We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Avenue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Avenue Hotel
Ranked #167 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The first room was leaking through the air conditioner. Not suitable. Second triple room was only a double with roll out 3rd bed and very small for 3 people. No price reduction. No fridge, kettle or basic toiletries like tissues. Breakfasts were OK but hygiene of staff returning crockery needed hygiene training.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas G N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    667
    340
    142
    77
See reviews for
193
569
139
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This hotel is located very near the main station, which is an ideal location to explore Amsterdam, but a bit noisy due to his location in one of the main roads. We stay in a triple room which was a bit small in terms of space but reasonable tolerated for short stays like ours. The room looked a bit tired and only one of the ceiling lights was working. No phone in the room. Breakfast very reasonable. The only problem happen when we were returning to the hotel at around 23h and the door to the hotel was closed. We use the doorbell but it took a while for someone to open the door, worst part was when I confronted the reception staff with this, he didn't even apologize. Overall, a good place to stay for a short trip.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank santosanasofia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed in Avenue Hotel Amsterdam for weekend. lovely staff, couldn't do enough to make our stay a pleasant one. Lovely pleasant staff at breakfast and plenty of food.Cleaning up immediately when a table was empty. Would highly recommend as close to trams,train, cruises and tour buses and some museums. nice restaurants too.

Room Tip: Take pot luck as we only slept there really used as a base.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank enda n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

On our honeymoon so disappointing to have two beds made with separate linen, can understand the push together idea but not linen!
Great breakfasts, cooked foods, cereals, breads, rolls, whatever you want.
Tiny bath but good pressure in showers. Clean, warm.
Great location, can walk to main areas and accessible to tourist info centres..
Biggest disappointment was unfriendly attitude from all staff except young lady on check out. Treated like we were invisible, request for extra pillow ( only one per bed, no extra s or spare linen in room) told to ask tomorrow!
Asked for extra key tag as only received one, made to feel like it was unreasonable and suggested that as we were together why did we need one.
Lots of other options in area, probably would chose a different one next time for comparison.

Room Tip: Get a second key, there is no electricity unless key tag in situ, you may need to leave iPads etc on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 287PurpleTulip123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

we had a disaster with an airbnb booking getting cancelled on us at the very last moment! To their credit airbnb were FANTASTIC in getting us an alternative place to stay and paying the difference as this was an extremely busy time to visit Amsterdam and there were absolutely no rooms in almost the entire city!

Unfortunately, this hotel was where was left and they charged a ridiculous price!

The building from the outside looks promising, and it's a good location for a short stay in the city- a few minutes walk from the central train station. The rooms have a slight musty smell about them, a little like a hotel that used to allow smoking but hasn't updated the soft furnishings since! I would say basic at best. Very basic decor but it was clean and the bedding was clean so fine if you're not too fussy and you get a good price!! the astronomical price we paid has certainly skewed my review as it wasn't value for money in anyway.

Breakfast is served buffet style downstairs and they cram the tables in so much it isn't a very relaxed start to the day. The food itself is OK, pretty average and certainly nothing to rave about. Basic coffees/teas and juice included.

The rooms were clean but rough round the edges with quite a bit of wear and tear, particularly in the bathroom.

Does have free wifi for your entire stay. The reception staff were very friendly and efficient.

If you just need somewhere clean and safe to stay for a quick city trip AND you can get a good price then go for it. If you want somewhere a bit more special/romantic or you have longer in the city than two nights then I would avoid.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaMarie84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

booked in on Tuesday 22nd April for 4 days. Four of us, two couples no children, asked for a nice view from a room when booking, 3rd floor room overlooked blank wall, other rooms and aircon units From the information folder in our room, we could 'upgrade' to a better room and pay more. (are these the ones with a 'nice view'?)
Ideal location for all the attractions of Amsterdam. Hotel staff cheerful and very helpful, even telling us which tram/ bus number to catch.
Rooms were clean(ish) and the housekeeping occured on a daily basis(note to staff - room 305, curtains falling off!). Breakfast was excellent (but surprised to see Dutch guests filling rolls etc and putting into handbags for lunch! Disappointed no tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms, but at least machines in foyer. All in all a nice clean, friendly hotel which I would definitely recommend to friends. Amsterdam is a beautiful city with much to see. Avenue Hotel is an ideal base to explore.

Room Tip: ask about room 'upgrade'. We didn't find out until we got there, no facility when bookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I was only in Amsterdam for one night on my way back home, but this was a perfect setting and a base for striking out to the areas I wanted to see. A very good and varied breakfast was available and my room was very quiet and cozy for what I wanted.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank officematt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#108 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,177 reviews
Centrum
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
#163 of 367 in Amsterdam
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#62 of 367 in Amsterdam
899 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Hotel

Property: Avenue Hotel
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 33, 1012 RD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #167 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Avenue Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A number of historic buildings make up the Avenue Hotel. Part of these premises even dates back to the 17th century. An interesting fact about the building: during the Golden Age it was used as a warehouse by the 'V.O.C.' (United East India Company). Since that time the building has had many different owners and served different purposes. It has now turned into a hotel, that is up to contemporary standards. The rooms are divided over the different parts of the hotel so they all have a unique style and shape. You can reach all floors by elevator. Our 3 star-hotel has 82 comfortable rooms. Furthermore we offer free WIFI-connection and continental breakfast. All our rooms come with a flatscreen-tv, private bathroom with shower and/or bath, airconditioning and a desk. Discover numerous sights in the vicinity of the Avenue Hotel: Dam Square, the Red Light District, The Nine Streets, the canals and several shopping streets can be reached by foot. The hotel staff will gladly answer your questions about the public transport system, museums and excursions. The best way to explore Amsterdam is by bike, we also offer you the posibility to rent a bike. In the video below you will see why this is te best way to explore Amsterdam ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Avenue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing