We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Utilitarian at best”
Review of Hotel Citadel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Citadel
Ranked #116 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Utilitarian at best”
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

Our travel agent booked this, never again. The lobby and breakfast area looked ok, but our room was the most dark, depressing hotel room I think I've ever stayed in, right down to what appeared to be brown ceramic 'tusks' over the bed area??! The room wasn't dirty, but it was resolutely charmless.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsPepys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    434
    172
    42
    23
See reviews for
110
325
100
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel recently decorated. Good continental breakfast. Wifi free but weak on some floors, fine in the lobby. Love the Marilyn Monroe and Audrey Hepburn artworks. Very centrally located; within waking distance of the main square, Anne frank house etc

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank greengarden3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Rooms are smallish but in good shape (small but nice bathroom). Location is really good, less than 5 mins from city centre. But expect lots of noise from traffic outside (not for light sleepers), and breakfast buffet is quite basic (no continental stuff).

Room Tip: Rooms toward the street suffer from tramway and traffic noise. Bring earplugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrowbech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Me and my husband stayed here for 2 nights on 14th and 15th nov and we were satisfied with all over experience but we found the price of the hotel little expensive.
The guy at the reception was very helpful and friendly.
Breakfast was nice. Overall a nice experience.

Room Tip: Stay at a room on the 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BhavnaJain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

happy we stayed here, nicely decorated, clean, friendly staff. it was a little cold, and to turn on the heat you basically had to move furniture which we werent going to do. we missed breakfast because we slept too late, as i am sure happens a lot in amsterdam! the staff were very helpful and friendly, let us borrow converters for our phones, etc. gave directions, overall very polite and clean. we were able to check in very early since our room was ready and had a nice room in the front of the hotel with a little balcony. i would stay again for sure.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tarynk07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#109 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,192 reviews
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#58 of 367 in Amsterdam
919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#66 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,027 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
Die Port van Cleve
Die Port van Cleve
#98 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Citadel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Citadel

Property: Hotel Citadel
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorbrugwal 100, 1012 SG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Citadel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Citadel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadel Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing