We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AC needs to be fixed or change with new ones”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ranked #144 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stay with my wife for 4 nights in summer, the first thing after walking & sightseeing all day in the city is cool room but they cant provide it.

Pros :
1. Location is great, close to main station.
2. Reasonable price.
3. Concierge is friendly.

Cons:
1. Why the room is smaller than other Ibis ?
2. AC needs to be fixed or change with new ones.
3. Bathroom extremely small.
4. The room is quite dusty.

Tips :
Don't stay in summer



Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dalimartha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Dalimartha,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.

I'm happy to hear you enjoyed our location and the friendliness of our front office staff.

You also pointed out you experienced some problems with the AC. I'm sorry to hear this influenced your stay with us. Should you experience technical problems, we invite you to contact our reception staff, who should be able to have any problem fixed. Should the AC not be able to cope with extreme heat (which we experienced this summer), they usually have some tips and trics to get a comfortable temperature in your room. On top of that, I'm happy to inform you we're changing our AC system the coming year, so any possible problems should be solved.

Thank you very much for your feedback, which is most valuable to us. It is my hope we can welcome you again in the future.

Best regards,
Dennis Rullens
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,651 - 1,657 of 5,283 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

Spent a couple of days in Amsterdam with a family of 5 - two older children, two adults, a 2 year old. We needed somewhere

The hotel didn't have a room that could accommodate us all - so we had to book two. Didn't realise it was the weekend of the Pride festival which explains why the two rooms were more expensive than we'd expect from an Ibis: all be it still cheaper than most other central hotels.

A friendly and efficient check-in and it was very busy; plenty of room for storing luggage and secure safes for valuables. Rooms were typical of Ibis - functional, bare minimum of hanger space. They did provide a cot (which had seen better days, but still functioned) which took up most of the spare room space - but it was collapseable. Bathroom pod was nicer than most other Ibis hotels; not as plastic a feel as you normally get.

We were in Red Tulip on the 7th floor - no noise from the trains, great view out over the station and river. Functional and quiet aircon. Handy in-room safe.

Pay-for Drinks dispensers on the 5th floor. Decent free wi-fi. Enough plug sockets. Decent enough bar. Plentiful and efficient breakfast. There is a supermarket almost directly opposite across the bridge if you need extra things - you are 5 mins walk to the station for trains and trams, not too far from all the main central areas.

As budget hotels go - well worth a visit. Excellent location. For families of +3 there might have been family rooms - if you book multiple rooms be prepared to have an adult in each one - you're unlikely to have connecting rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank andymwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed here mid week our son had been earlier in the year and said it was good .
The checking in was quick and our room was available it was early too.
Great fir the metro trams and canal trips.
Breakfast was really good.
Room overlooked the railway line but was not a problem. The bathroom was very small you could hardly move around in it.
We left our luggage at check out and called back for it later which is a good service.
I would stay here again when I visit Amsterdam .

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Milller3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel location is the best location . Just beside the railway center and walking distance to city center. We dont need to take any metro or other transport. This is the best location hotel !!!!the room is big and nice

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Fabian2625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

It's an Ibis, so you know to expect a functional but compact room, not great if you have loads of luggage or clothes to hang-up.
3 nights in July.
Check-in was fine and the staff were always polite and helpful.
Air-con was next to useless, and impossible to sleep with window open because of traffic noise/sirens.
That was the only complaint though.

Safe in room provided. No kettle. Beds quite comfortable. Bathroom cramped but functional. Free WiFi which worked fine.

The location is great, right on Central Station, which is 15min train from Schipol.

Didn't use the breakfast or restaurant, far too many choices outside.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuarttaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

very small room but really clean and in a very central location, right next to central station - a short walk to main attractions and really easy to get onto trams/buses/trains.
The hotel staff were really friendly and helpful. 12pm checkout came in handy!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dianah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

great hotel...our 4th stay at this Ibis. great staff, FABULOUS room, unfortunately floor wasn't touched in the 5 nights we were there. Otherwise the best place to stay and we would stay there again if we went to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank 742couple47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
XO Hotels Park West
#64 of 373 in Amsterdam
4,000 reviews
XO Hotels Couture
#43 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Amsterdam City
#121 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,900 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#103 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Amsterdam Centre

Address: Stationsplein 49, 1012 AB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#110 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £92 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Amsterdam Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paul van Ommen, the manager of the ibis Amsterdam Centre hotel, would like to give you a very warm welcome.At the ibis Amsterdam Centre, you are in the middle of the action. The city centre is at your doorstep. Within walking distance you will find the famous dam square, the red light district, historical canals and hundreds of bars and restaurants. Right in front of the hotel there are trains, metros, buses, canalbuses and trams to take you to museums, the airport (15min), the Rai convention centre and the Anne Frank house.The hotel offers 363 modern, convenient rooms equipped with all the necessary facilities such as a hairdryer, tv, Free WiFi, glass fibre internet, safe and phone (a water kettle can be borrowed at the reception desk).Feeling hungry? Breakfast is served daily from 6am to noon; our restaurant is open until 10:30pm and a variety of snacks and sandwiches are available 24/7. After a long day of exploring the beautiful city, you can relax and enjoy a hot or cold beverage in our stylish bar, while having a view on hundreds of bicycles. Our friendly employees welcome you until 1am.We’ll see you soon at the ibis Amsterdam Centre! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing