We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Quality Budget Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ranked #145 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This isn't the type of hotel that we would normally stay, but as most of the higher rated hotels were fully booked we chose the Ibis as the remaining best option. To be honest we were unsure on what to expect we need not have worried. The hotel was clean, the bed was very comfortable, the room was a bit on the small side,but we were very satisfied with the Ibis.
The close proximity to the train station was an added bonus.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Renard06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Renard06,

Thank you for choosing Ibis Amsterdam Centre.

I'm happy to hear you were satisfied with your stay. Please keep in mind you can have the same expectations for every Ibis hotel!

Hopefully we can welcome you again in the future.

Best regards,
Dennis Rullens
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,119)
There are newer reviews for Ibis Amsterdam Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,698 - 1,704 of 5,119 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

My husband and I had an excellent stay at this hotel in April of this year. The staff went above and beyond to welcome us to Amsterdam. The location is ideal, situated close to the train station so was perfect home base for our excursions. Even being close to activity of the train station, we felt secure. The hotel facilities (room and dining room) were pleasant and exceptionally clean. The room is small but this did not detract from our comfort, having expected that prior to checkin (based upon the good price as compared to other Amsterdam hotels). The staff (especially Nadine in the front lobby and Naima in the dining room) were outstanding in helping us book tours and for providing advice about Amsterdam. Breakfast buffet/dining room was extremely pleasant. We definitely would stay here again on a future trip to Amsterdam!

Room Tip: We had a room on the 5th floor (quiet and comfortable). I believe that rooms above a certain level...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathyRuiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear KathyRuiz,

Thank you very much for your kind words on Tripadvisor.

I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. It's especially nice to hear your comments regarding our staff. I will pass your compliments on to them and Nadine and Naima in particular.

We're looking forward to welcoming you again in Amsterdam!

Best regards,
Dennis Rullens
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Excelent location, right beside central train station, so no other transport needed. In or near the station one can find everything that is needed, from fruit, fast food, tourism info office, most tram stops and boat trips, etc...
The hotel rooms and wc are small but not cramped and have all essentials like safe, air conditioning and tv.
Breakfast is very good.
Reception is somewhat caotic at some hours of the day.
Very good in all for centre of town stays.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElisabeteDias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Bill A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We spent 4 nights at the Ibis Centre in Amsterdam and found it to be an ideal base for our city break weekend. Our room on the 7th floor faced across the city and the views were great. The rooms, as always with Ibis, were clean comfortable but compact (especially the shower-room!) The buffet breakfast catered for everyone and was served between 6am and noon - which gave great flexibility. The location was ideal, as the hotel is situated next to the train station, which gave easy access on arrival and departure, but also allowed us to make the most of the tram network as the hub was also based at the train station. Staff were particularly helpful and nothing was too much trouble. All in all an enjoyable and convenient stay.

Room Tip: Request a room on the 7th floor overlooking the city centre
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dexters-on-tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Dexters-on-tour,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor.

I'm happy to hear you enjoyed you stay with us at our unbeattable location.

Hopefully we can welcome you again in the future!

Best regards,
Dennis Rullens
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I posted this review wrongly, under IBIS STYLES Amsterdam originally. This post is the same one but for the correct hotel!

Only stayed in one of these before, a number of years ago in Liverpool and vowed never to do so again.

Was stuck for somewhere to stay on a budget, needing three rooms for me and the kids. Couldn't find an apartment available, Banks Mansion was full and over budget anyway and ended up booking the Ibis at the last minute out of desperation.

Great location for arrival by train, just a 2 minute walk away. A modern, well staffed reception, lifts are fast and the rooms not quite as small as expected. Everything spotless and well designed. You can ask for a water view room overlooking the river and Film Museum and might be lucky.

Breakfast is very average but there's enough of everything to fill you up and it's served 6-12. Very civilised. I wouldn't want to spend weeks here or pretend that it's special in any way but all 4 nights were just fine.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor overlooking the river.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rothesayisexotic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Rothesayisexotic,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on Tripadvisor.

Good to hear we were able to pleasantly surprise you :-). I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us.

Hopefully we can welcome you again in the future!

Best regards,
Dennis Rullens
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stay my last day today in Ibis Central Station , 8th floor . Room is typical for Ibis Hotel which is a nice , affordable chain hotel . Unfortunately , this 8th floor is sitting above the tracks of central station .. Noisy and very warm in the hallway and in the room as well . Air conditioner does not seem to work at all since this is Netherlands , country with cold weather . Temp. Inside the room is uncomfortably 75-80F while outside temp this time of the year (April ) is 55-65F . Talked to reception , not much help except a fan if you like . Window can't be opened due to safety issue ..
Nothing much we can do except endure another night .. Heading back home tomorrow so it's not that bad .. Overall it's not a bad hotel , just don't stay above 5th floor at Ibis Central .

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ongtrang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear ongtrang,

Thank you very much for posting your thoughts on Tripadvisor.

I'm sorry to hear that the temperature in your room wasn't satisfactory. The system used is a change-over system. This is commonly used in hotels worldwide. It means that the system cools when it's warm outside and heats when it's cold outside. Normally this works fine. In some unusual events, the temperature is just in between, which makes it a bit more challenging to find the right temperature in the room. In your specific case, our reception staff should have been able to explain exactly how to do this. I apologize that we didn't succeed in assisting you correctly in this matter. I will take appropriate matters to prevent this from happening in the future.

Thank you again for your feedback, which is most valuable to us. It is my hope that we can better serve you in the future!

Best regards,
Dennis Rullens
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Plantage & the East
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
#115 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#104 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,069 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Amsterdam Centre

Address: Stationsplein 49, 1012 AB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#91 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#110 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £94 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Amsterdam Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paul van Ommen, the manager of the ibis Amsterdam Centre hotel, would like to give you a very warm welcome.At the ibis Amsterdam Centre, you are in the middle of the action. The city centre is at your doorstep. Within walking distance you will find the famous dam square, the red light district, historical canals and hundreds of bars and restaurants. Right in front of the hotel there are trains, metros, buses, canalbuses and trams to take you to museums, the airport (15min), the Rai convention centre and the Anne Frank house.The hotel offers 363 modern, convenient rooms equipped with all the necessary facilities such as a hairdryer, tv, Free WiFi, glass fibre internet, safe and phone (a water kettle can be borrowed at the reception desk).Feeling hungry? Breakfast is served daily from 6am to noon; our restaurant is open until 10:30pm and a variety of snacks and sandwiches are available 24/7. After a long day of exploring the beautiful city, you can relax and enjoy a hot or cold beverage in our stylish bar, while having a view on hundreds of bicycles. Our friendly employees welcome you until 1am.We’ll see you soon at the ibis Amsterdam Centre! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ibis Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing