We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely basic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Ranked #111 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Very modern hotel and very affordable.
I stayed here as I was on a hen doo in Amsterdam, it's very close to all amenities and a 10 min walk to the train station.
Staff all very friendly, food was lovely and rooms very clean and comfy. I would stay here again without a doubt.

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,937)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

745 - 751 of 2,937 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

On a 3 day visit to the dam with some friends and found this to be a great hotel, close to all the sights and with really polite and friendly staff. Rooms are a tad small, especially the triples. Try the little cafe run by a lovely oriental couple. Out the hotel. Turn left and it's around 100 yards on the left. Bottles of Heineken are €2.20 as opposed to around €7 in the hotel. Thanks ibis for a good stay!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robert h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed here for one night in July, good central location with Amsterdam center only ten minutes walk,
Really friendly staff supplying us with free fruit juice while we waited for our rooms to be allocated.
The rooms where clean and airy, and ours overlooked a large canal.

Overall a good budget hotel, would use again on our next stay in Amsterdam

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chrisclenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Very glad we chose to stay here for our 2 night weekend break. There is a tram stop a couple of minutes away but we chose to walk as it's only 10 minute walk from center of Amsterdam. Still a central location but also quiet at night. Friendly and helpful staff. We were asked upon check-in if we would like to upgrade our room (for a fee) to a canal view but as we were on a budget we declined, but the photo's looked lovely - perhaps next time! They also have a secure baggage area which was handy as we arrived extra early. Our room was spacious, clean, the bed was very comfortable and the free Wi-Fi was a bonus. A tea/coffee maker would have been nice but there was a large supermarket round the corner so we just bought some bottled water. Breakfast was lovely. Would definitely recommend and will stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank kellydid22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed for three nights in July/August and found the Hotel adequate for our short stay. On arrival we were greeted amiably by the receptionist ( Shandon ). He wore a trainees badge but by the end of our stay proved most helpful and obliging, answering all our questions with patience, friendliness and directness. I think he can throw away the badge as he was far more competent than most. The rooms are spacious with a modern on suite bathroom/shower providing all required amenities. A canal view and coffee/tea maker only applies to premium rooms and is not really necessary. You can grab an excellent coffee in the snack bar for only 2 euros and sit and watch the world go by outside or inside. The snack bar is my only gripe with this complex as apart from the coffee the food on offer is bland and should be avoided. The bar serves a good choice of beer and check in checkout is handled with great efficiency. The Hotel is within walking distance from the Railway Station ( 12 minutes exactly ) and close to other transport areas. Waterlooplein Market is just around the corner with Dam Square and Rembrandt Square a little further on. Very convenient overall and value for money.

Room Tip: Third floor clicked all the boxes. Quiet with good elevator service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Frank L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Great hotel with value for money, staff were very friendly and helpful during check in
Room was very nice and i loved the bathroom, shower is huge.
Free wifi all over hotel which makes a nice change, wifi is very strong also
No fridge in the room and no conditioner, the shampoo and wash was an all in one bit cheap
I was sick during my stay so stayed in the room so houskeeping could not clean the room although they did try several times
bought some water at the cafe on the ground floor 6 euro which is a little pricey
Hotel is a 5 minute walk to dam street
cant comment on facalities or breakfast as i didnt use any
i would definitly stay there again

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JacquelineK1jackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

stayed at this hotel july 2014,hotel was a short distance from all attractions so wasnt a problem..food was great aswell as was room..the only thing that was missing was tea making facilities.apart from that we would stay here again..

Room Tip: ask for canal view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank gingerbread11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#141 of 376 in Amsterdam
5,392 reviews
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#101 of 376 in Amsterdam
2,210 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#119 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Amsterdam City West
#128 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,621 reviews
Plantage & the East
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
#226 of 376 in Amsterdam
120 reviews
Centrum
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
#178 of 376 in Amsterdam
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera

Address: Valkenburgerstraat 68, 1011 LZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#83 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £85 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera 3*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Amsterdam City Stopera hotel is ideally located in the city centre, a few minutes from the Stopera Opera House, Dam Square, Rembrandtplein and Waterlooplein. Easily accessible by public transport or by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Accorhotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Amsterdam City Stopera Hotel Amsterdam
Accor Amsterdam City Stopera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing