We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wouldn't stay again...”
Review of Avenue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Avenue Hotel
Ranked #167 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Salfords, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Wouldn't stay again...”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Upon arrival staff weren't the most welcoming, seemed very miserable and like they just wanted to go home, i know we all have those days but didn't impress me. Came back later to check in to the room (check in earliest 2pm) and got the same sort of response again. The reception desk is probably the nicest looking part of the hotel all very dated. Corridors to rooms not very nice very basic. We were room 408 and i didnt like it all. I understand we did not pay alot but it was so bland. We had no leaflets for a welcome, just beds and a small telly on the way. The dressing table is under the telly with a mirror on the table, however the worst layout as the lamp is screwed into the table and right in the way of the mirror! very frustrating trying to get ready. Bath was pretty grubby and massive burn hole in curtain which freaked me out a bit (picture attached). Also only one pillow each, and they are rock hard and square shaped, didnt sleep very well. Good breakfast however, scrambled eggs were vile but bacon amazing and good selection of cereals and other bits, however rude spanish waitresses, i was told off like a little child for not using the fork for the cheese properly, she moaned that she would have to throw it away if i touched it (which i did not) she was quite patronising. It was a great location and cheap but i wouldn't stay again i have been to amsterdam 3 times now and paid around the same price for accommodation each time and this was my least favourite. I am glad we only stayed one night

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    661
    336
    138
    77
See reviews for
186
564
140
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Strasbourg, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Very tiny rooms, not very clean, a smell of??? floating in the air, the sheets were too narrow for the bed, alamp was missing. very well located indeed, and no to bad breakfast.Noisy.Good Wi-Fi service.

Room Tip: avoid the first floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adriana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This was the 4th time staying in this hotel, and to be honest I will probably pay a little more and stay else where next time. The hotel seems to be looking very tired, and in our corridor, there was rubbish on the floor from the day we arrived to the day we left.
Also , we didn't have any shower gel, so I asked the maid for some, she just swapped the basin soap for the empty shower gel leaving us with no basin soap.
Not massive things to moan about, but just seems to be deteriorating slightly.
Location obviously is the best thing about this hotel

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 44DavidC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Upon check in we were really tired, but the staff was fast and effective. We received a really nice room on the first floor with a great view of our surroundings. The room was large and the bathroom was clean. The location is key, just around the corner from central station. This puts you smack dab in the middle of everything, coffee shops and museums. It's a very cozy location. The hotel doesn't have many amenities like a mini bar or movies to order, but the breakfast was decent. Give it a shot, I'd go back!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank LauraSanengen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington spa
Level Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We spent three nights here on a trip to the Netherlands. 10 minutes walk (at most) from Centraal Station and handy for all the major attractions - all within walking distance. Plenty of bars and eating places in the vicinity. The staff were helpful and friendly. The room was adequate and actually quite big for a city centre hotel - room to sit at a table in comfy chairs plus the two beds. The air con was a blessing and worked well, the free Wi-Fi was a bit intermittent. Breakfast was ok, but not brilliant and very regimented - don't risk turning up a little bit late, the partitioning might already be up!! All in all a good base for a walking tour of Amsterdam.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and were at the rear of the hotel, no street noise, only normal hotel nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Straight to the point: Business / Pleasure stay

Location - Good, not far from red light, harlemstraat, Dam Square, Coffee shops, damrak, Restaurants etc..
Food - average, continental breakfast, wouldn't do 2 days in a row.
Rooms - Poor, seem to have a lack of cleanliness and hygiene, rooms are crowded, Bathroom was the worst of all. Room slept 4 with 2 in the roof like a bunk bed style, cramped conditions!

Would not stay again. It was ok, as we were a group of four young guys crashing for 2 nights. Would not come with the other half or re-recommend, once was enough.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Myself and my partner stayed from Saturday 26th until Thursday 31st of July. We had a room on the first floor which looked out onto a side street so there wasn't too much street noise which I noticed a lot of people have commented on. The room was basic but very comfortable and most importantly clean! We only experienced very minor problems such as lumpy pillows, no do not disturb sign and the tv channel selection is very limited if your only language is English. However the breakfast was fine, the staff lovely and the hotel is only a two minute walk from central station and close to everything! Would definitely recommend if you're looking for somewhere basic.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Naomi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#107 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
Centrum
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
#164 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#63 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Hotel

Property: Avenue Hotel
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 33, 1012 RD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #167 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Avenue Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A number of historic buildings make up the Avenue Hotel. Part of these premises even dates back to the 17th century. An interesting fact about the building: during the Golden Age it was used as a warehouse by the 'V.O.C.' (United East India Company). Since that time the building has had many different owners and served different purposes. It has now turned into a hotel, that is up to contemporary standards. The rooms are divided over the different parts of the hotel so they all have a unique style and shape. You can reach all floors by elevator. Our 3 star-hotel has 82 comfortable rooms. Furthermore we offer free WIFI-connection and continental breakfast. All our rooms come with a flatscreen-tv, private bathroom with shower and/or bath, airconditioning and a desk. Discover numerous sights in the vicinity of the Avenue Hotel: Dam Square, the Red Light District, The Nine Streets, the canals and several shopping streets can be reached by foot. The hotel staff will gladly answer your questions about the public transport system, museums and excursions. The best way to explore Amsterdam is by bike, we also offer you the posibility to rent a bike. In the video below you will see why this is te best way to explore Amsterdam ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avenue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing