We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bag stolen from lobby. NO help from staff. Room Basic.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Ranked #112 of 369 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Viernheim, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Bag stolen from lobby. NO help from staff. Room Basic.”
Reviewed 17 October 2009

Here's the deal, when something bad happens on your vacation, it taints your trip. It's just human nature. That being said, this Ibis hotel was what it should be: clean, cookie-cutter, sterile and characterless. We stayed there for my parents who can't handle the steep Amsterdam stairs and needed a lift. Otherwise, these hotels are too characterless for us. So, for what you expect, you get.

Now, to the theft. While my wife and mother were standing inside by the entrance to the lobby a man came in and distracted them and took our backpack. A chambermaid saw the whole thing, including the man RUNNING from the hotel, and said nothing. She only said something when we asked around loudly if anyone saw our bag. She said she saw someone run and went after them, a lie. A lie because she also said she didn't say anything to anyone because wasn't sure if it was theft. She pointed me to where the people ran. Suffice it to say, the bag is gone.

She never told any other staff. We went to the staff and said something happened. They pointed my distraught wife to the police. They did not call the police or walk with her there. It was only at the end of the block, but she was very upset. The manager did talk with us, but offered pathetic, fake sympathy. She even disclosed that this "hasn't happened for a long time." They have cameras in the lobby, but they only face the front desk, not the door. Pathetic.

The police did arrive and were noticeably upset and disappointed with the manager and staff for doing nothing to assist us. So, if you think you are getting a sterile, safe place to stay, you are wrong. We have stayed in Amsterdam before and felt safer in the cheaper hotels. This cookie-cutter hotel has cut costs on security and has not customer service to speak of. Do not stay here. If you need to do business, and need cookie cutter, find another standard hotel. If you are a normal tourist, find a place with more dirt on the walls, you will enjoy it more.

Oh, and one more thing. The front desk said that the cheapest nearby parking was 30E per day. Lies. Park at a Park-Ride for 6E day and get up to 5 tram tickets (there and back) included. I am sure the hotel gets a cut form the parking place nearby.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank klfollies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,760 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    675
    1,472
    488
    87
    38
See reviews for
381
1,342
98
190
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2009

A lovely hotel, about 15 min walk from the center, very clean, friendly staff. The room was small but comfortable, the bath small as well but very well organised. Half of the rooms have a view over a canal (so make sure to ask for one of these rooms). The only downside seems to be the price of the breakfast (15 euro/person); and maybe the fact that you can only have sandwiches for lunch at the hotel restaurant. Also, the towels had a funny smell. Bur, all in all, a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stelu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto Alegre, RS
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2009

This Hotel is well-located, few steps from Rembrandtplein, a square which is very agreable at night and day. The staff was very gentle, the rooms were clean and large to the categorie, we enjoyed a lot our stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laetitiaGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2009

Service:
Pleasant and professional.

Room:
Clean, basic, functional. Relatively modern. Totally acceptable standard with flat screen TV. Average size.

Bathroom:
Clean, basic, functional. Shower enclosure, no bath.

Location:
Just outside the very center. 10 minute walk to center. Right on larger road for easy access by car.

Additional:
This is the 2nd time I have stayed at this hotel and can therefore say I would recommend it.
We paid around €90 for a double room for dual occupancy. I considered this acceptable for the standard and in relation to the average price in Amsterdam.
Parking is in an attended, covered, garage a couple of doors down from the hotel reception, so very well located. But beware the price was €32 for 24 hours. I am led to believe though, this is still one of the cheapest in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaKSiNG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2009

Me and my boyfriend stayed there for 2 nights as we went to Amsterdam from England to see Dave Matthews Band at Heineken Music Hall. We had a room at the first floor with an amazing view of the canal. The room was small but very clean and comfortable. Location just great for our needs - close to historical centre of Amsterdam as well as to main station. The only thing that really really annoyed us during our stay at Amsterdam City Stopera was a very loud cleaner banging on our door early in the morning while we were still asleep and then making a lot of noise in the corridor. The rest of the staff was very friendly and helpful. Definitely a good choice.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Firedancer87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2009

Clean rooms, comfortable beds, great shower and a good breakfast all at a good price.

Situated close to the Damrak and a lot of good pubs, also close to supermarket to stock up on hangover remedies

  • Stayed January 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magicmugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uffculme, Devon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2009

Despite not being situated in the historical centre of Amsterdam, there are few faults with this three star Ibis hotel. Rooms are clean and bathrooms functional, featuring a shower, and many have views over one of the city's canals. Air conditioning is also installed and rooms to the rear of the building are exceptionally quiet. The standard of service is very good and the hotel additionally features a reasonably priced cafe/bar. Overall, the Ibis Stopera is a good choice for anyone visiting Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hifh_rock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#144 of 369 in Amsterdam
5,038 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#118 of 369 in Amsterdam
1,204 reviews
Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
#86 of 369 in Amsterdam
1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#107 of 369 in Amsterdam
3,973 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#124 of 369 in Amsterdam
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera

Property: Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Address: Valkenburgerstraat 68, 1011 LZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#83 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera 3*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Amsterdam City Stopera hotel is ideally located in the city centre, a few minutes from the Stopera Opera House, Dam Square, Rembrandtplein and Waterlooplein. Easily accessible by public transport or by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Amsterdam City Stopera Hotel Amsterdam
Accor Amsterdam City Stopera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing