We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just right”
Review of Avenue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Avenue Hotel
Ranked #170 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just right”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Just what we needed. Great location and great staff. Room could have done with a lick of paint but it was great. No shower curtain though which meant the floor got very wet. Breakfast was amazing - perfect!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    670
    344
    142
    78
See reviews for
194
576
142
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The hotel is ideally placed for most of the tourist attractions. Just a short walk from the Central Station and a stones throw away from Dam Square.
Our room was quite compact but the bed was very comfortable and everything spotlessly clean. There was no tea making facility in the room but if you ask at reception they will lend you a kettle for a refundable 20euro deposit. You can then get free tea bags etc from a vending machine.
Breakfast was good with a wide range of foods on offer. There was continental as well as scrambled eggs. DIY toast and bacon.
We would certainly come back another time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not overlook the busy main street as it could be noisy. We did and it was l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sprond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle England
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This hotel is very close to Amsterdam central station , so it's a great place to base yourself ....the rooms are really neat and tidy , the breakfast was very nice self service and unhurried .....
The staff at reception were very helpful and pleasant at talk to . They pointed us in the right direction every time we asked ...there are a lot of pubs and restaurants around this hotel so no problem there ..All in all a very happy stay ..will be returning :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulwylie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I have nothing really bad to say about this hotel except it's more a B&B than what I recognise as a hotel - no bar, restaurant or coffee shop only drinks( hot and cold) from a vending machine. The bed was comfortable but I prefer a double bed and would have requested a move if I'd have been staying longer than 3 nights. The room was clean and there was a TV with BBC 1&2 which was not expected. There was only a small cupboard with 3 coat hangers and a couple of shelves (again only suitable for a short stay). There was liquid all purpose soap gel and if you don't like getting your hair wet take a shower cap.The breakfast was good in both quality and choice and with a 3 hours dining slot. The staff were helpful and amiable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steph r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Came here with my old school friends and was impressed by reception on initial entry. Up to our triple rooms; little better than expected. Turned down my bed, found dried blood (that wasn't mine) on the sheets. My friends started unpacking, and found a used Band-Aid on the floor, once again not ours. But, there was a lovely huge window that opened up completely onto the street. Breakfast was traditionally continental, DEFINITELY recommend the potatoes because oh my they are beautiful. Easy to check in and out, pretty good staff (although they still didn't change my sheets after I asked them to), just the hygiene standards need to be rethought quite considerably!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights the room was basic but clean and comfy, central location walking distance from Central station literally over the road, breakfast good variety,free wifi would use again if we go back. You get what you pay for!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tasha1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed at the Avenue hotel in Amsterdam with friends this weekend and if you want a decent budget hotel then the Avenue is for you. Comfy beds in clean room with decent toilet and shower and a good breakfast. All this and in a great location in walking distance from Central station and all the attractions of Amsterdam. Well worth staying especially if you want a great base in a central location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room off the road side as trams might keep you awake if having an early night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Huddy1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#109 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,192 reviews
Centrum
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
#167 of 367 in Amsterdam
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#58 of 367 in Amsterdam
916 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#66 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Hotel

Property: Avenue Hotel
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 33, 1012 RD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #170 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Avenue Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A number of historic buildings make up the Avenue Hotel. Part of these premises even dates back to the 17th century. An interesting fact about the building: during the Golden Age it was used as a warehouse by the 'V.O.C.' (United East India Company). Since that time the building has had many different owners and served different purposes. It has now turned into a hotel, that is up to contemporary standards. The rooms are divided over the different parts of the hotel so they all have a unique style and shape. You can reach all floors by elevator. Our 3 star-hotel has 82 comfortable rooms. Furthermore we offer free WIFI-connection and continental breakfast. All our rooms come with a flatscreen-tv, private bathroom with shower and/or bath, airconditioning and a desk. Discover numerous sights in the vicinity of the Avenue Hotel: Dam Square, the Red Light District, The Nine Streets, the canals and several shopping streets can be reached by foot. The hotel staff will gladly answer your questions about the public transport system, museums and excursions. The best way to explore Amsterdam is by bike, we also offer you the posibility to rent a bike. In the video below you will see why this is te best way to explore Amsterdam ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Avenue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing