We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“modern, clean and comfortable hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Casa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Casa
Ranked #66 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“modern, clean and comfortable hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights,from 9/12 to 9/6/12.
it is a very modern,clean ,well presented hotel.
The room was nicely decorated,spacious and very clean and had air conditioner, refrigerator and a kettle. And since breakfast was included in our stay it was a big plus.
The reception staff spoken excellent English and were extremely knowledgeable and helpful.
I would like to mention the night staff that took care of us on the day of the arrival and male employee that worked 9/4 12 during the day that gave us the directions to Zaanse Schans.Thank you very much!
The hotel was located outside of central Amsterdam, but was only a few minutes walk from Amstel Station, which was then only about 10 minutes metro ride to Amsterdam Central Station and all the main sights of Amsterdam.
The hotel also had a secure parking lot which was a big plus too.
We really enjoyed staying in the Casa 400 Hotel and would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank larisa_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    923
    1,293
    232
    52
    33
See reviews for
218
1,083
137
421
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

This review would have been quite a good one had it not been for the tendency of the house maids to get their hands on guests' properties; and the staff completely unhelpful and rude.
The hotel is nice, good rooms, new furniture, the mattress was excellent. The buffet breakfast complete and quite a selection to choose from.
We were stolen two vials of bespoke perfume from the inside of a bagpack, two vials that were inside their storage envelopes and inside a ziplock transparent bag, inside a bagpack.
After leaving the room Saturday morning, when arriving back bags and shoes had been placed inside the closet and SURPRISE two 5 ml each vials with a bespoke perfume from Floris Perfumers in London (250 GBP for 100 ml) were missing from inside one of the bagpacks.
I travel all over the world and I have left in the room every kind of things on the desks when leaving in the morning, from cash to ipods and more; and I have never seen any of these things, visible when arriving to the room, dissapear.

Of course, after searching for these vials, it was reported to the hotel staff during the check out on Sunday. I was said they would ask and let me know about the answer when arriving back to pick up my bags.

One would at least expect an apology and the duty manager to have a word, but not in this hotel, where I was treated as if I were making it up and dismissed with no apology and with no word from any duty manager.

My advice, do not go to this hotel, do not book it and if you do so, do not leave even a shoelace in it.

What was due to have been a nice experience and a very good review turned out to be a complete disaster and a very angry customer who recommends potential customers of this hotel to check the Mercure and other ones that are just one metro stop away and have an international reputation for treating their customers as customers an as their only revenue generator. Casa 400 must live in a different reality, as they treat customers as robbers and protect the robbers they have inside.

A disgraceful experience and there is NOTHING this hotel can do to make me change my mind. After the way customers are treated, this hotel is in my black list.

By the way, a sum of more than 300 EUR was spent in this hotel for just 2 nights. Quite a way to treat a customer who spends such an amount of money in just two nights.

So, my review has a very clear conclusion DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL, they will literally rob you and then treat you as if you were the burglar.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Roberto M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCasa400, Manager at Hotel Casa, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Dear Roberto M,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor, I am happy to see you were satisfied with your stay besides the most concerning issue of your missing parfume. Although, I am shocked to read you feel our hotel staff treated you as a burglar yourself, I believe this should never be the intention of Casa 400.
For that, I offer you my sincere apologies. Please be informed, we will follow upon the reported complain and please contact me in person, to share more details through b.egbring@casa400.nl.

Once again, please understand this is something we can learn from in the way we treat our customers.

Thank you and hope to be in touch soon!
Kind regards,
Bernadine Egbring
Rooms Division Manager Hotel Casa 400
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

Myself and my partner stayed in the Casa 400 for 4 nights for a sight-seeing break. We purposely chose the hotel based on the fact it was slightly out of the city centre and was a good alternative to staying in a hostel. Although the hotel is not located in the centre its close proximity to Amstel station was great for getting quickly to all the tourist hotspots.

The reception staff where really friendly and spoke excellent English, they even offered to hold our bags in a luggage room ( free of charge) while we spent our last day exploring the city (we had a late flight that evening). We never had dealings with the bar/restaurant staff as we didnt book to have meals included and so ate while we where out.

Granted our double room wasn't huge but a fair size in comparison to other hotels, especially in Amsterdam. It was also nice to have the option of a non-smoking hotel in an area famous for its weed-smoking tourists. The only thing that I didnt like about the room was the shower, as it left the floor extremely slippy and even though it was quite small the floor seemed to take forever to dry!

All in all I would recommend Hotel Casa 400 for couples or friends looking for a base to explore Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fosterlily
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

We stayed in the Casa 400 hotel as we had our car with us and needed a hotel with a secure car park. We were warned in advance that our room would have very limited space as we needed a single bed and a cot in our room for our two young children, however, we were given a very large room with lots of space for all four of us. Our room very extremely quiet, very clean and had plenty of storage. The room was also very dark when the curtains were shut, so a good nights sleep was had by all of us! Beds were all very comfortable, the only complaint we had was that the pillows were typical hotel pillows in that you had to fold them up to make them thick enough to use!

The reception staff spoken excellent English and were extremely knowledgable and helpful. The breakfast was free which was an added bonus and was very enjoyable with an excellent selection of hot and cold buffet choices.

The hotel was located outside of central Amsterdam, but was only a few minutes walk from Amstel Station, which was then only a seven minute metro ride to Amsterdam Central Station and all the main sights of Amsterdam. There were trains every few minutes so being slightly out of the city centre was no problem at all, even with two young children (ages 2 and 5).

The car parking was very secure, you could access it from the hotel with your room card and parking ticket, so passers-by couldn't get in. The parking was also cheaper (21 Euro per full day) than most other hotels that we looked at that only had on street parking.

We really enjoyed staying in the Casa 400 Hotel and would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone. The hotel gives the impression of being a business type hotel, but as a family we felt very welcome there and would definately recommend this hotel to other families. The staff and their families made every effort to make us and our children welcome, they even left little teddy bears in their beds for them to keep, which was a very nice gesture.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fosterlily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

We requested a non-smoking room, which is not too much to ask in a non-smoking hotel. However, as soon as we stepped into our room, the smell of stale smoke was apparent. We phoned reception, and agreed to have someone spray the room. However that did not completely eliminate the problem, as the stale smoke was actually in the towels. Did this mean the person who previously stayed in this room smoked in the bathroom and contaminated the towels? Therefore, were the towels changed before we arrived???
We were unfortunate to also experience another issue. Whilst relaxing in our room, the door was unlocked and another client entered our room. They had mistaken our room for theirs. But how did their security key work on our door? We immediately contacted reception, who attended to this security issue immediately, cancelled our door key and gave us another.
2 big mistakes in one day, is a bit off putting to us. We have been travelling around and not experienced anything quite like it before!

Room Tip: Rooms not facing the new building being constructed next door, would be a bit quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCasa400, Manager at Hotel Casa, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
Dear Lynette,

Thank you for sharing your feedback! Your feedback is valuable to us to learn from.

After research, we learned, the door of your room did not close sufficiently as our manager on duty reported that day, engineering took care of this issue.
Also the hotel employees will take appropiate action upon the non smoking policy as folllow up is important to avoid any scense of the guests staying before.

I appreciate you by taking your time and sharing your concerns with us and hope to do welcome you and your friends in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me personally by then through email; b.egbring@casa400.nl.

Kind regards,
Bernadine Egbring
Rooms Division Manager Hotel Casa 400
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

I was in Amsterdam for business, and spent a week at the CASA. Way too long to be there.
Its new, clean, and bright, but its more like student accommodation.
The rooms are small and boring, but there is free wifi throughout - rather frustrating that you have to re-authorize your device each time you go from one hotspot to another (e.g. room to bar or lobby), so with a smart phone you think you are connected but not really.
Breakfast is like a mad house free for all and was often out of fresh hot food items, whole fruits, and juices.
Food and service in the bar restaurant were both mediocre and hit and miss. The bar/restaurant manager was good.
Its a pity but it seems that Amsterdam hotels survive on short stay tourists and conventions at the Rai - neither of which demand a good level of service.
I will not stay at the CASA in future.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCasa400, Manager at Hotel Casa, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
Dear David,

First of all, I would like to thank you for your time by providing us your given feedback!

On one side you point out our strengths as a new, clean and bright hotel and I will forward the compliments to our restaurant manager. However, you also point out our learning points in atmosphere in the room, breakfast service, as well as different secured connections in our free wi-fi areas. I would like to get in touch with you personally to share your experiences in depth and our needed actions to take to improve this in the future, e.g. we do intend to invest in upgrading atmosphere in our rooms. Your given feedback then, would be even more valuable to us!

Please do not hesitate to contact me personally through email; b.egbring@casa400.nl.

Kind regards,
Bernadine Egbring
Rooms Division Manager Hotel Casa 400
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hasselt, Belgium
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

I stayed for the first time in Casa 400.

Reception desk staff are very friendly and efficient.
Clean environment.
Rooms are clean but rather basic. One large table, an empty fridge (=no minibar) shower only.
The room does not give a "home"feeling, rather a functional feeling. Good to sleep and shower.
The beds are very basic with too hard matrasses, at least to my feeling. No ability to control temparature in the room.
Free wifi throughout the hotel.
Nice bar.
Excellent breakfast with plenty of choice.
All staff are friendly, helpfull and form a young and dynamic team.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Volkshotel
#44 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Internationaal
Hotel Internationaal
#176 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
#102 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa

Property: Hotel Casa
Address: Eerste Ringdijkstraat 4, 1097BC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#42 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#45 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Casa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa Amsterdam is a unique brand new three star hotel in Amsterdam. The hotel offers many facilities for a pleasant stay. Service and hospitality are important factors at Hotel Casa Amsterdam. You will feel more than welcome. All rooms are light and spacious and are equipped with free Wi-Fi, a flatscreen TV, a refrigerator and an en-suite bathroom. "Experience a reliable and creative hospitality at Hotel Casa Amsterdam!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotelopia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Casa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa 400 Amsterdam
Casa 400 Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing