam for the weekend due to it's location and price. I was surprised about how friendly and how clean the staff and hotel were. If I return to Amsterdam I will use this hotel again as this was also very close to the centre!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SRRomeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear SRRomeo,

Thank you for choosing Ibis Amsterdam Centre for your weekend break.

It's good to hear our staff were able to surprise you :-). During your next visit, they will be just as friendly and the hotel will still be spotlessly clean!

Hopefully we can welcome you again in the near future.

Best regards,
Dennis Rullens
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Choose this hotel for a 3 day city break...main criteria being cost and location. having read some of the reports here ,i went for rooms on the 7 th floor ,overlooking the water. no problems with noise from the station and the view pleasant. To be be higher than the 5th does require you to take 2 lifts each time...however they came quickly and if i went back i would still choose the higher floors.
The rooms were small and basic furniture. On the plus ,the bed was really comfortable and the shower (no bath) was also very good. Internet was free and efficient.
We did not book with breakfast...firstly i think it was typically expensive and secondly we found it more fun to go out and choose interesting cafes.
Staff were excellent...both reception and chambermaids. Bar was ok...but lacked character. Did not eat there....why would you ??
Location was ...perfect. Some 15 mins from the airport..door to door via train. A stroll into the the very heart of the city.
There are many accommodation choices in this city...if you are on a bit of a budget and want good location,i dont think this will disappoint.

Room Tip: my choice...go high and at back
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorsetman_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Dorsetman_10,

Thank you very much for your extensive review and recommendation on Tripadvisor!

I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Especially your comments regarding our staff are very nice.

We're looking forward to welcoming you again in the future!

Best regards,

Dennis Rullens
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

I had an overnight layover in Amsterdam, and this hotel's location next to the train station was very convenient (15 minute train ride from Schiphol). My room was clean and comfortable, but lacked some common amenities like facial tissues, coffee maker, soaps, shampoo, lotion. They did have shower gel, that was fine. One very nice surprise was free WiFi that was fast enough for Skype!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Joseph B,

Thank you for choosing Ibis Amsterdam Centre.

I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that the WiFi enabled you to make a skype call!

For your next visit to Ibis, please be informed that our shower gel is a shampoo at the same time. In our hotel in particular, a water kettle can be borrowed at the reception.

Hopefully we can welcome you again in the future!

Best regards,

Dennis Rullens
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
257 reviews
184 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We had 3 nights at this hotel in Amsterdam. As everyone says, the location is second to none, right next to Centraal Station.

A pleasant greeting at reception (all staff were pleasant and welcoming), and we were given keys to a standard room - 503 - which was the twin we asked for. We also asked for a kettle in the room to make morning coffee, and this was no problem.

The room, which was very small, had a rather odd layout with the beds at right-angles to one another, rather than side by side. With the wooden floor and cramped style, this gave the impression of a prison cell! On the plus side, it was spotlessly clean, the beds, although narrow were quite comfortable, with good quality linen. Bathroom was not a bad size with a big shower, but thin towels and toiletries from dispensers, which added to the prison feel of it all.

One of the bedside lights wasn't working, and we reported it and it was repaired first thing the following morning.

We were on the side that faces the city, so heard no noise at all from the station. We could hear people in the corridor at night, but in general, the hotel was pretty quiet.

Although we didn't like this particular room, we would return and try a larger room as the location, friendly staff etc, make this a good budget option for Amsterdam.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkspuds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear yorkspuds,

Thank you very much for your extensive review on Tripadvisor.

I'm happy to hear you were satisfied with our hotel and its location.

Room 503 has indeed got a somewhat different layout compared to most twin rooms; you're more than welcome to try out one of the other rooms during your next visit to see if they fit your need better.

You also pointed out some points of improvenent which we will certainly look into.

We're looking forward to welcoming you again in the future!

Best regards,

Dennis Rullens
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights on the 9th floor. The hotel is situated at Central station so it is in an excellent location. Get the train from the airport for about 6 euro and walk about 200 yards to the hotel . Reception staff are lovely and efficient. The rooms are clean and tidy and the bed was very comfortable. Others here have mentioned the bathroom is small, it is, but it has everything you need, good shower with plenty of hot water. There is triple glazing, so sound is not an issue, you may hear the trains occassionally but it is not at all intrusive. You can catch a tram to all the attractions Amsterdam has to offer form about 100 yards infront of the hotel.
This hotel is excellent for a city visit..highly recommended.

Room Tip: the 9th floor is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wooger13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear wooger13,

Thank you very much for your review and recommendation on Tripadvisor.

I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you experienced our staff to be lovely and efficient. It's always nice to receive such positive feedback!

Hopefully we can welcome you again in the future.

Best regards,

Dennis Rullens
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Plantage & the East
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
#124 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,683 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#110 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Amsterdam Centre

Property: Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Address: Stationsplein 49, 1012 AB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#91 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#110 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Amsterdam Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paul van Ommen, the manager of the ibis Amsterdam Centre hotel, would like to give you a very warm welcome.At the ibis Amsterdam Centre, you are in the middle of the action. The city centre is at your doorstep. Within walking distance you will find the famous dam square, the red light district, historical canals and hundreds of bars and restaurants. Right in front of the hotel there are trains, metros, buses, canalbuses and trams to take you to museums, the airport (15min), the Rai convention centre and the Anne Frank house.The hotel offers 363 modern, convenient rooms equipped with all the necessary facilities such as a hairdryer, tv, Free WiFi, glass fibre internet, safe and phone (a water kettle can be borrowed at the reception desk).Feeling hungry? Breakfast is served daily from 6am to noon; our restaurant is open until 10:30pm and a variety of snacks and sandwiches are available 24/7. After a long day of exploring the beautiful city, you can relax and enjoy a hot or cold beverage in our stylish bar, while having a view on hundreds of bicycles. Our friendly employees welcome you until 1am.We’ll see you soon at the ibis Amsterdam Centre! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , ACCOR, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing