We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected in the slightest!”
Review of Avenue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Avenue Hotel
Ranked #169 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not what I expected in the slightest!”
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

As my boyfriend is a previous guest at this hotel and had a pleasant stay in 2011 I was expecting at least some expectations, but I think a hostel would of been cleaner!
The staff are ok, seemed quite offish when asked to change room but we had no other option to complain after the state of our beds. The 'pillow' was like a ball of fluff that made no use what so ever, we are not one to complain but a decent pillow should be standard in every 3 star!! The floors are mouldy and was never cleaned. All marks over walls that were brown, dirty and needed updating. The shower would just flood the bathroom as there is no drain for the water to go anywhere!
We also got up late one day and left the sign on the door for our room to be cleaned then came back to a very unpleasant sight in the toilet!! We were in shock that staff would behave this way. In my eyes this is not acceptable for the price we payed.

Overall I payed around £80 a night, I felt £30 would of been generous. Seriously if you are thinking of booking, do look at The Convent! A little extra money but you get what you pay for!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurenwin11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    667
    341
    142
    77
See reviews for
193
570
140
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
137 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed here last weekend (Mar 7th) for the weekend. Location is very central and is walking distance from Centraal Station.
Decor is dated and very economy motel style. The bathroom was very small and badly in need of a refurb. I have stayed in plenty of city center hotels with bigger bathrooms, even slightly bigger.
Our room overlooked an inner enclosed courtyard (or more realistically the air con. vents)
It was at the end of a hall so not much traffic past the door but we were woken each morning with house keeping knocking on our neighbours doors.

A review here said that the hotel had a notice up offering a full refund for favourable Tripadvisor review but we did not see such a notice nor were we approached by the staff.

Breakfast was included but while an All-You-Can-Eat buffet it was limited in choice (&quality). The poorest aspect was the fresh fruit, just two types of melon chunks with a very bitter yogurt.
An automated coffee machine was not the highest quality either.
On the plus side the scrambled egg was pretty good for a hotel buffet, tasted fresh and not the usual rubbery consistency.

Not sure on the value as the weekend away was a gift from my partner. He booked it blind on the recommendation of a local travel agent with no reviews.

Overall the location is the biggest selling point.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TWPF100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I stayed at the Avenue with a friend who had not visited the city before. The location cannot be faulted and the full and varied breakfast set you up for the day. The staff Arthur, Marina and Sebastian were great and nothing was too much trouble, they were a great advert for the hotel group. Some of the rooms were very small but ours was changed without too much bother so ask for a room like 214 or similar standard and you will be Ok. The ice machine downsatirs was also a bonus. All in all a very pleasant stay. There was a little noise from the alley at the side but this is a city centre hotel so what do you expect. A pair of ear plugs will always solve the problem. I usually stay a nothing less than 4 star but I will stay at the Avenue again, it was perfect for my needs and priced in the right range. I enjoyed myself as did my friend on his first trip to the Dam.

Room Tip: ask for a room of the standard of 214
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Supercad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

This is a typical short stay tourist hotel looking just a little shabby at the edges. BUT you cant beat the location and the beds were very comfortable. It was a short stroll directly opposite Central Station.
If you are a big eater at breakfast then there is by far enough of a good selection to set you up for the day. With decent orange juice and good coffee.
We stayed in a room for 3 just off the reception - room 098. Decent space but was a bit of a smell coming from flood drain in show. We just kept the door closed and it took care of the problem.
Would stay here again

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susi-of-london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We have just returned home from another trip to Amsterdam........having stayed in the Avenue many times in the past this was our first visit back to the hotel in 5 years. This weekend was a special trip for a friend so we picked the Avenue based purely on excellent past experiences.

The hotel is clean, the staff are welcoming and the central location makes it an excellent place to base your trip around. Another reason why we choose the Avenue was because of the breakfast.....in my travels around this region I have found many hotels offer a basic breakfast meaning an extra expense every morning in eating outside of the hotel. However the Avenue offers a wide range of hot and cold options from bacon and eggs, through to cereals, fruit, pastries and a more contential style breakfast as well as a wide selection of drinks.

I fully recommend and will no doubt be booking my trip back soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Nice hotel, good beds and ok breakfast, clean, quite and a perfect location. A few minutes walking from the Central station, tram- and buss-station, and shoppingcentre. We stayed her for 2 days and can recommend it to everybody with a small budget but still wants to sleep decently.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Willem K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2014

The hotel was in 5 mn walking distance to dam square. The hotel was much like a hostel. It didn't have a mini bar or any watchable tv channels. It was small and quite dirty. The bed was also uncomfortable.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Hazal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#110 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,178 reviews
Centrum
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
#164 of 368 in Amsterdam
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#62 of 368 in Amsterdam
900 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#68 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Hotel

Property: Avenue Hotel
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 33, 1012 RD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #169 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Avenue Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A number of historic buildings make up the Avenue Hotel. Part of these premises even dates back to the 17th century. An interesting fact about the building: during the Golden Age it was used as a warehouse by the 'V.O.C.' (United East India Company). Since that time the building has had many different owners and served different purposes. It has now turned into a hotel, that is up to contemporary standards. The rooms are divided over the different parts of the hotel so they all have a unique style and shape. You can reach all floors by elevator. Our 3 star-hotel has 82 comfortable rooms. Furthermore we offer free WIFI-connection and continental breakfast. All our rooms come with a flatscreen-tv, private bathroom with shower and/or bath, airconditioning and a desk. Discover numerous sights in the vicinity of the Avenue Hotel: Dam Square, the Red Light District, The Nine Streets, the canals and several shopping streets can be reached by foot. The hotel staff will gladly answer your questions about the public transport system, museums and excursions. The best way to explore Amsterdam is by bike, we also offer you the posibility to rent a bike. In the video below you will see why this is te best way to explore Amsterdam ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Avenue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing