We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base of operations”
Review of Avenue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Avenue Hotel
Ranked #169 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 27 April 2014

booked in on Tuesday 22nd April for 4 days. Four of us, two couples no children, asked for a nice view from a room when booking, 3rd floor room overlooked blank wall, other rooms and aircon units From the information folder in our room, we could 'upgrade' to a better room and pay more. (are these the ones with a 'nice view'?)
Ideal location for all the attractions of Amsterdam. Hotel staff cheerful and very helpful, even telling us which tram/ bus number to catch.
Rooms were clean(ish) and the housekeeping occured on a daily basis(note to staff - room 305, curtains falling off!). Breakfast was excellent (but surprised to see Dutch guests filling rolls etc and putting into handbags for lunch! Disappointed no tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms, but at least machines in foyer. All in all a nice clean, friendly hotel which I would definitely recommend to friends. Amsterdam is a beautiful city with much to see. Avenue Hotel is an ideal base to explore.

Room Tip: ask about room 'upgrade'. We didn't find out until we got there, no facility when bookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,588)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

549 - 555 of 1,589 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

I was only in Amsterdam for one night on my way back home, but this was a perfect setting and a base for striking out to the areas I wanted to see. A very good and varied breakfast was available and my room was very quiet and cozy for what I wanted.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank officematt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

The Avenue Hotel is pleasantly and conveniently located not far from the Central Railway Station and close to a metro-stop. Within easy walking distance is the heart of the city, Dam Square.
The hotel is crisply clean and painted in happy colors.
Fine and efficiently friendly reception. Fast lifts.
My single room was located in the attic and it was larger than I'd been led to think. Immaculately clean. Good bathroom with nice hot water. Comfortable bed. A good working table and also another round table with comfortable chair. Lots of windows to open. Bathroom equipped with a nice bath. Enough towels.
Breakfast is included in the room price. A really good hot breakfast with a large assortment of anything you might want. And the breakfast room is nicely spacious.
Hotel highly recommended.
But... One caveat: you're likely to be disappointed if you want to use the internet intensely. WiFi is slow and intermittent.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stoic1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Was staying at this hotel 13th april this year for 4 days. I have to say I would not go back. The room was really dirty, the nets have not been washed for years, the curtains were covered in food, the windows were grotty and just down right dirty, needs adressing and we wont be back, sorry.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Stayed in April 2014 for several days whilst on business in Amsterdam. The room was pretty average, but the hotel internet was just dreadfully slow and unresponsive, with web search pages taking minutes to complete, if at all, and many times with complete drop outs or pages failing to complete after minutes. This was despite a 'strong' signal, and of course, I did politely ask the Hotel Management to get their internet service provider to sort out the issues. I honestly cannot recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to do any kind of serious business work that involves you being able to access email or the internet. On the breakfast front, it was pretty basic and bland cold cuts of processed meats, and rather obviously 'canned' fruit salad - but the 'hot' buffet of salty scrambled eggs and baked beans was really unacceptable - hotels that do not pay more attention to their presentation of breakfast are destined to go the way of the dinosaurs - they have to think from a corporate perspective about being seen to do better to survive. Cleanliness in the bedroom was unremarkable, but the cleaner omitted to replace an empty loo paper roll - so sure I can (and did) go and ask the front desk for another one, but it's not nice as a customer to have to do this when there are other people queuing for attention as well. So my overall rating of the hotel is low, personally I would never consider this hotel again next time I am on business in Amsterdam, and I really don;t want to influence other people, but anyone reading this should perhaps look at the many other hotels in the immediate vicinity.

Room Tip: Look at all of the reviews of other nearby Hotels, and good luck
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ABusinessTraveller5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed here for one night after our river cruise on the Rhine. I was there with my sister and our senior citizen parents. The hotel is conveniently located to all the sites in the city, and not a long walk from the train station and area where the boats are docked. (I'm a walker though. For people not used to walking a lot, I would suggest a cab to the boats or train station.)

We were in a suite for four people, which was essentially two small rooms with an open doorway between them. (So don't expect any real privacy except in the bathroom.) The bathroom is also not especially large for the number of people this room sleeps.

But overall, we were happy with it because of the location and the decent price.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenniferLGD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Great 3 night break. Clean hotel. Good hearty self service buffet breakfast.
Comfy rooms albeit a bit on the small side and bathrooms size of a broom cupboard.
Great location to Central station and Dam square and an ideal basic sleeping hole.
Would recommend and would certainly book again. Thank you.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Landscape100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
#179 of 375 in Amsterdam
965 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#117 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,262 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#54 of 375 in Amsterdam
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Centrum
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rho Hotel
Rho Hotel
#134 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Hotel

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 33, 1012 RD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #169 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £78 - £260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Avenue Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A number of historic buildings make up the Avenue Hotel. Part of these premises even dates back to the 17th century. An interesting fact about the building: during the Golden Age it was used as a warehouse by the 'V.O.C.' (United East India Company). Since that time the building has had many different owners and served different purposes. It has now turned into a hotel, that is up to contemporary standards. The rooms are divided over the different parts of the hotel so they all have a unique style and shape. You can reach all floors by elevator. Our 3 star-hotel has 82 comfortable rooms. Furthermore we offer free WIFI-connection and continental breakfast. All our rooms come with a flatscreen-tv, private bathroom with shower and/or bath, airconditioning and a desk. Discover numerous sights in the vicinity of the Avenue Hotel: Dam Square, the Red Light District, The Nine Streets, the canals and several shopping streets can be reached by foot. The hotel staff will gladly answer your questions about the public transport system, museums and excursions. The best way to explore Amsterdam is by bike, we also offer you the posibility to rent a bike. In the video below you will see why this is te best way to explore Amsterdam ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Avenue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing