We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Ranked #125 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersBronze level
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

Wasn't sure what to expect but was pleasantly surprised. Beds very comfortable, rooms clean and tidy and from that side of things very good. Breakfast taken once and wasn't good, poor selection. In fairness I complained and it was taken off the bill but take a walk and there are better options for 15 Euros.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CDM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    613
    1,402
    465
    79
    35
See reviews for
343
1,269
93
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2011

On our first visit to Amsterdam we stayed at the Ibis for one night before going on a Bike and Barge tour. The airline had lost my luggage and we left the airport hoping the bag would be found soon. The staff at the hotel went out of their way to keep checking on whether the bag had been found. They called the airlines several times, even found a way to track it on the Internet. Although the luggage found its way back to me three days later, after we had left the hotel, their help made the issue a lot less stressful.
Besides the great staff, the hotel was a wonderful place to stay. Our room was large and had a nice view of the canal behind the hotel. Everything was clean and looked well maintained. Although our rate did not include breakfast, there was a very nice restaurant off the lobby which offered a good selection of food.
The location of the hotel was perfect for us. Amsterdam is a very walkable city, and from here we could reach most any place we wanted to visit. We could easily walk to stores, bakeries, grocery stores. And since we were joining the Bike and Barge tour at the nearby Oosterdok, which was only a five minute walk, no taxi was needed.
I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Will018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2011

A good hotel, in all aspects, except perhaps for one. I frequently stay at IBIS, these are clean, no nonsense hotels, but I find their choice of beds too firm. I would like the option of softer beds.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2011

We had to stay in Amsterdam for 2 nights en-route back from Hong Kong and booked this hotel after advice from the tourist information at the airport. The hotel is about a 15 minute walk away from the centre which is not great when it rains all day as it did for us. It cost 333 Euro for 2 nights accomodation and would have been another 60 Euro if we had taken breakfast. On the plus side the room was clean if somewhat basic and the pod construction of the building leaves the whole place devoid of character. Amsterdam is packed with well located hotels which had vacancies. We will do our research a bit better next time.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rimms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2011

We stayed three nights at the IBIS Stopera Hotel in Amsterdam as part of a three night DFDS package and we found the hotel and its staff were fantastic. It is well located in Amsterdam and although it is not completely centrally located, a travelcard and a 3 minute walk to Mr. Visserplein tram stop puts you within easy access of the rest of Amsterdam. The room was a very good size with very nice and sizeable shower room. The TV was not much to watch for english speakers but it had BBC World if you wanted to keep up. Unfortunately, the Hotel's WiFi was expensive but this did not really detract.

The breakfast had a really good range of food and the bar in the evening offered a very nice ice cream dessert. DFDS trippers were well treated with luggage storage and immediate check in at 9 am in the morning (fantastic).

The best piece of advice would be that if you are visiting Amsterdam, is to get a tram ticket asap.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bluecircle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2011

Hotel is good, room is clean & quiet big. Bathroom is a bit small.
Location is quiet near to city center by walk, to metro station is near to Waterlooplein station.
Staff is very friendly and nice. Free wifi in the room upon request.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jhermank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#146 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,646 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#117 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
Ibis Styles Amsterdam City
Ibis Styles Amsterdam City
#156 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
Ibis Amsterdam City West
#129 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera

Property: Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Address: Valkenburgerstraat 68, 1011 LZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#83 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera 3*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Amsterdam City Stopera hotel is ideally located in the city centre, a few minutes from the Stopera Opera House, Dam Square, Rembrandtplein and Waterlooplein. Easily accessible by public transport or by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR and Odigeo so you can book your Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Amsterdam City Stopera Hotel Amsterdam
Accor Amsterdam City Stopera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing