We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Diana E
New York City, New York

Great Location Great Price. Couldn’t have been better.

Review of Ambassade Hotel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 9 Aug 2021via mobile
First I want to say that for me the hotel experience is part of the vacation. Many are different and view the hotel as a place to sleep and that’s fine too. I like to relax in the room after my daily adventures and or just take a day off and sleep in.
After much research and a big fan of booking.com I decided to book through the hotel instead. They did not disappoint. They responded to emails immediately and were very responsive to all of my questions. They offered discounts on many offers including their award winning restaurant.
My sister and I spent a delightful week at the Ambassade! They upgraded us to a most beautiful and very comfortable Superior Deluxe Canal view room (room 52)! There was a walk-in closet which is so unusual for hotel rooms in Europe which tend to be small. The bathroom had both a separate tub and walk in shower and DOUBLE VANITIES!
The Brasserie was amazing. We had breakfast a couple of times and the freshly baked croissants were everything! We also had dinner twice and it was just so delicious. All were very reasonably priced.
Lastly, it was the little details that really made it perfect. It was my sister’s birthday (I had pre purchased some goodies for her) and all remembered to wish her a great day. Another was that they remembered our favorite table and even held it reserved for our dinner.
Oh, and the hotel was perfectly situated in the city! Everything was within walking distance.
I have already recommended this hotel to everyone. Given the opportunity to return,
I will definitely stay again
Date of stay: August 2021
Room Tip: No early check in so plan on the posted times.
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Eelco Douma, Other at Ambassade Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 23 Aug 2021
This is just wonderful, Diana, thank you very much for your reservation and thank you most of all for these fantastic words!!!
We are so proud reading you appeciated the hotel's services from the moment you started contacting us through the check-out and everyting in-between.
We all do hope to have the pleasure of seeing you and your sister again at the Ambassade Hotel.
Thank you once again, from everyone,
Eelco
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
£182
No prepayment needed
  • Official Site
    £162
  • Agoda.com
    £142
  • Hotels.com
    £207
0.5 miles from Ambassade Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
£176
  • Hotels.com
    £169
  • Vio.com
    £160
  • Expedia.com
    £195
0.9 miles from Ambassade Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
£118
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    £99
  • Agoda.com
    £92
  • Expedia.com
    £106
2.2 miles from Ambassade Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
£66
No prepayment needed
  • Vio.com
    £66
  • ZenHotels.com
    £56
  • Priceline
    £66
1.7 miles from Ambassade Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
Booking.com
£138
  • ibis
    £138
  • travelup.com
    £121
  • Hotels.com
    £138
0.8 miles from Ambassade Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
£128
  • Expedia.com
    £128
  • ZenHotels.com
    £122
  • Hotels.com
    £128
0.6 miles from Ambassade Hotel
Free Wifi
Booking.com
£77
  • Expedia.com
    £85
  • Hotels.com
    £77
  • Vio.com
    £77
2.0 miles from Ambassade Hotel
Free Wifi
Booking.com
£76
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    £76
  • ZenHotels.com
    £73
  • Expedia.com
    £76
1.5 miles from Ambassade Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Official Site
£44
  • Priceline
    £78
  • Vio.com
    £50
  • Agoda.com
    £78
2.5 miles from Ambassade Hotel
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
The Twin Room at the New West Inn Amsterdam
Booking.com
£73
  • Expedia.com
    £69
  • Agoda.com
    £64
  • Priceline
    £67
3.9 miles from Ambassade Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Amsterdam
Reviews (3,008)
Filter reviews
3,008 results
Traveller rating
2,671
286
40
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,671
286
40
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews library bar herengracht canal art collection brasserie restaurant perfect location beautiful hotel quiet canal canal view room nine streets beautiful room within walking distance anne frank house major attractions spent nights walked everywhere visiting amsterdam dam square
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
623 - 628 of 3,008 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2021

The hotel, its staff and Amsterdam in general are all wonderful. The location is just about perfect. It is near everything worth seeing, yet the immediate neighborhood was pleasantly quiet. The Culture in Amsterdam is not what I'm used to, with almost no one is open for early breakfast. Additionally the big sumptuous breakfasts I am used to are not to be found. The Dutch don't do heavy of early breakfast, but that's just the way it is there.

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P1570IJmarkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Eelco Douma, Other at Ambassade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2021

Dear Mark,
We are so glad to read you had a wonderful stay at the Ambassade Hotel and thank you very much for this fantastic review. Really sorry to notice the Dutch breakfast may not be that what you are used to. Choices at the Ambassade Hotel should be very large, but due to covid-restrictions we are still bound to serve breakfast on the tables instead of having our usual buffet....
Hope to do better next time and so to see you again soon!

Best wishes on behalf of all of the staff,
Eelco,
Ambassade Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2021 via mobile

I can say a lot, but was simply perfect, great service, great rooms, amazing location, clean, excellent food, surprisingly perfect
As family of 6 can be challenging but with 2 babies, a 6 years old and a 17 year old teen we had one of our best hotel experiences ever

Room tip: Parking are close by or available from the property, station is at walking distance, 30 minutes and easy, area is full of nice restaurants and shops.
Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank UltimateFamilyTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Eelco Douma, Other at Ambassade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2021

How nice to read that everyone of the family enjoyed their stay at the Ambassade Hotel so much, thank you very much for these great words.
Needless to say, maybe, but it would be wonderful seeing all of you again soon :)

Best regards, also from all of the colleagues,
Eelco Douma,
Ambassade Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2021

We visited Amsterdam on July 20-26, 2021, and stayed at the Ambassade Hotel. When our cab stopped at the hotel, Jasmine came out front to greet us. Before I knew it, she brought our bags inside. The great service of this hotel started with this surprise as I didn't expect anyone to come out and take our luggage. Jasmine gave us an orientation of the hotel and all the services offered. She graciously answered all our questions. Ironically, when it was time to leave it was Jasmine, a wonderful person, and superb staff member, who also checked us out. This added to our special memories of this first-class hotel.
Many other staff members helped us during our stay, including Derek, Lotte, Rudd, and Claudia, I hope I didn't miss a name, each was top-notch and first class. Honestly, this was one of the best hotels we have ever stayed at. If we go to Amsterdam again, which we one day plan to, this is the place we will stay. Our room overlooked the canal, get this option if it is available. The room was beautiful with a spacious and modern bathroom as well.
The location of the hotel is within walking distance to many great places and restaurants.
Two restaurants I would recommend would be Lucius for seafood and Antonios for Italian food. There are many places with outdoor seating and you could walk to discover these.
We did a canal cruise, visited the Rijksmusem, and took to "Free Walking Tours" you can book them online. We did one in Amsterdam and one in Utrech, a short train ride away, with Iris. You tip what you wish at the end of the tour, both were great. I would also recommend the guided 5 hour bus trip to the windmills.
To sum it all up, we are so glad we chose the Ambassade !!

Room tip: Highly recommend canal view if available.
Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Eelco Douma, Other at Ambassade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2021

Dear Sal,
it is so kind of you to take the time and write about your experiences at the Ambassade Hotel, but most of all to see you took the effort of memorizing the names of all the staff. So wonderful, thank you very much!
It was a pleasure having you as our guests and we do certainly hope to see you back at the Ambassade Hotel some day.

with best regards from everyone of the team,
Eelco,
Ambassade Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2021 via mobile

Super nice staff, super clean, great area. We loved this boutique hotel. Our room was a nice size and the bathroom was very nice. We enjoyed the bar. Staff is very accommodating. The only negative was our room was overlooking the canal and close to the street so we had some noise. Would definitely stay again.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank mpcharles2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Eelco Douma, Other at Ambassade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2021

Thank you, Mr and Mrs Charles, we are really happy to read you enjoyed your time in Amsterdam and at the Ambassade Hotel.
Sorry to read about the noise: there has been done some roadworks along the hotel, on behalf of the citycouncil recently, this will not happen again during your hopefully next stay.

Thank you once again on behalf of the entire staff,
Eelco Douma,
Ambassade Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2021

Great hotel; the location was perfect, the rooms clean. We were able to walk to all of the museums, the canals, and the shopping areas from the hotel. The staff was great, so helpful and pleasant. It was a great stay and I would stay at this hotel again.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank N7141MWmariad
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Eelco Douma, Other at Ambassade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2021

We thank you so much for taking the time to write these kind words.
And above all it's so good to read you wish to stay again!!!

With warmest regards from all of the staff,
Eelco,
Ambassade Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews