We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Ranked #126 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersBronze level
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Average”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed in this hotel for two nights. The location is very good as you are walking distance to all the main attractions. Free Wi-fi is also a plus. However, the hotel itself is very average with basic rooms that are very expensively priced. The staff were not that helpful especially as we only got two single beds when we asked for a double. We didn't have breakfast there but they are some nice cafes near by. Next time I would pay a little bit extra and stay somewhere more comfortable.

James

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,650 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    632
    1,425
    471
    84
    38
See reviews for
354
1,294
93
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Had a great 2night stay here and found everything to be spotlessly clean with lovely comfortable rooms. Thanks to a very helpful lady on reception we got a room overlooking the canal at the rear. It was very quiet and peaceful as well as having a very comfortable bed and great shower. Breakfast was served over a good period of time so you didn't have to get up early and there was a good choice. We had a problem with our coach pick up at the end of our break and the reception staff were very helpful, phoning the coach company and sorting it out. Would highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Best rooms are to the rear overlooking the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susanbC6180ZT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisStopera, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for your very kind words. Very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves. Look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

Hotel Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Valkenburgerstraat 68
1011 LZ Amsterdam
T: 0031 20 531 91 66
F: 0031 20 531 91 45
E: h3044-du@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

The room as per other ibis - nothing to write home about, but comfortable enough.

The hotel is well located; away from the business of the centre, but only a ten to fifteen minute walk to the Nieuwmarkt and Rembrandtplein. Also a short walk away from the metro and a tram route into town.

We did not breakfast here. Instead we went to a cafe a few doors away (towards the tunnel). Also worth checking out are several cafes and restaurants by the canal the other side of the main road.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisStopera, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear Sir/Madame,

Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at IBIS Amsterdam Centre Stopera, I look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Hotel Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Valkenburgerstraat 68
1011 LZ Amsterdam
T: 0031 20 531 91 66
F: 0031 20 531 91 45
E: h3044-du@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

The hotel on itself is well located at walking distance from everything ; rooms are 'modern' understand plastic showers and all that, no luxury but fine and quiet which good for city centre. Breakfast ok, self service, food nice.

The service was disappointing - on arrival all seemed ok, we had to leave our luggage because we were early for checking, but that's usual. When we came back during the evening we had a travel bed for our wee one but with 0 pillow, 0 sheet, 0 cover - when asked for some, and after 30min I went down to reception to remind them, it finally came up with some made up stuff ; RIDICULOUS - obviously it's the dream of every parent to try to get his kid to go to bed in such condition (when I pointed this out (ok not on my best behaviour at that time) they thought I was a lunatic).

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cyril_Pernet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

The service offered by the hotel was good although, I thought, it was a bit pricy for what it was. The rooms are big, silent very cozy - ideal for someone who is planning to sleep after a long day of work. However, the hotel WiFi was not up to the mark - took me ages for me to figure-out how to connect.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank abakhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisStopera, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear Sir/Madame

Thnk you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to IBIS Amsterdam Centre Stopera . I’m delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
I'm sorry to hear that it took a long time before you figured it out how to use the internet.
The reception is 24 hours available for you, please always call them if you need help.

I hope to welcome you another time in our hotel.

Kind Regards,

Hotel Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Valkenburgerstraat 68
1011 LZ Amsterdam
T: 0031 20 531 91 66
F: 0031 20 531 91 45
E: h3044-du@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
396 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

We booked here for 2 nights and were happy to be allocated a room that overlooked the canal, very quiet (no noise of other guests doors banging late at night). Hotel was quite easy to find after getting the metro from Central Station, and then a short walk.

Unfortunately on checking in we were informed that there would be no water next day from 11.00 until 20.00. As we'd arrived quite late in the evening we didn't really have any other option other than to accept this.This was pretty annoying as we like to return to our room to recover and refresh before heading out for dinner. Toilets were apparently available at the hotel next door.

Apart from that glitch we were happy with the hotel, the staff were nice and helpful and all spoke excellent English. Room was compact (shower room used on an individual basis, no room for 2). Great shower though and everything was spotless.

Bed was very comfortable and we slept well.

Good choice for breakfast, the coffee machine produced great espressos and there were nice fruit juices too. Usual hot & cold selection but good for filling up until the evening. Staff were really efficient at keeping the tables cleared as it got quite busy.

For a short break in this vibrant city I would recommend it, near enough the centre but far enough away from the busy/sleazy bits. Good CH supermarket down the road for stocking up on snacks/water etc..

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthernHeatseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#147 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,754 reviews
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#113 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station
Ibis Amsterdam City West
#128 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,484 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#117 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera

Property: Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Address: Valkenburgerstraat 68, 1011 LZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#83 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera 3*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Amsterdam City Stopera hotel is ideally located in the city centre, a few minutes from the Stopera Opera House, Dam Square, Rembrandtplein and Waterlooplein. Easily accessible by public transport or by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Amsterdam City Stopera Hotel Amsterdam
Accor Amsterdam City Stopera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing