We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in ideal location ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ranked #145 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Not sure what more you could want, perfect location and nice rooms with comfy beds, they are a bit small buy I don't see why you would need more room. Friendly staff and room prices were very reasonable.

Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,341)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,911 - 1,917 of 5,341 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2014

I have to say there are some moaners on this website! This hotel is right in the centre, hotels are expensive and for the price this Ibis charges, you're not going to get a huge room with lots of frills! Get real folks.

We were in A'dam for a long weekend. Price was €230 for the three nights which was very good (we booked some time in advance, when Accor were having a sale). We were travelling by train from the UK so the hotel's position right bang by the station was another reason why we chose it. And anyway we like Ibis hotels.

I'd asked for a room at the front (even though I like trains) and lower down so we didn't have to change lifts (thanks TA). Reception had already noted this when we checked in. The room - as you'd expect with Ibis - was tidy, clean & all in order. But I do agree the rooms are very small! Probably one of the smallest I've stayed in & certainly the smallest bathroom. But for three nights it's fine. Only two problems -

a) the shower was not very powerful (surprising as we were on the 1st floor) and
b) the TV is so high up on the wall that, unless you stand on the bed to watch it, the colours are all distorted.

But at least they had BBC and anyway we didn't come to watch TV.

Sound insulation was very good, didn't hear traffic noise at all. There was a safe in the room which is always appreciated.

Breakfast is a rather pricey €16, as with most Ibis hotels, so we had breakfast out (there's a smashing luxurious cafe on Platform 2 in the station, a restored 1st class waiting room/restaurant/pub, €9.50 for breakfast + there are two McDonalds close by (I am quite partial to a McMuffin on holiday which + a good coffee was only €3)).

Staff in the hotel are extremely helpful & friendly. And very good beds.

Trams are very close by and, being the terminus, cover most parts of the city.

Definitely recommended, at least for a short stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Voigt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Dear Voigt,

Thank you very much for your extensive review and recommendation on Tripadvisor.

I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's especially good to hear you experienced our staff to be extremely helpful & friendly and that you liked our ibis Sweet Bed!

You also pointed out some technical issues, which I will have our maintenance department look into. Normally the waterpressure is sufficient on all floors. Maybe there was something wrong with the showerhead which we could have fixed at the spot.
The tv is indeed high op on the wall, but all tv's should be tilted, so the view is good from the bed or a chair. We will check the position of the tv to make sure it's tilted correctly.

Should you run into problems during your stay you're always invited to contact our front office staff. They will more than happy to assist you with any issue!

Thank you again for your valuable feedback. It is my hope we can welcome you again in the future!

Best regards,

Dennis Rullens
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
2  Thank mipozrom
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 6 February 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
2  Thank dougpompey
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 February 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Artlover123456
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 February 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Malcolm S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We have been here from 31st January until 2nd of February 2014. As going to Amsterdam we prefer to choose a good brand of hotels, as we had from Ibis.

The location is very good, just aside the central station and at the center of the major city attractions, the staff is very well trained, they are willing to help and assist at any time and the breakfast was quite good.
It is just in front of this gigantic bike park and just close to the place were they do the canal cruises, is very easily accessible by any public transportation.

Nevertheless there is a bad side to it, the rooms are small and the bathroom is INCREDIBLY small, there is NO TOILET BRUSH, which I think is a incredible lack of hygiene.
When we got to the room, the heater was very weak and we had a vent trowing cold air constantly, the room was at 18ºC, we call for assist and a lady from the reception bring duck tape (!!!) to cover the vent and a portable heater to the room, which was nice, but not the way to handle these situation.
Not only that we could't take a shower properly, the water changes from super hot to super cold instantly, this was very uncomfortable.
The room has never been properly clean, we know that Ibis is usually cheaper than other hotels, but this was at a Hostel level...

In Sum, the location is good, the service also, but the rooms and quality are very poor for its price.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ricardo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear Ricardo C,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor.

I'm happy to hear you appreciated our central location and the assistance of our staff.

The size of the rooms and bathrooms is something we can't change. There's so much to explore right at our doorstep that it would almost be a waste of time to stay in the room! Except for the comfort of our ibis sweet bed of course. I'm sorry to hear you didn't appreciate the absence of a toilet brush. Our housekeeping department cleans the toilets on a daily basis. Should you wish to receive extra service, you can always contact our reception staff.

Thank you for pointing out some technical issues. Regarding the ventilation I'm sorry to hear this wasn't resolved to your satisfaction. We are aware of some problems in a small number of rooms where the ventilation is a bit harder than desirable. Most of the times this goes unnoticed or doesn't cause any disturbance, since we lower the ventilation in the evening so it doesn't interfere with a good nights sleep. In case it is reported earlier in the evening and can't wait until the ventilation turns down, the only way to solve the problem is by covering the vent and this isn't always possible in a more charming way. I am however happy to inform you that we'll be renewing our whole climate control system this year, so all possible problems will be eliminated.

Regarding the water temperature there shouldn't be any problems. I will have our maintenance department look into this immediately to ensure all showers work properly.

Please accept my sincerest apologies for any inconvenience you encountered. I do appreciate your feedback, which is most valuable to us.

It is my hope that we can serve you better in the future.

Best regards,
Dennis Rullens
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
XO Hotels Park West
#66 of 375 in Amsterdam
4,022 reviews
XO Hotels Couture
#44 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,004 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#62 of 375 in Amsterdam
756 reviews
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#34 of 375 in Amsterdam
3,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Amsterdam Centre

Address: Stationsplein 49, 1012 AB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#110 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £85 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Amsterdam Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paul van Ommen, the manager of the ibis Amsterdam Centre hotel, would like to give you a very warm welcome.At the ibis Amsterdam Centre, you are in the middle of the action. The city centre is at your doorstep. Within walking distance you will find the famous dam square, the red light district, historical canals and hundreds of bars and restaurants. Right in front of the hotel there are trains, metros, buses, canalbuses and trams to take you to museums, the airport (15min), the Rai convention centre and the Anne Frank house.The hotel offers 363 modern, convenient rooms equipped with all the necessary facilities such as a hairdryer, tv, Free WiFi, glass fibre internet, safe and phone (a water kettle can be borrowed at the reception desk).Feeling hungry? Breakfast is served daily from 6am to noon; our restaurant is open until 10:30pm and a variety of snacks and sandwiches are available 24/7. After a long day of exploring the beautiful city, you can relax and enjoy a hot or cold beverage in our stylish bar, while having a view on hundreds of bicycles. Our friendly employees welcome you until 1am.We’ll see you soon at the ibis Amsterdam Centre! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing