We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Ranked #126 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bucharest
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“very nice”
Reviewed 21 September 2009

A lovely hotel, about 15 min walk from the center, very clean, friendly staff. The room was small but comfortable, the bath small as well but very well organised. Half of the rooms have a view over a canal (so make sure to ask for one of these rooms). The only downside seems to be the price of the breakfast (15 euro/person); and maybe the fact that you can only have sandwiches for lunch at the hotel restaurant. Also, the towels had a funny smell. Bur, all in all, a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stelu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,683 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    643
    1,440
    478
    84
    38
See reviews for
358
1,308
94
189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
100 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2009

This Hotel is well-located, few steps from Rembrandtplein, a square which is very agreable at night and day. The staff was very gentle, the rooms were clean and large to the categorie, we enjoyed a lot our stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laetitiaGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2009

Service:
Pleasant and professional.

Room:
Clean, basic, functional. Relatively modern. Totally acceptable standard with flat screen TV. Average size.

Bathroom:
Clean, basic, functional. Shower enclosure, no bath.

Location:
Just outside the very center. 10 minute walk to center. Right on larger road for easy access by car.

Additional:
This is the 2nd time I have stayed at this hotel and can therefore say I would recommend it.
We paid around €90 for a double room for dual occupancy. I considered this acceptable for the standard and in relation to the average price in Amsterdam.
Parking is in an attended, covered, garage a couple of doors down from the hotel reception, so very well located. But beware the price was €32 for 24 hours. I am led to believe though, this is still one of the cheapest in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaKSiNG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2009

Me and my boyfriend stayed there for 2 nights as we went to Amsterdam from England to see Dave Matthews Band at Heineken Music Hall. We had a room at the first floor with an amazing view of the canal. The room was small but very clean and comfortable. Location just great for our needs - close to historical centre of Amsterdam as well as to main station. The only thing that really really annoyed us during our stay at Amsterdam City Stopera was a very loud cleaner banging on our door early in the morning while we were still asleep and then making a lot of noise in the corridor. The rest of the staff was very friendly and helpful. Definitely a good choice.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Firedancer87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2009

Clean rooms, comfortable beds, great shower and a good breakfast all at a good price.

Situated close to the Damrak and a lot of good pubs, also close to supermarket to stock up on hangover remedies

  • Stayed January 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magicmugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uffculme, Devon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2009

Despite not being situated in the historical centre of Amsterdam, there are few faults with this three star Ibis hotel. Rooms are clean and bathrooms functional, featuring a shower, and many have views over one of the city's canals. Air conditioning is also installed and rooms to the rear of the building are exceptionally quiet. The standard of service is very good and the hotel additionally features a reasonably priced cafe/bar. Overall, the Ibis Stopera is a good choice for anyone visiting Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hifh_rock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longframlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2009

The hotel room was lovely modern and well laid out, we stayed in a room at the back which over looked a canal and a residential area so the room was very quiet. Only complaint was a dusty window sill and no welcome tea or biscuits. The staff were friendly and helpful even after we checked out and were sitting on the bars terrace waiting for our bus there was no pressure to buy drinks or move on. There was a wide choice for breakfast up-to 11am. We arrived in the middle of a heat wave and there was a complimentary water cooler in reception For people like me who don't like to much heat. We would definitely use again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank handbagsandgladrags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#146 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,836 reviews
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#111 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station
Ibis Amsterdam City West
#132 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,502 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#107 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera

Property: Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Address: Valkenburgerstraat 68, 1011 LZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#83 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera 3*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Amsterdam City Stopera hotel is ideally located in the city centre, a few minutes from the Stopera Opera House, Dam Square, Rembrandtplein and Waterlooplein. Easily accessible by public transport or by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , ACCOR, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Amsterdam City Stopera Hotel Amsterdam
Accor Amsterdam City Stopera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing