We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel - lovely staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Ranked #107 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Had a great 2night stay here and found everything to be spotlessly clean with lovely comfortable rooms. Thanks to a very helpful lady on reception we got a room overlooking the canal at the rear. It was very quiet and peaceful as well as having a very comfortable bed and great shower. Breakfast was served over a good period of time so you didn't have to get up early and there was a good choice. We had a problem with our coach pick up at the end of our break and the reception staff were very helpful, phoning the coach company and sorting it out. Would highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Best rooms are to the rear overlooking the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susanbC6180ZT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisStopera, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for your very kind words. Very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves. Look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

Hotel Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Valkenburgerstraat 68
1011 LZ Amsterdam
T: 0031 20 531 91 66
F: 0031 20 531 91 45
E: h3044-du@accor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,827)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

743 - 749 of 2,827 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

The room as per other ibis - nothing to write home about, but comfortable enough.

The hotel is well located; away from the business of the centre, but only a ten to fifteen minute walk to the Nieuwmarkt and Rembrandtplein. Also a short walk away from the metro and a tram route into town.

We did not breakfast here. Instead we went to a cafe a few doors away (towards the tunnel). Also worth checking out are several cafes and restaurants by the canal the other side of the main road.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisStopera, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear Sir/Madame,

Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at IBIS Amsterdam Centre Stopera, I look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Hotel Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Valkenburgerstraat 68
1011 LZ Amsterdam
T: 0031 20 531 91 66
F: 0031 20 531 91 45
E: h3044-du@accor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The hotel on itself is well located at walking distance from everything ; rooms are 'modern' understand plastic showers and all that, no luxury but fine and quiet which good for city centre. Breakfast ok, self service, food nice.

The service was disappointing - on arrival all seemed ok, we had to leave our luggage because we were early for checking, but that's usual. When we came back during the evening we had a travel bed for our wee one but with 0 pillow, 0 sheet, 0 cover - when asked for some, and after 30min I went down to reception to remind them, it finally came up with some made up stuff ; RIDICULOUS - obviously it's the dream of every parent to try to get his kid to go to bed in such condition (when I pointed this out (ok not on my best behaviour at that time) they thought I was a lunatic).

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cyril_Pernet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IbisStopera, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

The service offered by the hotel was good although, I thought, it was a bit pricy for what it was. The rooms are big, silent very cozy - ideal for someone who is planning to sleep after a long day of work. However, the hotel WiFi was not up to the mark - took me ages for me to figure-out how to connect.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank abakhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisStopera, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear Sir/Madame

Thnk you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to IBIS Amsterdam Centre Stopera . I’m delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
I'm sorry to hear that it took a long time before you figured it out how to use the internet.
The reception is 24 hours available for you, please always call them if you need help.

I hope to welcome you another time in our hotel.

Kind Regards,

Hotel Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Valkenburgerstraat 68
1011 LZ Amsterdam
T: 0031 20 531 91 66
F: 0031 20 531 91 45
E: h3044-du@accor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We booked here for 2 nights and were happy to be allocated a room that overlooked the canal, very quiet (no noise of other guests doors banging late at night). Hotel was quite easy to find after getting the metro from Central Station, and then a short walk.

Unfortunately on checking in we were informed that there would be no water next day from 11.00 until 20.00. As we'd arrived quite late in the evening we didn't really have any other option other than to accept this.This was pretty annoying as we like to return to our room to recover and refresh before heading out for dinner. Toilets were apparently available at the hotel next door.

Apart from that glitch we were happy with the hotel, the staff were nice and helpful and all spoke excellent English. Room was compact (shower room used on an individual basis, no room for 2). Great shower though and everything was spotless.

Bed was very comfortable and we slept well.

Good choice for breakfast, the coffee machine produced great espressos and there were nice fruit juices too. Usual hot & cold selection but good for filling up until the evening. Staff were really efficient at keeping the tables cleared as it got quite busy.

For a short break in this vibrant city I would recommend it, near enough the centre but far enough away from the busy/sleazy bits. Good CH supermarket down the road for stocking up on snacks/water etc..

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthernHeatseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed in a triple room for 3 nights and were impressed at the quality of the hotel for the price we paid. The beds were very comfortable and although the room and bathroom was compact there was enough storage space. We had no hotel noise keeping us awake and enjoyed the walk into the city centre once we got out bearings. Breakfast was included and was decent quality which kept us going until tea time. Overall we were very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#142 of 372 in Amsterdam
5,186 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#119 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,226 reviews
Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
#81 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#103 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,100 reviews
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#101 of 372 in Amsterdam
4,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera

Address: Valkenburgerstraat 68, 1011 LZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#83 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £80 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera 3*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Amsterdam City Stopera hotel is ideally located in the city centre, a few minutes from the Stopera Opera House, Dam Square, Rembrandtplein and Waterlooplein. Easily accessible by public transport or by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Amsterdam City Stopera Hotel Amsterdam
Accor Amsterdam City Stopera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing