We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No air con!!”
Review of The Albus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Albus
Ranked #67 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No air con!!”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

No airconditioning made for an uncomfortable stay- it affected sleep quality and overall experience of hotel. Windows had to be left open at night which increased Noise from street as our room was at the front of the hotel. Between no air conditioning and subsequent noise, we never had a full nights sleep. No fridge or mini bar in room. Service to the room was also unsatisfactory- card was left out to change sheets, and on that day- thte beds were dressed and towels replaced- I had to go to reception to get shower gel. Unsatisfactory for the price paid. Room was a 'superior room'- it was much smaller than expected for superior room and price. Wouldn't recommend this to fellow travellers.

Room Tip: No rooms have A/C. request room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taco v, Eigenaar at The Albus, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Hello valuable guest,

Thank you for your honest feedback.

I understand that the heat has been inconvenient and I am very sorry to read that it affceted your overall experience. We secretly hope that our helpful staff and extra services can compensate for the discomfort caused by the high temperatures that we are contending this summer.

I take your comments about our housekeeping service very seriously and passed them to our Executive Housekeeper in order to provide more training on this matters.

Again, my sincere apologies!

With kind regards,
Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,881 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    857
    693
    221
    71
    39
See reviews for
247
912
64
209
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
slc
Level Contributor
122 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We arrived at the Albus and were greeted by reception staff who were welcoming and friendly. It was somewhat confusing as the reception staff asked us to sit in the lobby while they were checking us in. It went smoothly but the communication could have been better however, the person checking us in was in training. He did a good job. It was an incredibly hot and humid day, we had traveled all night and were looking forward to getting into our room to take a break. The rooms were very nice, the beds were really comfy and the pillows were awesome!! We LOVED the rooms, they were clean, not overly big but plenty of room. My one complaint is that there is NO air conditioning. Even with the windows open and two fans, it was miserably hot. Maybe it's an American thing but even a window unit would be better than nothing. There was no ventilation. All in all, the only reason I'm not giving a 5 is because of no air. Coffee bar in reception was great, Nespresso machines in the rooms were a nice touch. For extended trips, Dutch Dry cleaners is right next door, take your clothes to them for wash, dry and fold vs. giving it to the hotel to take it, it's much,much cheaper! I would totally stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back of the hotel were very quiet, in front of the hotel there was a bit of traffic noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chupie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taco v, Eigenaar at The Albus, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Hello precious guest,

Thank you for your extended review and wonderful compliments on our staff, the coffee corner and the rooms!

I am happy to read that you have enjoyed a blissful stay with us despite of the heat and I hope to see you again in the Albus soon!

With kind regards,
Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ayrshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

On arrival were greeted with a friendly receptionist who showed us the complimentary coffee bar, she then came over and went through everything. Hotel reception was very stylish and clean. Then we were taken to our room and the facilities in the room explained to us (this created an excellent first impression). Our room was an upgrade to a bigger room and was a good size at the front of the hotel on the 4th floor. The room was well designed and clean. The bathroom was a bit of a let down as it wasn't very large and no bath (slightly dated). Toiletries were gorgeous. Nespresso coffee machine in the room was a fantastic surprise. Plenty of plug points. Extremely comfy beds and the pillows were amazing. Reception staff were amazing and couldn't do enough for us. Only used the bar which had a good variety of drinks and again very friendly staff. Reception even phoned one day to check about housekeeping as we had left our do no disturb on the door and they checked if we wanted anything (much appreciated).
On check out reception organised a taxi for us back to the airport at a fixed price a fantastic service, we were able to pay the hotel and they gave us a voucher for the taxi.
Hotel provided free sunglasses due to the warm weather.
Best hotel for service and have been to many hotels in Amsterdam.
Only downside was the heat - would have been wonderful to have air conditioning in the room and a mini bar would have been ideal.

Room Tip: if you want a quiet room request one at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhnmckill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taco v, Eigenaar at The Albus, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Hello valuable guest,

Thank you very much for taken the time to write such an extended and positive review!

I am glad to read that you appreciate our services, the bedding and the room facilities, but more importantly that our team has been able to really make a difference.

I hope to welcome you again in the Albus soon for another blissful stay!

With kind regards,
Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The location is perfect, the staff is friendly and the rooms are clean and modern. Sounds perfect, right? Unfortunately, the lack of AC made our stay really uncomfortable. The room was so hot we could barely sleep. There was also no minibar or fridge in the room. We upgraded our queen room to a room with a king-size bed. The receptionist said that the king room is way bigger than the queen room. However, our room ended up to be really small. There were 50cm between the tv on the wall and the bed. I wonder how small the queen room would have been! The hotel also had 8 floors and only one slow elevator. The hotel being full this meant waiting for the elevator several minutes everytime you wanted to go up or down.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tuulia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taco v, Eigenaar at The Albus, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Hello precious guest,

Thank you for your feedback! I understand your frustrations about the heat and the waiting times for the lift, however I am afraid that this is sometimes difficult to manage. We do not have airconditioning in the guests rooms, but we try to minimalize the heat as much as possible by providing soundless fans, windows that open and we try to keep the curtains closed during sunny days.

I am glad that you have enjoyed the location, the design and cleanliness of our rooms and that you have experienced our staff friendliness. Therefore I do hope that you will choose to stay in the Albus on your next visit to Amsterdam!

With kind regards,
Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We worried this hotel is more romantic gateway butt we were with young kids.

However it worked out great for us. Stuff was great and helpful (Mariska and another blonde lady from reception helped us a lot)

The pros: comfort , staff , location , good room size

Cons: it is expensive(at least in relation to NA), No AC in the room

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MtlPAPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taco v, General Manager at The Albus, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Hello valuable guest,

Thank you for leaving a review on this website!

I am happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us with your kids as we try to be family friendly and romantic at the same time. I am glad you have enjoyed the spacious room and I hope that you have also made use of the free breakfast that we include for the younger ones when booking a family room.

Hoping to welcome you and your familiy back in the Albus soon!

With kind regards,
Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel's website really made me excited to stay here BUT on arrival the staff were all over the place and didn't seem to know what was going on. There is a hidden €50 deposit in which I hadn't accounted for on my short stay. When you get the deposit back they take tourist tax off it as well around €8 which they didn't mention when they took it. I would have expected to pay this when paying for the hotel before the stay. The room was clean but small and boiling hot. No aircon. Large clean bathroom but looked dated. The bed was nice and comfy but me and my boyfriend ended up with a gap between us. (2 singles pushed together) I was extremely disappointed with the hotel and the price and star rating does not reflect what you are paying for.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank HonestJKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taco v, Eigenaar at The Albus, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Hello valuable guest,

Thank you for your honest feedback!

I am sorry that you were not informed about the € 50,00 deposit as a guarantee for possible extra's and about the 5.5% city tax that all hotels in Amsterdam are obliged to charge. I am not sure which booking channel you have used to make your booking, but we share this information on our website and in our written confirmations. We also mention our deposit policy and city tax levy upon check in. I am very sorry that you missed all this!

We try to communicate as much as possible about our payment policies on other websites as well, however some external booking chennels do not publish this information. Therefore I always recommend to use our own website for your reservations (and best rates guaranteed!).

Do not hesitate to contact me directly if you have any further questions on this matter on lisa@albushotel.com.

With kind regards,
Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Usa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Cool hotel, Robin the girl who greeted us was awesome. Rooms are decent size, clean, and modern, but it has no Air Conditioning, which made our stay uncomfortable. We would rush to get out of the hotel, and dread the time to come back.
The hotel has a great price, but we made the mistake of booking in hotels.com, which charged us 70 Euros more per night!!! I would stay here again but not in the summer and booking directly through the hotel.

Room Tip: Book directly with the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldcitizen22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taco v, Eigenaar at The Albus, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Hello precious guest,

Thank you for your nice compliments on Robin and I am glad to read that you would stay with us again despite of the discomfort that you have expereinced because of the heat. It has been exceptionally warm lately!

Please, do make your next booking through www.albushotel.com or just contact us by e-mail on reservations@albushotel.com for the best rates guaranteed.

I hope to welcome you again soon!

With kind regards,
Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#15 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,595 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#60 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#121 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Albus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Albus

Property: The Albus
Address: Vijzelstraat 49, 1017 HE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#46 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#51 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#64 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Albus 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Albus is a, recently renovated, trendy four star Superior design boutique hotel with 75 rooms that is well located within the famous Canal Belt and a short walk from Dam square, Leidse square, Rembrandt square and many well-known museums. Whether you’re in Amsterdam for business or leisure, this hotel is an excellent choice to explore this lively and vibrant city. Experience a service that’s out of the extraordinary and personalized. Provided by the professional yet down-to-earth friendly hotel staff. Each room in the Albus Hotel Amsterdam City Centre is fully equipped with the newest energy-saving air conditioner system, a 32-inch flat-screen TV, an in-room Nespresso machine with complimentary cups, a safe with laptop charger, free wi-fi, heavenly beds lined with high quality cotton bed linen, luxurious mattresses filled with a combinations of rubber/foam, super snug big pillows for optimum comfort and designer chairs so you can emerge yourself in one. You will feel a sense of bliss when stepping into the gorgeous bathroom. Equipped with a 30 cm rain shower, luxurious toiletries, fluffy towels and bathrobe. The sink-module is one of a kind and especially designed for the Albus. This environmentally friendly and Green Key Gold certified hotel provides complimentary, fast and secure wi-fi throughout the hotel to keep your social networks updated or to let you work with no fuss. Start your day with a generous breakfast buffet with a variety of local and organic products. From healthy tidbits like cereals and grains, fresh fruit, soya milk, Dutch treats to homemade pancakes and fried eggs. We serve Fairtrade and UTZ-certified coffee and tea. Don’t leave Amsterdam without having tried the tantalizing creations of Restaurant Senses by Lars Bertelsen. A top-notch restaurant that prepares an unconventional and creative tasting menu. Ingredients are chosen carefully. Daily fresh and sustainable products are being used. Choose from the monthly alternating 3 to 6-course tasting menu for lunch or dinner and embark on your own voyage of discovery. The Albus is easily accessible by public transport, taxi or with your own car. Take tram 16 from Central Station to Keizersgracht. Walk 50 meters back over the bridge. On the right hand you will find The Albus. We provide Valet Parking for €35 a day, every consecutive 24 hours it’s €20. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, MyHotelShop, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Albus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Albus Hotel Amsterdam
Albus Grand Amsterdam
Hotel Albus Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing