We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great tour!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Omy Amsterdam Tours

Omy Amsterdam Tours
Ranked #7 of 56 Food & Drink in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Omy Amsterdam Tours conducts tours of 4 to 6 people daily in Amsterdam. Larger groups are accepted by appointment. Small groups allow us to cater to your needs and to show you the real area. As a local business we like to show other local places where mainstream tours cannot. Small groups of 4 to 6 people allow us to show you more. Tours are flexible to your needs and the circumstance of the day. We conduct daily tours of groups of 4 people maximum: - Amsterdam history tours - Amsterdam Food Tours - Beer Tours of Amsterdam Omy Amsterdam Tours believe that exploring the Old City Centre on foot is the best way to see Amsterdam. What better experience of the Netherlands can you take back home?
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great tour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

What a great time! We toured toured the old city, dam square, learned why the Dutch are famous for tulips.It wrapped up at a nice small place sitting beside a canal near Anne Frank house. The guide was lovely and really helpful. Will definitely be telling my friends!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Footprinter-84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    9
    1
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best walking tour of Amsterdam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

Our tour guide was friendly, informative, fun and clearly loved the city he was showing. I would definitely do another tour with him and recommend him to others

Helpful?
1 Thank Sarahmercia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omyamsterdamtours, Manager at Omy Amsterdam Tours, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Thank you for your review. We were happy to add to your gastronomic European Tour. We remember that you were happy with Dutch pancake after the tour despite the different taste combination. We are also glad that oldest Amsterdam diner was a hit with your man. See you again soon we hope.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
244 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Oh dear OMY! Not really a guided tour more like an escorted walk!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

Well this one is going to go against the trend isn't it...wet Sunday morning, pre-booked, very pleasant and friendly "guide" turned up for just the two of us. He had just had 4 hours sleep...he had been DJing the night before and had someone else's guide ID ( Lee I think but he was Pablo!? Strange?) ,, and whilst he was used to taking people around I am not sure he was a qualified guide. Knowledgeable ...yes...in part about a certain segment of the community, ...history...definitely not very knowledgeable. I would say we had an escorted walk rather than a proper guided tour with proper explanations. Don't get me wrong he was very friendly and caring but it certainly wasn't what we were expecting. Maybe we didn't ask enough questions when we booked...

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robinhood1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omyamsterdamtours, Owner at Omy Amsterdam Tours, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write an honest review of our tour and guide. We appreciate when our guests provide feedback as we rely on your impression to better our tours.

That you should leave this review regarding your guide Pablo comes as somewhat of a surprise. He is a guide of great experience and previously trained people to be guides in Amsterdam. If your concern was the quantity of the information given on the tour, please be reassured you were being led by a capable guide. Of course, every guide can use feedback on their presentation.

The balance between historic content, culture and being social is a tour guide’s constant challenge. Every guest has different preferences. We are thankful for your insights. Pablo has taken note of your feedback and will be brushing up on his content. Your review has made a small tour company better. Your honesty is appreciated.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, Northern Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First class guided walking tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

I booked the walking tour of the old city just a few days before we arrived and received a friendly emailed confirmation. Although my husband and I had visited Amsterdam once before, we wanted to know a bit more about the city and it's people from its origins, through WW2 to the present day. We had read the great reviews on Trip Advisor and thought OMY seemed like the best bet with smaller groups. Our guide, Mason, was at the meeting point at Rembrandtplein waiting for us - and we were early! Expecting to be in a group of about 8 we found we were being given a private tour all to ourselves. (I think there was another group of 8 but OMY considered 10 too many!) Friendly, polite and extremely well informed, Mason brought Amsterdam to life. He tailored our tour to our particular interests in history and industry and art, answering our questions with excellent knowledge and adding information which he thought we might find interesting - on and off the beaten track with lots ot tips and advice to make the most of our visit. Mason made notes of further information he would send to us. A passionate, professional, funny and personable guide - Mason is a credit to OMY and we would not hesitate to recommend him and OMY to others. OMY followed up the next day with suggestions and more information to further enhance our experience - excellent customer service. We certainly will be recommending OMY to our friends and family.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alisono127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omyamsterdamtours, Manager at Omy Amsterdam Tours, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Thank you for your review and we were happy to make your anniversary trip to Amsterdam special.
As you realised on your tour, walking in as small group as possible around Amsterdam is best for all involved, guest, guide and Amsterdammers.

We also like to thank you for teaching us about Northern Ireland. This was immensely helpful as the following weekend your country men and women came to Amsterdam for the football friendly.

Your guide now has passion for Northern Ireland history. The best way to teach people about Amsterdam is to know a little about the visitors country. From a small company in a small country to a smaller country. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lee is awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012 via mobile

We were looking for a small group to do a walking tour of Amsterdam. When I contacted them online they were very responsive and it sounded like what we were looking for. The group consisted of us (2 couples) and a couple with their two young adult girls. It was the perfect size. Lee was very personable and knowledgeable. We toured for at least 3 and 1/2 hours covering all aspects of the city with stops for coffee, frites and beer. It was a perfect day and would highly recommend this tour company and Lee!

Helpful?
Thank DJ512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omyamsterdamtours, Manager at Omy Amsterdam Tours, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Thank you. We are happy that you enjoyed your tour with us and our small group approach to tour guiding. We hope to see you again in our beautiful city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Omy Amsterdam Tours also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Omy Amsterdam Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing