We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel in a good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Ranked #121 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good Hotel in a good location”
Reviewed 26 May 2011

Hotel is good, room is clean & quiet big. Bathroom is a bit small.
Location is quiet near to city center by walk, to metro station is near to Waterlooplein station.
Staff is very friendly and nice. Free wifi in the room upon request.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhermank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,703 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    650
    1,449
    481
    85
    38
See reviews for
365
1,316
94
189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2011

The hotel is perfectly placed in the Ibis standard. The room is very nice and spacious. The breakfast also is very satisfactory. The reception staff, in particular Ben and Sheron, are very attentive. The hotel location is good. If you walk to the right from the hotel you will achieve the "Dam Square". On the corner of the hotel there is a market as well. There are rooms with a view for the canal that are very nice.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nando_World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2011

We stayed three nights and the room was clean and tidy. The staff were friendly and helpful. Brekfast was good and evening meal ok but small portions. The hotel is ideally situated and we bought a travel card for the metro, trams and buses. (7 euros a day) which gave us unlimmited travel getting to centre in 5 mins. A must to visit is the flea market just down the road. We are already a return trip.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrissie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2011

We've recently had a 3 night stay at Ibis Amsterdam City Stopera. Staff were friendly and courteous. First thing we were excited about when we entered our room was the canal view through our window. The room overlooks a peaceful canal. The room and toilet were spotless. Room size reasonable for Amsterdam standard. Location was good, as most places were within walking distance. Dam Square was just 10 minutes stroll away, the Red Light district 5 minutes away and a large supermarket 5 minutes away. A tram stop is closeby if you have had enough walking.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YeeLingT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2011

The hotel is not centrally located and quite a walk from city center. and metro or public transport stop. Surrounding is dirty and not very good and dark at night. Scary to walk at night. Piles of garbage nearby.
Room was very hot and had difficulty sleeping because they didn't turn on the airconditioning. I tried to open the window but the noise from the passing cars is horrible.
Service was bad. I had dinner at their restaurant and the service was very slow. The food arrived after 30 min waiting.
I travel a lot and this is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. I requested for a toothbrush when I arrived in the evening but they could not provide me one! It's understandable not to be provided with a toothbrush in a hostel. But for a hotel? It's unthinkable. So i had to sleep without brushing because stores were already closed. They didn't even offer to give me one in the morning.
The bathroom is very small. the towels are very rough. I will never go back to this hotel

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank b0h0l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#145 of 368 in Amsterdam
4,923 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#108 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,182 reviews
Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
#87 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station
Ibis Amsterdam City West
#132 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,519 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#110 of 368 in Amsterdam
3,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera

Property: Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Address: Valkenburgerstraat 68, 1011 LZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#83 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera 3*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Amsterdam City Stopera hotel is ideally located in the city centre, a few minutes from the Stopera Opera House, Dam Square, Rembrandtplein and Waterlooplein. Easily accessible by public transport or by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Amsterdam City Stopera Hotel Amsterdam
Accor Amsterdam City Stopera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing