We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel”
Review of Avenue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Avenue Hotel
Ranked #172 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This hotel is a collection of buildings connected into one hotel. On the edge of the Red Light district but very quiet inside. Walking distance from Amsterdam Central Station, on a main transit route and close to a lot of what I wanted to see. Shopping, restaurants and many historic sites are close at hand.The breakfast provided was good and had a good selection, a great way to start the day. Clean, convenient and the staff are very helpful. Not perfect but I would happily return.
** If you walk across the street from the hotel, and a block down an alley there are Red Light windows and a Bulldog "Cafe"(closed until 6:00pm because they're in a school zone!!!) **

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,568)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

515 - 521 of 1,568 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Well after reading reviews on here I was really worried. Ignore them. Me and my partner went for 2 nights and it was fine. The hotel is nothing special but it was clean, breakfast was really nice and it was 5 minutes to Dam Square and about 15-20 minutes walk to Anne Franks house. We went with Thomas Cook who said check in was 10.... it was not till 2pm but we left our luggage locked in a room and it was fine. If you are looking for something swanky this isnt the place for you. If you want somewhere to sleep and shower thats fine. Air con is really good. Though girls, the shower did not detatch so if you dont want to get your hair wet this could be an issue. Reception were very helpful especially when we had to arrange our shuttle back to the airport. I was on the phone ages and she dialled 4 times for me. You do have to pay tax when you get there. I think it was around €15. Hopefully this helps someone.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Nice and clean breakfast was nice,hotel was nothing special but easy to get to some rooms including ours was by the lift and backed on to a generator at the rear so ask.....found our way to and from dam sq after 1st night,...July 15-17th 2014....

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Tonypw58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Loved the location of this hotel, stayed for two nights. Unfortunately the hotel room was very small and dark, we had the smallest window - more like an air vent the size of a catflap, this made the room extremely dark and stuffy as not a lot of air got through due to the window opening up onto other walls - therefore we also had no view of anything at all.
The pillows could do with updating as they were extremely lumpy, bed was standard. We were supposed to have tea and coffee making facilities in the room but we didn't have them which was a shame as they state that every room does have them. We had some other friends who stayed at this hotel and they got a lovely size room which was bright and airy with a huge window opening up onto the Main Street - much better than ours. So make sure you ask and try avoid room 109 at all cost!! Staff are great and very helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Catebrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Just what we needed. Great location and great staff. Room could have done with a lick of paint but it was great. No shower curtain though which meant the floor got very wet. Breakfast was amazing - perfect!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The hotel is ideally placed for most of the tourist attractions. Just a short walk from the Central Station and a stones throw away from Dam Square.
Our room was quite compact but the bed was very comfortable and everything spotlessly clean. There was no tea making facility in the room but if you ask at reception they will lend you a kettle for a refundable 20euro deposit. You can then get free tea bags etc from a vending machine.
Breakfast was good with a wide range of foods on offer. There was continental as well as scrambled eggs. DIY toast and bacon.
We would certainly come back another time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not overlook the busy main street as it could be noisy. We did and it was l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank sprond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This hotel is very close to Amsterdam central station , so it's a great place to base yourself ....the rooms are really neat and tidy , the breakfast was very nice self service and unhurried .....
The staff at reception were very helpful and pleasant at talk to . They pointed us in the right direction every time we asked ...there are a lot of pubs and restaurants around this hotel so no problem there ..All in all a very happy stay ..will be returning :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank paulwylie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#118 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,246 reviews
Centrum
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
#176 of 373 in Amsterdam
957 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#56 of 373 in Amsterdam
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Centrum
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Hotel

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 33, 1012 RD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #172 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £87 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Avenue Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A number of historic buildings make up the Avenue Hotel. Part of these premises even dates back to the 17th century. An interesting fact about the building: during the Golden Age it was used as a warehouse by the 'V.O.C.' (United East India Company). Since that time the building has had many different owners and served different purposes. It has now turned into a hotel, that is up to contemporary standards. The rooms are divided over the different parts of the hotel so they all have a unique style and shape. You can reach all floors by elevator. Our 3 star-hotel has 82 comfortable rooms. Furthermore we offer free WIFI-connection and continental breakfast. All our rooms come with a flatscreen-tv, private bathroom with shower and/or bath, airconditioning and a desk. Discover numerous sights in the vicinity of the Avenue Hotel: Dam Square, the Red Light District, The Nine Streets, the canals and several shopping streets can be reached by foot. The hotel staff will gladly answer your questions about the public transport system, museums and excursions. The best way to explore Amsterdam is by bike, we also offer you the posibility to rent a bike. In the video below you will see why this is te best way to explore Amsterdam ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avenue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing