We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice clean rooms but no tea or coffee” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Ranked #126 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice clean rooms but no tea or coffee”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

This is a good choice for a value hotel - rooms are small but clean with great power showers. Breakfast has a fairly good range - all sorts of bread, plenty of hot food but little fruit to choose from. Staff were helpful and friendly, and there was a room to leave our luggage after we checked out. The one thing that annoyed me was that there was no kettle/tea/coffee in the rooms.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angellibrarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisStopera, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear Sir/Madame,

Thanks for your review. I’m glad you have a good stay with us. Concerning your remark about a kettle I can inform you that we have some rooms areequipped with Coffee & Tea facilities for € 20,- per night per room extra which will make your next stay even a more enjoyable one.

See you on your next trip.

Kind regards,

Hotel Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Nathalie van der Vos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    613
    1,402
    465
    79
    35
See reviews for
343
1,269
93
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

Stayed here with my boyfriend a couple of weeks ago, the hotel its self was spot on. Maid service everyday, clean & comfy beds, nice restaurant.
The only downfall with this is its location I mean it took us about 10-15 to walk into the main centre from the hotel, its okay if you dont mind a bit of a walk but we did think it was a little bit closer. It's not bad to walk through the day but on a night time it is a bit weiry and i was a little bit scared just with some of the weird people you see around the area.
There is a Spar local shop which is just across the road and about a 5 minute walk you have your first coffee shop and also a beautiful steak house.
We visited the restaurant in the hotel a couple of times we had cheese and ham toasties which were lovely but 6euro for a little toastie is quite a bit but i suppose it was in the hotel and its always the same where ever you go.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amber T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Recently stayed 3 nights in this hotel on our first trip to Amsterdam. Found the staff friendly and helpful. Room was fresh, clean and adequate for a short city break. Nice dining room and plenty of choice on breakfast menu. Hotel well placed to explore the Jewish Quarter (and City Zoo), also the 'Skinny' Bridge. The Van Gogh and Rijts museums were within a 30 minute pleasant walk along the canals and the old centre was easily walkable. I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keentraveller003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisStopera, Public Relations Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Hotel Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Nathalie van der Vos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

We have just returned from our trip to Amsterdam and were lucky to have stayed at this hotel .At check-in Mr.Nielz warmy welcomed us and upgraded our room for the room with the view to canal which is made our stay amazing.We've been in Amsterdam to celebrate our anniversary and St.Valentine! Mr.Nielz and other staff were extremelly professional and polite.The room was superb, was always clean and warm,pillows and bed were very comfortable(slept like at home). Hotel is situated in very a quiet street but is just a little far from the main center.
We will definitely be coming back!!! Un saluto Dinara e Davide

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dinara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisStopera, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for your very kind words. Very much appreciated and my team will be delighted and specially Niels to hear that you enjoyed yourselves and have remarked and appreciated our services. Look forward to welcoming you back.

Hotel Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera

Nathalie van der Vos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

We went to Amsterdam for a weekend to celebrate Valentine's Day and found in this hotel everything we were looking for. Great value for money . Staff was excellent and rooms always very clean, specially enjoyed the breakfast, great variety of items and open from 6 am until 11!! They gave us the morning of the Valentine's day a piece of chocolate as a gift which I considered a very nice touch.
The only thing is the lack of amenities in the room , I really missed some tea and coffee , however when you check in you have the opportunity to upgrade your room to one overlooking the canal plus amenities and toiletries for £20 but I did not think it was worth it
Very close to the central station and about 15 minutes walk from the centre

Room Tip: The hotel is placed next to a busy road so I would choose a room on the upper floors to get away fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MartaPastor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisStopera, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for your very kind words. Very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves. Look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Hotel Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Nathalie van der Vos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here in August 2012 for 3 nights. The hotel is like any other Ibis budget hotel. Our room was basic and functional yet quite spacious.

There was a lack of hanging space for our clothes which wasn't too much of an issue for us as we were only there for a few days. Our bathroom was very small but the shower was huge which was a plus. I found it a bit tight for space when drying my hair etc.

The room was very clean and it was exactly what we wanted. We didn't need luxury, we only wanted somewhere we could sleep and this place was perfect. I'm not sure what floor we were on but we had a lovely view out the back of the hotel over the canal which was really peaceful.

The breakfast was quite expensive (16e pp) so unfortunately we did not avail of this service but we found plenty of cafes nearby.

We planned to eat at the restaurant one night but it was closing by the time we got there. Luckily there was a vending machine so at least we had something. The city centre was just a bit too far to go back and get some food.

Although this hotel is a good distance from the city centre (10 - 15 mins or so) it is a scenic and enjoyable walk. I have great memories of this hotel and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmabob7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kastoria, Greece
Level Contributor
285 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

so close to all the things you want to see in AMsterdam and close to museums and cafes and next to a canal from the back side of the hotel...you can choose front rooms and rooms that facing the canal..its your choice...

Room Tip: the irst day we had the room 509 which had a small problem with the window and we juat changed the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisStopera, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Hotel Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Nathalie van der Vos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#147 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,646 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#118 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
Ibis Styles Amsterdam City
Ibis Styles Amsterdam City
#155 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
Ibis Amsterdam City West
#129 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera

Property: Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Address: Valkenburgerstraat 68, 1011 LZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#83 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera 3*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Amsterdam City Stopera hotel is ideally located in the city centre, a few minutes from the Stopera Opera House, Dam Square, Rembrandtplein and Waterlooplein. Easily accessible by public transport or by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Amsterdam City Stopera Hotel Amsterdam
Accor Amsterdam City Stopera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing