We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful accommodation and a stones throw from attractions” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Citadel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Citadel
Ranked #112 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful accommodation and a stones throw from attractions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Though the room was small and at times difficult to manouver with my husband and our luggage, it was clean and had charming character. We especially liked the large windows which we could open for fresh air and to admire the views. The location was perfect and we were spoilt for choice on restaurant options. We were also within walking distance to convenient stores, Amsterdam Centrall, the Red Light District and Rijksmuseum (among many others). Our only dislike were the beds as they were quite small.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    417
    159
    41
    21
See reviews for
102
312
98
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Triple room, quite small, but suited us 3 girls.
Hotel was in a great location for visiting all the regular touristy things. 10 mins walk max from the station. We went via the train to Amserdam Central from Airport.
Breakfast good.
Facilities good.
Overall, very pleased with our choice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

I visited this hotel recently, paid quite much even for the centre of Amsterdam and hoped for a quiet room. What I got was a tiny store-room like area painted in lila and dark brown, claustrofobic because the room was very dark, lighting very poor and especially as the window opened to the service-area in the basement, with dirty laundry as my only view and people working c. 20 cm from the "window". There was a shower in the corner of the toilet but nothing else - and everything was in an original state (seventies, I guess). The bed was clean; the breakfast was typical for tourist hotels with "juice" made of coloured water, it seemed. Although this hotel is easy to reach, I do not recommend it for anyone - not for the price of a three star hotel! PS I found a pair of dirty socks under my bed, covered in dust...

Room Tip: Do not ask for a quiet room! Do not travel alone - single travellers are not treated well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Betulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisiana
Level Contributor
76 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Let me get the small negative part out of the way -This hotel would almost be perfect if it were not for the internet. The only place the internet worked was in the lobby. Hopefully management can correct this concern. Now, let me move on to the positive. The staff is top notch! One of the best ever. Extremely friendly, helpful, knowledgeable, and COURTEOUS. They went out of their way to help me add an extra night stay (when they were full), helped with all my special requests, tried to fix the internet, and helped with directions and tour suggestions for whatever I needed. This staff is high quality and is very friendly! Job well done to everyone, but SPECIAL THANK YOU to Joram, night auditor. He was extremely friendly and checked me out at 6 30 in the morning for my early flight, and let me serve myself to breakfast a few minutes earlier and offered me coffee to go. He even walked me out the front door of the hotel and shook hands with me and bid me a safe journey home. This is the type of service that you get from a bed and breakfast, but it is a hotel! For the rest of the hotel, the location is great. Close to everything (tram out front) and 10 minutes to Central Station. Breakfast is great and is nicely catered to. Cold and Hot items with fresh OJ. The hotel is very clean. Rooms are typical size for European standards - especially the single rooms, but were nicely furnished and beds were very comfy. (Some rooms even have a balcony over the street with French doors) The windows open onto the street or courtyard for good ventilation - but no A/c - so not sure if I could make it in summer - but fall/spring/winter is fine. Bathroom had showers with great water pressure. TV and lighting was fine, and the hotel is very safe and maintained. So to sum it up, GREAT hotel stay, great price, EXTREMELY FRIENDLY STAFF, and great location. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Street View Room - Lower Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VPNor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tralee, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Location here is excellent, v close to everything - shopping areas, palacestraat, red light etc. Worth staying for area alone! We stayed on fifth floor & had no problems with noise.Rooms are small but spotless, wifi is intermittent at times would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NShee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

Great location. Only a 5 min walk from Centraal Station.
The room was very clean as was the toilet/wet room.
TV had a number of English channels.
Reception was very friendly.
Only downside was that it was quite noisy. The trams in particular are very loud when one is trying to sleep off a hangover...but that's the cost of having such a good location & not a fault with the hotel.
All in all very good value for money & a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cx152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#114 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#69 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#62 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Cafe Corner House
Hotel Cafe Corner House
#139 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Centrum
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
#141 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Citadel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Citadel

Property: Hotel Citadel
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorbrugwal 100, 1012 SG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Citadel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Citadel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadel Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing